We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub great food”
Review of The Woodpecker Pub

The Woodpecker Pub
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Woodpecker Pub - Ember Inns There's something for everyone everyday! Monday: Ale club, all ales £2.49 a pint Tuesday: burger night, burger & a drink from £7.99 Wednesday: Quiz night, £2 per team hosted by Rockin' Rock from 8:30 Thursday: grill night, grill & a drink from £9.49 Friday&Saturday: Fizz weekend, processo & other sparking wines £10 a bottle after 5pm As well as Craft Club, 2 craft beer/cider cans for £6 Sunday: Wine club, selected bottles of red, white and rose for £10 a bottle As well as a Sunday roast from £8.49
england portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely pub great food”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

me my partner and my 2 young sons go to the woodpecker every sunday and its always a lovely sunday carvery, even if there busy they always make room to seat us, and there is always loads of fresh veg to choose from, i dont have a bad word to say about any of the staff there always happy to help. top marks to the landlady and the chef

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwiss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    112
    33
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christening!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked the Woodpecker for my Grandson's Christening and we had an amazing time. The staff were excellent in looking after our large party of all ages. The carvery was the highlight, with wonderfully cooked meat, Ham, Beef, Slow Roast Belly Pork accomapanied with Roast and boiled potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, sausages, stuffing balls and a variety of wonderful vegatables - beautifully cooked. All 65 of our guests commented that they had a fabulous Christening held in a great place with great food - a BIG THANK YOU to all the staff with a special mention to Jayne who runs the pub who looked after us from the initial booking and all the arrangements - even decorating it with Christening banners for us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Airmilesqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“super staff”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Sunday carvery very good value staff brilliant, offered to help my partially sighted wife to get her carvery because they spotted her white stick never ever happenned in any pub before and we eat out at least twice a week

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJSLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
1 review
“Lovely family pub!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For the past few weeks some mummy friends and I have been going to the Woodpecker at lunch time on a Thursday after a baby group. The staff are always friendly and very accomodating of us and our little ones. The food is great and the prices reasonable! I especially recommend the trio of burgers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peapod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Avoid the food!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went here for a birthday meal out. We all agreed our food was not great at all; dry, overdone and some of us found the dinner completely inedible. We all tried a dessert and my mums came with pouring cream which we could smell had gone completely off and turned. She didn't even attempt to eat it and as a consequence this put us all off our desserts. After complaining, the management did not charge us for her dessert. I think this pub would be ok for a local drink and perhaps a bag of crisps or nuts to be on the safe side! However, we do not plan to have another meal from here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SquidgyPidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstils, General Manager at The Woodpecker Pub, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello , we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to us. As you can see from previous reviews we pride ourselves on the quality of food, however on this occasion we failed to do so. Please would you call at your convenience so we can try to resolve the problems with you personally. Thankyou Jayne Tilsley General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodpecker Pub also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to The Woodpecker Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing