We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Grianan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Grianan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I only recently was a guest at a wedding in this hotel, and had been really looking forward to it as the reputation this venue had was very good. Unfortunately my experience as a guest did not reflect this. Security staff were quite obnoxious, highly offensive, and very rude. Management were very unhelpful, and quite hostile when approached, the meal had clearly been cooked from very early in the day and kept under heat lamps was not of the standard I would expect from a wedding venue. Clearly the reputation this hotel has, exceeds it. Very unfortunate, and this does not seem to be an isolated incident from speaking with other guests who have had previous experiences in this hotel. I would NOT recommend this hotel as a wedding venue, or for any other large function. Very very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GuestAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    108
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
171
256
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited in February this year during Valentine's weekend...we had a lovely romantic meal in the beautiful Old Church restaurant and stayed at the hotel for the night...we thought it was a fantastic hotel and restaurant...clean, contemporary decor, friendly staff...thoroughly recommended!
Would be a stunning venue for a wedding!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwitch7108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed here on business. Great hotel and very clean. Well run. The food in the hotel was good. Great price also €50 B&B

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Know its off season but have stayed in this hotel twice. Both times there has been issues with the heating. Main restaurant is not open nor is the church one. Even breakfast is served in the bar! Had a wine list on my table at breakfast! Only cereal available was cornflakes or rice crispies. Fruit salad looked like apple salad. Poor receptionist, both times I stayed was running from Reception checking people out, answering phone and trying to serve breakfast. They will never get more guests unless they make a commitement to the place. Wont stay again unless really stuck. Get the feeling it is a Nama place, opened in the boom but with no one really intereested in it. Saying that all staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Travelling for business, I've now stayed twice at this hotel and each time the experience has been excellent. The location is good for access to Londonderry or Letterkenny and the surrounding area is just beautiful. Good standard of room; the bed was just about the most comfortable I've slept in. The room rates are very competitive. The quality of food served in the bar was very good - the fish was fresh and huge! Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was served piping hot. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The internet is a little erratic - wireless is only available in the lobby - not ideal for the business traveller. There is wired internet access in the rooms but it hasn't worked on either of my visits. That aside, I do look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed here over night with friends and enjoyed our stay however the rooms were warm on arrival but cold at night when we returned to our room and cold in the morning when we got up. We ate in the church restaurant teh food was lovely but simple requests like no sauce on the fish and no potatoes with a chicken dish were strangely ignored. the hotel breakfast was good. The staff in the hotel were friendly and the decor was lovely. Overall a mixed reaction to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parrottalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

Decided to stop into this hotel for lunch.It was served in the bar -- which was fine. Overall, I noticed the serviced was disjointed and the waiter/waitress combo on duty would serve table/take the order, but disappear and not check if everything was okay. Which it was not. In a nutshell, I ordered Turbot, hubby ordered roast beef. Both dishes were supposed to be accompanied by mash and veg. The waitress dropped off a small plate of mash and a tiny plate of veg for us to share. She instructed us in accented english, "you want more, you ask.." Not sure who we were supposed to ask as she never came back and the whole place seemed unmanned. Tubot was okay, but greasy. Beef was tough and as said earlier hardly any veg -- which is silly considering how cheap this stuff is overall..
Bill came to 30 euros for lacklustre food and one glass of wolf bass and soft drink. Rip off. Rubbish food. Rubbish service. Multiple super noisy TVs blasting sports from all directions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speenoge
16.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
20.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
12.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
21.0 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan Hotel

Property: An Grianan Hotel
Address: Derry to Letterkenny (N13) | Donegal, Speenoge 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Speenoge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — An Grianan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, classy Hotel and Conference Venue with 43 tastefully designed bedrooms ranging from suites, executive, family to single rooms. All rooms are decorated with elegance and style. There is a comfortable and relaxing lobby complete with open fire and grand piano where guests can mingle and soak up the calming ambiance. The Fort Bar and Lounge caters for all our guests desires with food served all day and a vast array of drinking options on offer. The unique Restaurant at An Grianan Hotel is a converted 'Old Church' which oozes class and boasts heritage with many of the natural characteristics and features still intact. With locally sourced produce this Fine Dining experience is one you will wish to come back again and again for. A classy, welcoming and relaxing Hotel, a hidden Gem in North Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your An Grianan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Grianan
An Grianan Hotel Ireland/Speenoge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing