We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Red Lounge - Cowplain
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Price range: $26 - $64
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took our children here for a family meal and found the restaurant to be of a very high standard. The interior decor was beautiful and quite tranquil and the cleanliness was to a very high standard - not a bit of dust in sight. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and kept a keen eye to ensure that drinks were topped up and that we were happy. There is a small wait time for the food as you would expect as everything is freshly cooked and not mass churned out like some restaurants so we found the wait time to be perfect. We had the BBQ ribs and the meat was succulent and fell from the bone - really really lovely. The barbeque sauce was not to our taste as it is their own recipe and was a bit more like a fruit chutney then a traditional barbeque sauce. This was the same for the children's meal of grilled chicken. The chips were fluffy and lovely. I would not return to the restaurant for a meal but only because the food is not to our taste, everything was cooked beautifully and the service was exceptional and I would certainly go back for a drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metzymems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    74
    40
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Living about one mile from this restaurant we've been here several times, and never been disappointed. It's a modern interior and design, very contemporary - do not be put off by it's former-accountancy firm exterior. A medium sized restaurant means you're not rushed, although when busy at weekends it can be a little noisy, perhaps not ideal for intimate conversation, but fine for normal family meals. The best bit by far is the food - excellant quality and tons of it, superb value for money by far. The portions are very big, and well presented, just make sure you starve yourself beforehand ! And you won't want a big lunch the next day either ! The restaurant has a small bar area too, for those wanting a drink beforehand.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and several friends dined at this restaurant over the weekend And we could not fault it the service was amazing and the food was unreal. I did read the reviews after going and could see several women moaning about bottles of wine. Three or four bottles I suggest they had too much to drink anyway lol. As this is by far one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time.

Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely meal and good service. As mentioned by previous reviewers, check you bill. Our bill included an extra meal that we didn't have. The waiter apologised for his genuine mistake but who knows?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't bother!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is hyped up to be better than it is I'm afraid! Cramped & noisy!! Rib eye steak was full of sinew & cut against the grain of the meat so inedible. Think they need a new steak supplier!! Would not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tillywoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lounge - Cowplain also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Lounge - Cowplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing