We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub lunch”
Review of Hinton Arms

Hinton Arms
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice pub lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by forlunch Sunday afternoon. The pub was full but owner found room especially for us.The service was fantastic as was the food and company...portion sizes were huge and the Hinton arms ale was great. Loved the place...!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    84
    34
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The food portions are massive!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely old worldy english pub .the food is home cooked excellent standard and massive portions extremely good value for money .free parking

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpdavis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosham,Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I discovered the Hinton Arms yesterday evening whilst on a bimble about in the car. As it happens I have been past this pub on many occasions but decided to stop and have a look at what it had to offer in the way of beer and food. I am rather partial to a pint or two of real ale and was pleased to be greeted with an array of local Hinton ales, none of which I had ever seen or tried before. The one I tried was delicious!

We parked ourselves virtually on top of the log burner, I love a real fire in a pub, and had a look at the menu. It all looked ok and was about the same sort of prices that we usually pay at our regular haunts. I had spotted the specials board on the way in and took a closer look...yum!

I decided on the slow roasted Guinea Fowl and he had the homemade fishcakes. When they arrived I was amazed!! My bird looked much larger than I was expecting and came with the most delicious wild mushroom sauce and a healthy selection of veg and new potatoes. His was on a plate with a huge mixed side salad and homemade chips. When finished we had a look at the dessert menu. Only he ordered dessert as I was stuffed. He chose Banoffee Pie. I had a taste. It was the best banoffee pie I have ever tasted to date and was a very large slice served with a large scoop of very tasty ice cream.

We will definitely return to try some more of the menu, especially the desserts ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A friend of mine had raved about the Hinton Arms' mixed grill for a while and so a few of us decided to go out there and see what all the fuss was about. I'd been to the pub before, so I knew what to expect - A friendly welcome in a traditional country pub. We went on a Sunday, it was relatively quiet, but I suspect the snow had put a few people off venturing out.

We didn't even need to look at the menu to decide what we were having, although a quick check did reveal that next to "mixed grill", was additional word, "big", which was almost a warning!

The food was top drawer. It was a massive portion as the menu had warned but that was one of the reasons we wanted to go. Pork, lamb, steak, two sausages, two fried eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, onion rings, salad AND a side portion of chips. I couldn't finish it all, but what I did eat was delicious.

I would definitely recommend the Hinton Arms. A traditional country pub, with friendly staff and excellent food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected good food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped here in a dreadful downpour, in need of some lunch. The interior is a mix of oldie world/hunting scenes and patterned carpets and the welcome pleasant. However the food was amazing! We only wanted a snack, sandwiches etc but were served very generous portions. I had a cheese and onion sandwich (the cheese was sliced so thick I almost asked for a doggy bag) served with crisps and a side salad, and my husband had comfit of duck on black pudding. He was absolutely delighted when an enormous plateful was placed in front of him and wondered if he'd inadvertently ordered a main instead of a starter. we ordered a bowl of chips too but couldn't eat them! I would highly recommend the food in this surprising stop over.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinton Arms also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Bramdean, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to Hinton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing