We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“train lovers dream - for little and big kids”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Winchester

The Lodges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station Historical Ropley Station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station
Historical Ropley Station
Kitchen is modern with granite work surfaces
FULLY FITTED KITCHENS
Kitchen
Kitchen
THE BATHROOM
Shower
THE LIVING ROOM
THE TWIN BEDROOM
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM
The Lodges
The Winchester Lodge
Lodges
The Alton
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
K H
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“train lovers dream - for little and big kids”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A site with a bonus for any train lover, a well kept site with lovely facilities and the safari tents and lodges looked amazing. We had a lovely time there, thank you

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely campsite!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Booked for two nights at the campsite using my own tent, beautiful location, excellent toilet and shower facilities and a very warm welcome from Jo, would love to return at some point however I would choose the time of my return very carefully.
This is in no way the fault of the campsite owners BUT my stay was marred by a very selfish group which I am led to believe was a number of teachers and a large number of their pupils who proceeded to put up their numerous tents around mine and then basically run riot with no control from the teachers at all, the children were running around shouting after 11pm and doing the same before 6 in the morning usually around the tents of other campers, in fact I had to shout at some who were running so close behind my tent on the Saturday night they were running into the guy ropes nearly collapsing my tent, again no control from their adult supervisors, but I would like to repeat I don't hold the campsite owners responsible for this.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G B
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent campsite with stunning views of the countryside and a steam railway next door!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly a really warm welcome from Jo who gave us information about the railway and upcoming Watercress Festival in Arlesford.

The site itself has
- good spacious pitches
- clean shower and toilet block
- stunning views and
The steam railway next door to watch trains chuffing past.

Magical - my children loved and can't wait to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review and your kind comments. I am so glad you will return with your lovely family...

Once again many thanks

Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN W
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A VERY NICE CAMP SITE RUN BY VERY NICE PEOPLE”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for 3 nights over the early May Bank Holiday weekend. Had spoken to Jo on the 'phone and was welcomed by Chris shortly after arrival. We both found him helpful and informative. He kindly gave us a complimentary two for one rail voucher as the site is right next to the Mid Hants. Railway.
The site was exceptional well laid out and maintained to the highest standards. It is a very peaceful site and a credit to Hampshire. We will certainly be going again.
If you want to stay on a very nice site, professionally run by very nice people, this is definitely the site for you.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The plush,well kept camp field.
Liked least: It was all total perfection, so there was nothing at all to frown about.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Many thanks for your amazing review! I have shared this with Chris. We work hard to maintain the site and so lovely to have this lovely feedback. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again... We try and offer 2 for 1 tickets for the Steam Trains and can now offer discounts on many special events. Once again many thanks Jo and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely peaceful site for tents only. A tiny bit of noise (choo choo!) from the Steam Loco's but that adds to the excitement and experience of this site. Children will love it, especially finding Thomas parked up for the night. Facilities are superb. Ladies the shower areas has good mirrors and hairdryers! cubicles are spacious so if you are on the larger side these will make you feel thin. The disabled shower room is also very good.

We stayed two nights (visiting Peppa Pig World) and will be back again as so much to do in the area. I was in two minds about writing a review as I am not sure I want to share this secret......but it would be a crime not to.

Recommend a pub called the Cricketers in Alresford which is great for Children. Fabulous children's play area and kids menu. Alresford also have a yummy Indian if you fancy takeaway rather then getting the camp stove out.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: everything
Liked least: can't complain of anything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexYvon...
essex
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent shower block”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was very quiet, in fact we were the only campers here. Very small campsite and we had to park on a road and had to carry camping stuff up steps to a site. If you are a steam train enthusiast you could not be in a better place but we expected a proper camp site with a shop etc

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have opened this year for our first season for campers. From 2015 we are looking to open a site office which will have some supplies as well. We are indeed a relatively relaxed small site. Many of our regular guests like this and this has been reflected in their reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayJay
Woking, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fab views, spotless facilities, nice and small”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a truly lovely campsite, a great base for exploring locally. It is basic, a good number of parking spaces. The pitches are raised slightly away from the road, a little breezy as on top of a hill but the scenery is breath taking. You are right above the watercress line, we were not disturbed by the trains or early morning coal burning. We were with 4 small boys who were fascinated. There is a small playground in the station which our boys played on whilst we packed away. The facilities are very good, 4 washing up stations in a separate area. The toilets were large and clean as were the showers. All very clean and whilst we were there was a gentleman cleaning. The hand dryers are not so good (not dyson) and there are no pegs by the sinks to hang stuff whilst brushing teeth or washing hands. This place works on honesty, no one to check in. The campsite was very busy with at least 3 tents per pitch (A-F) but there were no issues. I hope it continues as is, with the honesty and not too people finding out about this lovely campsite and just turning up and not paying. Is a fantastic base for the Watercress line, we took the train to Alresford and back and had a spot of lunch at the Ropley Inn which was very nice. Definitely worth a visit and a great base for other local attractions but not somewhere we would stay for longer than a couple of nights unless with a group of friends.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are always so grateful to receive feedback. We will be making sure that some hooks are put by the sinks to hang possessions on. We really hope you will come back as next your we will be making some changes. We will have a site office and we will be offering Glamping tents. The Mid Hants railway will also hopefully have the small gauge railway open which volunteers are building at present. Kind regards. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing