We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience, good food”

The Alresford Cricketers
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family pub and fine dining
Winchester, Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I went to the cricketers during on a weekday for an evening meal. The pub has been refurbished and looks much more contemporary inside than before.
Outside a great deal has obviously been spent on a great looking children's play area, which we look forward to bringing the children to. There are no other children friendly pub gardens for miles around so I am sure this will pay dividends for the owners.
I had a home made pâté for a starter which was delicious. We ordered a bottle of wine which was tasty, but one of two criticisms was that the waitress delivered the bottle and glasses to the table and then left. The bottle was still closed and so I had to open the screw top and pour it. Not a big deal I hear you say but it felt like being at home rather than in a pub/restaurant.
My second criticism was that the main course took about 45 minutes to arrive. We were warned that due to a table of 10 or 12 it may take longer, but we were told 20 minutes. It was not much of a problem but the restaurant was only half full so I wonder how it may have been if it had been full.
Our meals were really tasty though, my wife had steak which was perfect, I had a pie, although only puff pastry, it was very good.
Overall we had a great meal and it was well priced. The service was very good and there is a male waiter with dark hair who is very friendly and polite and whom the owners need to hold on to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squatting-neville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    23
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“More restaurant than pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was excellent, although the menu and prices makes this more of a restaurant than pub food. That said, the pub element looked good with a new outside climbing area for kids, so families are also the target.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Alresford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This pub is so family friendly with a great outside kids play area and lots of seating. The food is very good also with just snacks or a full meal. The kids menu has a good selection also. Ive been here twice in a month and was great both times

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better second time round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

A return visit this week did not disappoint, in fact the food was even more gorgeous. The new staff have obviously settled in, and the chef is a fantastic asset to them. We loved every mouthful of our meal, especially the large homemade dessert.

Although we sat inside, the garden was busy. The new playground was a big attraction and looked very smart.

Can't wait to return when visiting next month. Well done to all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, very impressed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

As new residents about 8 miles away we were recommended to The Alresford Cricketers by a neighbour who said it was worth the drive and we were sure to get a warm welcome and great food. We were not disappointed. Three of us had sunday roasts (choice of 4), generous portions, extra potatoes, perfectly cooked and we could not resist pinching the marvellous chips from the 4th diner's veggie burger plate too. Some chefs just get everything right which is not the case far too often.

This pub has obviously been refurbed and they have really added some lovely touches without being pretentious. We opted to sit in the bar which had a friendly atmosphere. There was sport of the tv, but it was not obtrusive at all. They were not busy in the large restaurant as most people were in the garden. They have invested in a wonderful play area and it's a large safe garden and they seemed very child friendly . We saw the new BBQ area and really look forward to becoming regular visitors. Just mentioned it to a friend in Farnham and she said she's been there too and was also impressed.

They have varied menu which does include 'pub favourites' although we would probably opt for finer fayre, which they seem to do very well. Puds were scrummy and portons were very healthy so we were glad we were sharing between two or we would never have been able to walk out of there. If you want quality food, well cooked and served by people who care then this is a great place to visit. Lovely new managers who are going the extra mile - we really wish them well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyCar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alresford Cricketers also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Alresford Cricketers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing