We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Epic”
other travelers have booked this property
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
You can camp all year round in our barn with cosy woodburning stove Baling hay in the meadow next to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
You can camp all year round in our barn with cosy woodburning stove
Baling hay in the meadow next to the barn
We provide a blank canvas however guests add their own touches. Wow!
Spacious communal upstairs sleeping area with impressive original internal beams
View  from window of spacious communal upstairs sleeping area
Kitchen and living area with woodburning stove
Nearby Thors Cave, Manifold Valley
View from inside Thors Cave
Alton Towers, the country;s most popular attraction,  is less than half an hours drive away
Dale walking right on your doorstep
Carsington Water offers sailing,windsurfing, kayak & canoeing, powerboating,fishing,mountain biking
Nearby Manifold Valley Cycle Trail
Nearby Dovedale
Cattle at our farmstead
Alstonefield Camping barn
The barn is part of Gateham Grange Farmstead and there is mountain biking straight outside the door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam R
1 review
“Epic”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked a weekend away from the city and really lucked out with this gem. Took out a party of 8, some blankets and fairy lights and had a wonderful time. The barn is perfect, location is beautiful and Teresa was really nice and accommodating. Definitely hope to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Thanks for this glowing review Adam, much appreciated. Pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceywal...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was just perfect...... For what we wanted.”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The barn is basic but magical ,when the candles were lit and the log burner going.,
my two sisters and I took our children to celebrate my nieces 21st.
The scenery is breathtaking. Teresa and family so helpful. The weather was beautifull so sat outside on the chairs and table. Had fish & chips at Ashbourne , BBQ's breakfast cobs, crackers and cheese for supper and Sunday lunch at The George. Cooked breakfast at Wetton church Hall.( delicious). And the final treat we got to hold some new born lambs at Teresa 's when taking the keys back. An amazing experience and great memories for ever. Thank you Teresa we will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
I am grateful for this kind review Tracey. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and pleased you had a memorable holiday. Hope to see you again Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
callumfle...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

7 of us stayed here, 3 children, and it was great fun, wood burner keeps everyone toasty in the evening after spending the day walking.

Owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for the kind review Callum and hope to see you, your family and your brother and his family again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thanks for the kind review and lovely to hear that some of you plan to return with your families. We have a family in for 4 nights at present. Being on the Staffordshire/Derbyshire border the barn is very centrally located with so many attractions near by to suit all age groups. Alstonefield and Wetton being just a mile or so away have great pubs doing good food. General store at Hulme End too about a mile and a half away, and as you mentioned Hartington is close by with cafes, pubs and a cheese shop too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alstonefield camping barn”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location for walking. All the fun of camping without the tent wrangling! Can't wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this kind review. Much appreciated and pleased you intend to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardjo...
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely brilliant, every thing we expected.
We had such a great time thanks, kids loved the weekend and we plan on returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Look forward to seeing you again. Pleased the kids loved it. kind regards Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJNeaves
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great barn perfect for an outdoor getaway.”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The barn was perfect for out group of Ranger Guides, provided a camping style experience but without having to put up tents!
The barn is basic but that is its appeal. The wood burner is great if needed for the chillier nights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Pleased the barn met your needs. Look forward to seeing you again in July. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing