We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”

Red Lounge - Cowplain
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We live local to the Red Lounge and have always been meaning to go there since it opened a couple of years ago but for one reason or another we didn't. I have to say it was an 'opportunity missed' in our opinion, the menu was well priced and the food was fantastic! Our steaks were cooked to perfection - a good evening, will go again!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    75
    41
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited with some friends, and had been before, and was previously excellent. The recent visit was not as good and would probably give them the benefit of the doubt. My steak was excellent but chips were just warm and got re heated. Others on the table had the lamb shank and was not really good enough. Also a few other minor things which should not have happened as they were not overly busy. I/we will go back (as want to try the ribs again from first visit)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bery successful Birthday bash”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A group of 6 of us went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration. It was brilliant. The food was to die for, this chef sure knows what he is doing. All of the meals, starters, mains and desserts were cooked to perfection and the portion sizes are very generous. Service is good, not spectacular, but good. But this can be forgiven as they bring you the yummiest food ever! Very well priced, amazing evening. We were very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungryhippo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, great food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have been to the Red lounge and grill a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is of very good quality - can particularly recommend the following starters: mushrooms or cheesy garlic bread; mains - steaks, chicken breast burger or ribs; desserts - chocolate melt pudding (no reason to venture away from that one as it's so good!).

We found the service to be very friendly, professional and welcoming.

The only gripe is that having a vegetarian in our group, the veggie options were incredibly limited - hence why I've not rated this 5 star. To be fair, the waitress did explain that they can obtain/cook alternative options to those shown on the menu if they have 24 hours notice. Perhaps another few veggie options could be added to the menu as standard to prevent this problem?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice pub food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to Red for the first time as a group. After a mix up with our table booking time we sat down not too late.

Waitress very good and accommodated my request as couldn't make my mind up. Fillet steak excellent quality and ribs melt in your mouth. Only let down is the chips which taste and look like McCain oven chips. A shame as the meat is perfect.

Nice atmosphere and lovely place inside.

Helpful?
Thank lajm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lounge - Cowplain also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Lounge - Cowplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing