We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to deliver!”
Review of La Bruceliere

La Bruceliere
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Issigeac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to deliver!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. They have the formula just right. The food is superb and the service excellent. It most certainly is the best restaurant in the area. Well done and long may you be there for us to enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    75
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“French perfection”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have eaten at La Bruceliere for many years and were more than a little worried when the previous owners left for pastures new and further afield. We are delighted to say that we (and all other diners in the area) are fortunate to have an even better restaurant than before with outstanding value. The main dining room is delightfully furnished and welcoming both for lunch and dinner. The ingredients are of the highest quality and treated with an assured, imaginative touch from the introductory amuse bouche to the petits fours. The menu is as has already been described with 3 or 4 choices per course with the addition of a very good wine list from which local choices can assist your exploration of local vineyards for tastings. One of the telling signs of excellence is that on our latest visit in October the restaurant was packed with local French families.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What an old fool!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My review has to start by registering my bewilderment at the measly 3 stars left by "anoldfool". What on EARTH does this person expect for his/her money? The only review less than 4 stars.

We sat on a beautiful terrasse (although the dining room looked very welcoming too) and I enjoyed delightful amuse bouches, a delicate prawns and mushroom starter, a perfectly cooked piece of beef with, admittedly slightly tardy vegetables, a dessert (in my case local ice creams, but the homemade puds looked delightful), petit fours, all for the price of an average steak in an average English pub. The menu had 3 or 4 choices per course.

The whole bill for 4, with a nice bottle of wine, coffees, and four glasses of kir, came to less than £110. A delightful and relaxed lunch (to remember) with pleasant and friendly hosts - one can only imagine what sort of "English" customer the oldfool must be - I expect I wouldn't have been particularly welcoming if they arrived at my home either! You know the sort!!!

Definately worth a re-visit next time in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyB1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Enjoyed two nights stay there with wonderful service and amazing food and service. Right in the centre of issigeac, and they were a very welcoming as we had just bought in the area and didn't quite know what was what! Will definitely be going again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolument parfait!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

My family live close to Issegeac, so lunch at La Bruceliere after the market on Sunday is a staple. I've eaten there numerous times; my family even more, and we've never had a bad experience (since it changed hands a couple of years ago). The food has always been excellent and as I mostly choose from the set-menu, it's very reasonably priced considering the quality of the food and the wonderful service. They also bring out small pre-starters (things such as gazpacho in a small pot) and they also do the same for desert, which is a lovely touch I think , as I don't usually have desert but a little taste of something sweet is perfect! The staff are always friendly, attentive and accommodating and the atmosphere (especially say outside on a sunny day) is wonderful. It's the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and indulge in some delicious food. I'd recommend La Bruceliere 100%. Je n'ai rien, mais des choses merveilleuses à dire sur ce restaurant. C'est fantastique!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caru_hydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bruceliere also viewed

Issigeac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Bruceliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing