We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Trek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubicon Valley Horse Treks

Rubicon Valley Horse Treks
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.56*
and up
2-Hour River Trail Horse Trek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse treks run on a working high country sheep and cattle farm at the foot of the Southern Alps and only 1 hour from Christchurch City - various treks available with 1hour, 2hour, 3hour and full day.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mountain Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

A wonderful 6 hour trek yesterday with Chris and Julie. A fantastic experience with every care taken to ensure we all had a great time and were safe and well looked after. The horses are everything you need and want them to be. Amazing scenery and lovely company not to mention being given the opportunity to ride to our level of experience galloping across open safe paddocks. I'm still smiling this morning and would recommend this or any of Rubicon's other treks to anybody wanting to experience the NZ wilderness from horseback. A truly 'must do' experience!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks Susan, I just love getting out there, wish I could ride the mountain trail every day See you again one day

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mountain Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just returned from the 6 hour Mountain Trek, an absolutely amazing experience! Big Red was a great horse with bags of energy for the many gallop stretches - i'm still smiling now! Beautiful scenery with river, mountains and pasture. Lunch by the river was lovely along with afternoon tea overlooking the river below. Highly recommend Rubicon Valley Horse Treks. Thank you!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AP_review15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks Amy

It was a great day out there with you and the other girls, So good to see you relax and have some good fun on Red, Now you know why he is my number 1 ride....

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved every second of the treks. BEAUTIFUL scenery, and pretty much bombproof horses!
Very experienced, knowledgeable and kind guides, that cater to riders of all ale levels, and experience. PLEASE COME AND RIDE HERE. BEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE!!
P.s, loved the free tea, coffee, hot choccy and scone break. There's nothing like sipping on a cup of hot chocolate while looking out over the miraculous view of the waimakariri gorge.
Thanks so much Chris,
Lesley and Lucy Learned.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Lucy

Thanks for the great review, nice to here that you enjoyed your trek with us, It is just such a lovely place to ride a horse. See you again one day.....
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a brilliant trek to go on. Chris was lovely, the horses were perfect, and pretty responsive. We had opportunities to go faster than just a walk if we wished. As an added bonus, the scenery was just amazing. I highly recommend this trek.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks Sandy, Nice o see you having fun out on the horses

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Best horse trek ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Seriously, one of the best treks i've been on! Gorgeous scenery and we stopped for hot chocolate! We went up and down hills and even went for the best gallop i've ever done (if we wanted to of course)! 2 hours was not long enough!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laressa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks Laressa, It was a good day out with you on the horse, And I am pleased you got a good gallop on Monty, he is a good horse, but he needs a good rider.
I know we will see you again one day

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubicon Valley Horse Treks also viewed

 
Springfield, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Rubicon Valley Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing