We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Flowerpots” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flowerpots Inn

The Flowerpots Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alresford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flowerpots Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Alresford B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Flowerpots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had to respond to that ridiculous email from chingachook or whatever his name is

The Flowerpots is a small country Inn. It serves award winning beer and has a small kitchen. They do the tastiest steak and chips anywhere in the area IMHO. But it can get over-run at weekends. The landlord does not want to run at as a food pub, it is a beer pub. Please bear this in mind. It serves simple delicious food But you need to organise yourself, so don't turn up at 1.45pm and expect to choose from the menu. Yes please go to the Hinton Arms, or a Berni Inn perhaps, and leave this pub to the drinkers who love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this place many times and the ale is always excellent¡ The recent beer festival was a wonderful event (again). Can't wait for next year's. The food is also very good. I wish I lived closer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADW1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have considered staying at the Flowerpots several times but it never fitted our itinerary until now. It was well worth the wait! It's a proper pub which does not let children inside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the menu was more extensive than we expected given some of the comments I have read. The beer was, of course, lovely and they also served Weston's Old Rosie cider.
Our room was comfortable and breakfast was excellent. The only fault I could find was with the shower which would not get hot. Probably a temporary glitch.
The village of Cheriton is very pretty and well worth a wander round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK, their website says "food orders may be stopped before the above closing times if the kitchen becomes too busy to supply food within a reasonable time". That's not very welcoming, is it? Does the poor, hungry, hard-done-by customer get a look in? NOT HERE! What is of paramount importance at the Flowerpots is the happiness, convenience and comfort of the kitchen/bar staff. Having trudged for 5 miles, cross-country, from Alresford, the four members of the BNO club were both hungry and thirsty – on one of the hottest days of the year. Admittedly the main draw was the highly-rated beer in the adjoining micro-brewery (Stormchaser, 4.2% – highly recommended), and we had anticipated lacklustre food from our research, BUT WE HAD EXPECTED SOMETHING MORE THAN A BAG OF CRISPS AT 1:50pm ON A THURSDAY! SHAME ON YOU, FLOWERPOTS!! Particularly as others were still being served their rations all around us. It was like the 'Cheese Emporium' sketch from Python... "er, sorry... sir, the cat's just eaten it". Or rather, "WE DECIDED TO CLOSE EARLY TODAY AND HAVE JUST THIS MINUTE STOPPED SERVING!"... issued in a rather terse and unapologetic tone. "Don't you at least have a SANDWICH?" "No. You can buy one in the village." Nice. Do your customers ever come back, I wonder? Or do you rely on the odd passer-by?

Drink the excellent beer here but please eat at the very welcoming Hinton Arms up the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay at The Flowerpots was at the recommendation of friends who lived locally and we had an excellent nights stay. As others have pointed out, The Flowerpots is not a 'typical' pub b&b - they do not accept credit cards and the rooms are slightly quirky. We stayed in the room above the stable block and have to agree that is is a bit small and basically furnished and that the beam you have to step over can be a challenge in the dark (especially after sampling their brewery products!) but the room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable.

The bar is wonderfully evocative and atmospheric, with their own beer served directly from casks behind the bar and worthy of a visit on it's own.

As we were the only guests we had the room to ourselves for breakfast, which was freshly prepared with quality ingredients and was served along with cereals and lashings of hot toast and marmalade.

We really enjoyed our stay, but would suggest that The Flowerpots is not for everyone. Our room was up an external staircase which might restrict anyone with mobility problems as would the stairs in the room down from the bed area to the bathroom, but otherwise for anyone wanting a night in a 'real' public house with excellent local beer and a hearty breakfast the next day it's certainly recommended.

Room Tip: Check which room you have if you struggle with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I cannot recommend the Flowerpots Inn more highly. My friend and I had walked Alresford trying to find something gluten free to eat. Having been disappointed by the lack of choice we decided to make our way home. It was my best friends birthday and I felt as if I had spoilt her day. We came across the Flowerpots Inn as we drove home and decided to give it a try.
Immediately, we welcomed by a lovely lady who said "Yes they did do Gluten Free meals". And not only did they do gluten free I also had a choice. I chose a wonderful cheese plough mans with hot gluten free bread. It was delicious and something that I haven't had for years. The lady that brought out the food also stayed and had a chat with us...it really made us feel welcome.
I can only say you saved the day staff of the Flowerpots and you cared enough to think of those of us who have dietary requirements. Dining out for anyone who requires a special diet isn't always a good experience this bucked the trend.
So well done to you and thank you for caring. I will return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie59ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australians in europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

If I was reviewing Flowerpots as a pub I'd want to give it 4.5 out of 5 - the beer is really good, the food is honest and reasonably-priced, the building characterful; if they'd had on a proper dark beer might even have been a 5 - but as a b&b it is not a success. Our room, in an alcove of the old stable block, is better described as a 'pod'. it wasn't at all horrible or dirty, but it was tiny, with too many opportunities to bash your head or your toes on the various protuberances. Poor value at the price. Also not impressed when a place charging at these levels refuses to accept cards; especially when they don't volunteer a receipt in exchange for your cash. All in all, not enough genuine welcome, too much a sense of doing you a favour by letting you stay at all.

The beer is good though.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alresford
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
9.0 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Itchen Abbas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flowerpots Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flowerpots Inn

Property: The Flowerpots Inn
Address: Cheriton, Alresford SO24 0QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alresford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alresford
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Flowerpots Inn Alresford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing