We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Love of Wine Evening”
Review of Argyler Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyler Lodge
Lower Woods Harbour, NS
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Love of Wine Evening”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Last night we went to Ye Olde Argyler Lodge for a "Love of Wines" event put on by the Lodge and Annapolis Highland Winery. The ambiance was excellent with lively music, only topped by the Food and Wines served. Each course was announced by the Chef and wines introduced by the Vintners. We only hope that this event will be repeated, if so, we will be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Daykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for several nights. The positives were the room was clean and the bed comfortable. One of the reasons we chose the lodge was the wrap around porch with the water view. Unfortunately, they had the largest, fiercest mosquitos we have ever seen. You couldn't stay outside for more than a minute or they would eat you alive. So we were stuck in our room, which only had one comfortable chair to sit on and one of us had to sit on the bed. There is no common area for guests to sit in. There is a restaurant on the first floor of the lodge, which was another selling point for us when we booked our stay. We were disappointed to find that the breakfast was just okay and a bit on the sparse side. They apparently only have two breakfasts as day 3 of our stay brought the first day's breakfast out again. You are also stuck in the middle of nowhere, so to go do anything, it's a bit of a drive in any direction. One night of our stay, I went to bed with a terrible headache, only to have a load of wood delivered right under our room's window. I think this would something that should have been done during the day when most guests are out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Ye Olde Argyler Lodge and we can't say enough good things about our stay! From the moment we walked in the door Jon, the owner, greeted us warmly, showed us to our lovely and well-appointed room, and made us feel very welcome. Both Jon and his wife Alaina went out of their way to give us ideas of sights to see in the area and even made some phone calls to make sure that the museum was open. Breakfasts were delicious, and Jon cooked an amazing seafood meal just for us! My husband and I can't remember the last time we had such special treatment. Beautiful setting...interesting and pleasing gardens, comfortable porch, great view of Lobster Bay! How can you beat that???

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This family owned lodge is breathtakingly beautiful from the gardens to the view of the sea. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the food prepared by Jon, the Chef, especially the light-as-air breakfast waffles, locally grown blueberries, and lobster dinner prepared special for us. Thank you Jay, Lois, Jon, and Alana for your heartwarming hospitality and for making our first trip to Nova Scotia so memorable.

Room Tip: We were in the Captain's Room which has an overwhelmingly beautiful view of the sea. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Go for the 2 night "Romance Package". You won't be disappointed! The food here is excellent from beginning (fresh made waffle breakfast) to end (that brownie dessert is amazing!). Perfect setting to watch the sunsets. Convenient location for doing a bit of touring around the countyside during the day too. Wind down by the fire pit with a glass of wine. Even if you just stop in for a bite to eat, you will get a chance to enjoy the food and tranquil setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonKolbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were able to spend one night at Ye Olde Argyler in early August. Jay recognised us right away and welcomed us back - everyone at the lodge are so very, very hospitable. It is like visiting close friends. Jay and Alana chatted with us while we checked in, and they even gave us an upgrade to an ocean view suite.

The suite, I think it was The Windward Cabin, was simply magnificent - the decorations and cleanliness are just about perfect. Some of the old furniture they have in the rooms are really interesting - in this room they had a thatch basket with the towels and such in it that was once used by a candy manufacturer. There was also a lovely chest at the foot of the bed.

We had supper in the restaurant, there were several tables full, and Jay says they are having a great year (this makes me so happy - for selfish reasons, because I want them to succeed so that I can keep going back!) We started with a bottle of Jost Marechal Foch and the smoked fish dip - I cannot begin to describe the sensations that this combination sends across your palate: absolutely delicious.

Our main courses were also really good - my wife had a chicken breast with cheese and bacon and I ordered the ribs with Jon's root beer BBQ sauce. Jon's ribs are absolutely the best I have ever tasted - the meat falls off the bones, melts in your mouth, and tastes like a little bit of heaven. Jon came out of the Kitchen and sat and talked with us after the meal - he is such a great chef and such a nice man. We expect to visit them in October for their Fall Into Wine event and I am really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

...and it definitely did not disappoint! In my first review 2 years ago, I mentioned that we felt as if we were arriving home to long lost relatives. On our 2nd trip to the Lodge, we walked through the door and were greeted by the family with warm hugs and smiles! It was nice to be home... All was the same. The room was spotless, the food was amazing and the beauty captivating. The only thing new was that we finally met Alana (Jon's lovely wife)!

We plan to return again...

Thank you Jay, Lois, Jon and Alana!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Municipality of Argyle
15.8 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
145 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
16.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyler Lodge

Property: Argyler Lodge
Address: 52 Ye Olde Argyle Rd | Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia B0W 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Municipality of Argyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyler Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Argyler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyler Lodge Municipality Of Argyle, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing