We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Grinshill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Hawkstone Park Hotel(Weston-under-Redcastle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
79
30
8
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
30
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomefantastic foodlovely mealfull english breakfastmirrorshropshirewedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 131 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not a stranger to the inn, I will say the term inn is misleading. You have a country residence here that has a friendly bar with books and games and open fire and sofas. Full of charm, carries through by the staff and Vikki Brazier the owner. There is a choice of menus from a (a not so simple) sandwich, to pie of the day to crayfish risotto, hand made pasta delicacies and in the wonderful award winning (2 rosettes..surely a third iminant?) Chef Chris Conde's quiet commanding presence at the pass is great to watch. Ask for table one! The food is full of flavour bursts, cooked pretty perfectly, and whilst in the style you would expect from such an awarded restaurant, is rich and filling and leaves you feeling like you have had a rare culinary treat. Some people may recall Chris appearing on masterchef the professionals...well go try his food! The rooms, six of them, are all creams and whites. High beds, beautiful bathrooms, quality bedding. And on top of all this, country walks and Shrewsbury town with all its history, right on their doorstep. This is a team that works!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodandhotelsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having got a baby sitter in to celebrate my wife's Birthday we were really looking forward to some posh nosh(two coverts in the Michelin guide).
We had a long wait for someone to take our order with no explanation for the delay. We felt like we'd be forgotten. A shame as it marred what should have been a great evening.
Once seated though, the food was of a high standard and reasonably priced. The restaurant was pleasant to dine in. My wife didn't like the constant whering of the fan from the open kitchen but I enjoyed the novelty. We rushed our deserts just in time to make the pre booked taxi home. We would have liked to have finished in time to relax in the bar before going home.
The experience could have been greatly improved if we were seated and served fifty minutes earlier and if the owners made more of an effort to keep us informed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas Day here. Nice laid back vibe but quietly organised. Delightful decorations.. Friendly staff. Chefs were treading on thin ice with their modern 'chefy' take on Christmas meal and pulled it off with full honours. We opted for the roasted white onion soup which was so delicious. The turkey main course was faultless - it was presented very differently than the orthodox traditional meal but we so enjoyed it to the point of waxing lyrical. I congratulate the kitchen on being daring. It was perfect. We are fussy punters too so you truly earned our praise. (I could understand some traditionalists sulking and refusing to acknowledge the skill of the chefs here, wanting their mound of conformity, but we can only be honest in our reception of the plates of food). I hope the chef stays here for a while so I can go back with friends and colleagues. It was lovely to see my Mum so happy at Christmas as its been a tough time for her. I love the setting here and it's a nice village. A quick walk up the hill opposite will get the appetite going. Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastronaut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wouldn't go to this restaurant again. When we walked in we were not welcomed. We entered via the bar area and the woman behind the bar didn't even look at us, simply carried on talking to a couple of men she was engaged in conversation with. She eventually asked us what we wanted to drink but I got the general impression she wasn't happy in her job and didn't really want to ask us at all. We past another member of staff on the way into the restaurant area, who made no attempts to greet us or help us find a seat. We waited a long time for our food. The presentation of the food was good, but the portions were small and it was very expensive for what we had. I have been in better resaurants that have not cost so much and have had a much warmer atmosphere..

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Slinkimalinki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this year. A lovely welcome was received from the reception staff. Room was cosy and well furnished. Evening meal was inventive and well served. A few good walks are accessible direct from the Inn. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews