We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
111
65
28
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
65
28
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park watercress line family room lovely hotel full english breakfast breakfast was excellent good nights sleep eggs benedict would stay again deluxe room disabled room bar area steam railway great selection church bells older part high street
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 236 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Popped in here for some lunch on one of the hottest days of the year, fortunately it was a comfortable temperature indoors.

Lovely choice of food in a friendly pub style atmosphere. We had ploughman’s lunches which were delicious, followed by ice cream and creme brûlée.

Just felt the prices were slightly on the high side for what you got. £6 for three scoops of ice cream and a brandy snap seems a bit steep, although I admit I knew that before ordering and still had it!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Rockhopper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Comfortable room, pleasant staff. Breakfast OK but no more - e.g. insufficient choice of cereal and pastries, had to wait for staff to bring refills of coffee, no toast offered even though there was jam on the table (but no butter). Bar dominated by TV. Church bells rang on the hour all night, so had to shut windows to keep out the noise despite sweltering temperatures. Fan provided helped a bit. In any case, couldn't have kept the full-length patio-door window open at front as it opened onto a public walkway - poor design as regards security.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

I have attended several live music evenings which are always buzzing, but last night I dropped in to watch the football. great hosts, handing out free sausages/burgers at half time to keep spirits up.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank bASINGSTOKEdEBSh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Had a one night stay here - very comfy bed and large room with ensuite (great shower/no bath). Breakfast was delicious. Alresford a nice town for a mini break - coming back for the steam railway! Beautiful church bells nearby Sunday morning.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

This small old fashioned hotel sits right on the main road through the pretty small town of Alresford The staff at The Swan could not have been more helpful and friendly, both
when telephoning to organise our small reception and on the day.
We hired the Watercress room which was an ideal size for our limited numbers, and found it both cosy and with plenty of space to move around, plus thoughtfully placed tables and chairs for those who needed them. The high-tea buffet was very generous in quantity and delicious, especially the quiches and mini strawberry and cream scones, and very good value . The service was polite, unobtrusive but attentive. Cheese and pineapple sticks were a bit of a surprise, very retro....not sure much appreciated. There is a small car park at the back from which we walked through a very pleasant small outdoor patio with tables comfortable chairs and parasols, into the interior of the hotel which is quaint and obviously an old, slightly warren-like building with great atmosphere. There is a very large modern bedroom building at the rear, overlooking the carpark.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jopark2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews