We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Red Lounge - Cowplain
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We turned up to this restaurant on a Friday night and from the outside it looked busy. Luckily our party of four was with an old acquaintance of the owner, whom, even though busy found us a table and immediately sat us.
All four of us had a variety of different steaks, that were cooked to perfection! Unlike many steak houses we have eaten in around the world the staff here were not pretentious at all and were very friendly and helpful.
A must visit for all locals of the waterlooville and surrounding areas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    76
    41
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very impressed with this restaurant. Very helpful staff when I made the booking and we were made to feel welcome when we arrived. Plenty of interesting choices on the menu but we all decided on the rib eye steak which sounded so good. The meal was excellent, well cooked and plenty of it. Two of us had deserts which were perfect and beautifully presented. Good choice of wine at sensible prices. We will certainly be going back there again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ribs”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

It was my first visit. I had ribs, they were delicious. The Restaurant is modern and spacious. We will 100% return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennegogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A noisy night out”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food was acceptable, I had a nice tender lamb shank but my companions didn’t rate their steaks. Service was a bit slow and inattentive. The main problem was that we could not hear ourselves speak due to the noise mainly from the bar area which spoilt an otherwise acceptable experience,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“A great night out?”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited the Red Lounge last Friday evening along with 15 friends. The place was quite busy and the waitresses were excellent. Unfortunately this was the only good thing about the evening. The food was delivered to the table in dribs and drabs such that, for the main course, the first plate of food was delivered a full 14 minutes before the last. The food was dished up onto cold plates which did nothing to enhance the food. The food itself was quite under par, dry chicken, tough steak and a somewhat revolting veggi option. The building itself was clean and tidy but the accoustics were awful, it was so loud in there you could not hear yourself think. Some soft furnishings to the walls would help. An expensive evening at £50 for 2 of us for bad food. Not good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 195James62H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lounge - Cowplain also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Lounge - Cowplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing