We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family -- great location, good bed, and fantastic cooking.”
Review of Argyler Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyler Lodge
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This past summer, my husband, daughtere (10 months at the time) and myself had the great pleasure of staying at Ye Olde Argyler. The family (Miami, Fl folks) greeted us with open arms. We were their only guests for the night (it was mid-week) and they made us very welcome. The location is pretty spectacular. On one of the gorgeous coastal hamlets - about halfway between Yarmouth and Lunenburg. We arrived late afternoon and were treated to a terrific dinner (their son is a top rate gourmet chef and has cooked with the likes of Anthony Bourdain and Rachel Ray). Tender delicious ribs - with sumptious sides (Mom was a more than competent sous chef - whipping together organic treats for my baby and pulling together a tasty dessert). Dad was terrific to talk shop with. Very open about their challenges - their plans - and their dreams for the future. I wish we had a wedding or family reunion coming up because the house would be PERFECT - accomodates plenty - private bathrooms - great central dining area - basement for late night game playing or a karaoke contest!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2008

An evening at the Ye Olde Argyler Lodge is all it takes to reconnect to the sea and its mysteriously daunting sound. This beautiful oceanfront resort offers charm and comfort in a spacious atmosphere overlooking the Island dotted coastline of Southwest Nova Scotia.
If the friendly staff and personal service don't win you over the food and its intricate aromas surely will.
We stayed overnight as a party of five and were treated like royalty.
After a superb buffet we thoroughly enjoyed an evening in the downstairs lounge which features a huge fireplace, plenty of comfortable seating and a bar.
The evening we were there we were entertained by live music featuring some of the best local talent.
The evening was crowned by retiring to a clean comfortable
oceanfront bedroom.
Ye Olde Argyler Lodge is a gem to the discriminate traveler and I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves the charm of the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RollingSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

YE OLD ARGYLER… Don’t hesitate to book a stay at this waterfront lodge…. We found it by chance when looking for a (B&B) place to stay while attending a friends wedding in nearby Pubnico/Yarmouth. Remarkably, the place looks exactly like it shows on their website. The decade-old lodge sat empty for a few years before being completely updated by new owners a year and half ago! Spotless, new and clean is what you get inside and out! As soon as you drive down their lane, you are graced with the view of the tranquil bay, bejewelled by moored boats of neighbouring locals. Serene!

Our hosts, Jay & Lois, along with son Jonathan (chef) and daughter-in law (Alana) were exactly as hosts should be - attentive yet not intrusive. They have been at it for less than 2 years, and it is a work-in-progress….

Jonathan can also be seen gardening – his flower and fresh herb gardens are another of his passions which of course complement his first love, cooking.

Genuinely interested in our experience both at the lodge and about…. Jay was quick to point out (Lois’s homemade granola or Jonathans’ special of the day), and even offered to come in early and prepare breakfast for our (7am) departure. There was talk of getting us some kayaks, but we just didn’t have time.

A modest breakfast is included in the cost of the room –we were happy with their offering of wild blueberry pancakes one day, and eggs another. Coffee, cereal, yogurt, and of course their homemade granola (an absolute must!) and fresh fruits, and a homemade loaf or homemade muffins are also served buffet style.. On Sunday we were offered to forego the full complementary breakfast (we still got toast & coffee) and upgrade to Sunday Brunch for a nominal fee. Buffet style, it included the usual breakfast items as well as a ham carving station. Another Lois special – a light’n’fluffy waffle batter and waffle iron is set up and you can make your own waffles. Toppings included fresh fruits and chocolate (loved by kids and adults both). My favourite! Full salad bar, fresh mussels, and the staple (ham and clam) chowder were also available.

Our schedule did not allow the opportunity to have dinner at the lodge; however, the restaurant caters to both their guests and locals for lunch and dinner.

The “comfortable & cozy” atmosphere of the entire property – is suitable for family or business events/gatherings. Great for families or couples looking for a great scenic escape. We loved it! If you need a relaxing getaway - or are avid canoeists/kayakers then this is your destination too.

Two larger rooms (with ocean vs garden views) along with 4 other charming rooms were available. It was very quiet - although 4 rooms were booked, and two young children were there, we did not hear a thing. Some bathrooms come with shower stall (which i prefer) vs a tub/shower.

ps: do not mistaken the Argyler Lodge with the Argyle B&B

Visit their site, and book yourself a great, relaxing stay….. Picturesque!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travellingSuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre à l'étage avec vue sur la mer !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobbylyriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Municipality of Argyle
15.8 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
3.6 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
27.6 mi away
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
#1 of 1 in East Kemptville
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyler Lodge

Address: 52 Ye Olde Argyle Rd | Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia B0W 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Municipality of Argyle
Price Range: $145 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyler Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Argyler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyler Lodge Municipality Of Argyle, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing