We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff and good value.”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff and good value.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Frankly I was surprised to read the recent negative comments, although accept that perceptions are always different. My wife and I ate here twice this week (having been so impressed with the first visit) and we were very pleased. Yes, there are a lot of options on the chalkboard menus, however they appeared to be clearly laid out and not too time consuming to read! We were greeted on entering the bar area, and given plenty of time and advice in making our choices. The food arrived in a reasonable time, given that it is cooked to order. This in our view is a very clean pub serving honest and well cooked quality food. It is not presented as a 'posh' fine dining venue, and this needs to be borne in mind. We found the prices reasonable, and good value given the quality of the food. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We have eaten in many so called fine dining venues and from our experiences this week The Anchor rates very highly among them. We will certainly be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    136
    32
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub with great food and servce”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A good friend took four of us to the Anchor Inn. We've eaten at many pubs in England, but this Anchor Inn was exceptional. They had a fun menu of freshly-prepared foods, a great selection of beers (and wines), sinfully delightful desserts, and warm hospitality. This was a highlight of our trip to the Bridport area. Reservations recommended in season and on weekends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToTravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing & poor value”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Too much on the chalkboards which were awkward to read, we were put in a back room - somebody has to be - which resembled a sluice room in a hospital, absolutely no atmosphere in this part of an otherwise quite pretty West Dorset pub, an incredibly long wait for first and second courses, rather bland Brill which was not brill at all and passable coffee. A never-no-more I'm afraid and I wish we had said more at the time rather than resort to Trip Advisor to air our disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A dreadful experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I eat with 3 other people on Saturday evening, there were three members of staff front of house who were bothe un-trained and completly over whelmed. The girl in charge had no idea how to manage the floor and therefore the evening started badly and went horribly wrong. Ordering was confused, there was no meet or greet and quite frankly we had to lead the whole process from the front. The other girls had the barest serving skills and when we had waited ovver 50 minutes for our starter they all disappeared. The food was very poor, the moules were luke warm and a lot were closed, the rib-eye was poorly trimmed so very gristly and strangely, considering we had waited a further 45 minutes for our mains, cold on a scalding plate. The veg were straight un-imaginative and under cooked and the stuffed Brill inedible and almost certainly not home-made as it had the texture of defrosted fish, the blackboards give a false impression of "homecooking". We chose to eat at The Anchor as we really like their sister pub The West Bay, but this was just not good enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food in a character pub”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Looking for somewhere special for an anniversary meal we plumped for The Anchor, having driven past it on many occasions, and having heard good reports. We were not disappointed with the interior, clean and fresh old fashioned character. We had already pre-booked the seafood platter, but another time will wait and choose from the very extensive menu chalked up on a wall board. Being mid week, the restaurant was very quiet, but gradually filled up later to add a little 'atmosphere'. We were quickly seated, drinks served, and before too long our massive seafood platter arrived. This is the first time we have ever tried this traditional "fruits de mer" and we were delighted with the quality of the half lobster, crab, scallops, various types of prawns, mussels etc. all served on a very generous bed of mixed leaves - very necessary to counteract the huge volume of rich sea food. If anything the platter was bulked out with too many mussels. Being of the generation which hates wasting food, we rather reluctantly admitted defeat with the volume of mussels, the cheapest element on the platter. Also a little fresh plain bread would have been preferable to the garlic bread, but that is our petty preference only. We could not fault the meal. At £70, the platter is not cheap, and the menu prices in general are on the high side, but observing food served to other tables, the portions are very generous, and I would judge therefore value for money.
The staff were friendly, and the food served with a smile, but no-one came to check if everything was O.K. with the food - a bit surprising as they were not busy.
Will we go again? Yes, but only for a special occasion to match the prices.
Would we recommend to friends? Yes - especially for fresh local caught fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing