We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food and great atmosphere”

The George Alstonefield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional village pub serving excellent British food. Open fires, real ales and fantastic selection of wines.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fab food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We ate here two nights running while staying at Alstonefield Manor. The food was delicious and the service was delightful. The scallops with belly pork was amongst the best dishes I have ever eaten. Not a huge amount of choice for vegetarians but we were fine. We'll be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gledhow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    149
    55
    52
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Saturday lunch”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This is another good meal at The George. Two starters - rabbit & soup, two mains - Kedgeree and sausage & mash. Well cooked, well served, friendly staff and they are very helpful. Exactly what we needed halfway round our walk. Great beer, nice surroundings. Tip is to book for weekends otherwise may have to wait, but well worth it. Must visit during the week, when quieter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Friendly find”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We walked to this lovely pub and enjoyed a sandwich snack, soup, tea, drinks and chips. a very friendly place indeed and filled with beautiful large candles in huge, glass vases which were quite stunnning. The staff were really friendly and the place was casual, stylish and relaxed. The food was pricey but fresh and tasty, although the homemade chutney portion was too small and lacking in any sauce. Delicious local cheddar and a great pot of tea, served in the best teapot, huge cup and saucer I've had in a long time. A pub with style.....I imagine the mains would be worth splashing out for lunch or dinner. Friendly locals too....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect English gastro pub...”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Decided on a couple of days in the Dovedale region of Staffordfshire. After a little work with Tripadvisor decided to have dinner at the George.
On arrival the staff were friendly, the bar and restaurant are very cosy, with wood burning stoves on the go.
My venison burger was just a little different to a standard burger with a distinct games taste, the onion rings were also excellent. That with a couple of pints of well kept Pedigree made the perfect Sunday afternoon meal.
Infact, so good was the experience that a return for lunch on Monday was necessary. This time the Gnocchi, with pumpkin and mushrooms was tasty and delicious.
The George seems a well sorted establishment, well done!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshirelad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food & welcome”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wet , tired, hungry and cold from a walk down Milldale this Sunday we arrived at the George not having booked for lunch . We received such a lovely warm welcome from everyone we met there and a table was quickly found for us. The food was absolutely delicious, we can certainly recommend chicken wrapped in pancetta on a bed of wild mushroom risotto or the venison burger and the whisky & marmalade bread & butter pudding with home made ice cream, yum yum! We will certainly be calling again soon but will make sure we book next time as I'd hate not to get in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Alstonefield also viewed

Wetton, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Thorpe, Ashbourne
 
Duffield, Derbyshire
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The George Alstonefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing