We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do for NZ”

Rubicon Valley Horse Treks
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.01*
and up
2-Hour River Trail Horse Trek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse treks run on a working high country sheep and cattle farm at the foot of the Southern Alps and only 1 hour from Christchurch City - various treks available with 1hour, 2hour, 3hour and full day.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do for NZ”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just had a really great day with Chris at Rubicorn Valley Horse Treks. The views were beyond stunning, and the experience of horse riding through such a breathtaking environment was brilliant. Chris was great, an excellent teacher with really clear instructions and a friendly host. Thoroughly recommended!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Best Experience of our NZ Trip”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had heard about how beautiful the landscape and scenery of NZ were before we came, but no words / pictures could do NZ justice. Riding from Rubicon farm out to the fields and looking down the valley and river, it was just breath-taking and I was completely overwhelmed by what's in front of me.

We had had no experience on a horse before, but Rubicon made it very easy with very clear instructions and always keeping our safety as first priority. The horses were very good, the guide/coach (Chris) was excellent, and the trek was magnificent.

This was one of the absolute best activities we have done in New Zealand. You get horseback riding, fresh air, river, valley, mountains covered in snow, lots and lots of sheep, nice afternoon tea, delicious biscuits, good commentary on NZ / horses / farm / etc., all in one afternoon. What more can you ask for?

I would definitely recommend doing this if you're visiting Christchurch. The drive from Christchurch up to Rubicon Valley is easy enough and very pleasant. For people like me who are from a city like Hong Kong, this would be something extremely extremely different and I promise you will not regret it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YipKingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A day to remember”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner had told me how horse riding was on his bucket list , I had heard about Rubicon Valley via the Internet and it appealed on many levels such as close proximity to Christchurch, great scenery and catering to all abilities, we were short on time but Chris and his intuitive , clever horses gave us a safe yet exciting experience , so much so that we are intent on going back next week for one of the longer treks that Chris the quintessential horseman and his staff offer

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing day in the country!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a fantastic day at Rubicon valley. I was very much a beginner and was a little apprehensive about the horses. The horse are very well trained and Chris is a fantastic guide. I felt very safe the whole time, and even tried trotting!

The views were amazing, snow-capped mountains, braided river valley, rolling hills, just a beautiful spot to spend a day.

If you want a fantastic day out horse riding, I thoroughly recommend Rubicon valley.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hank222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
“excellent experience for beginners and beyond”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had an awesome time for the following reasons:

Clear instructions for beginners, well trained horses, very safe operation. At the same time, I was given plenty of opportunities to trot. Canter was an option, too.
Splendid location: views of the braided Waimakariri river, hills and the snow-covered mountains. The trek went through paddocks with sheep, into the valley and amongst trees, providing variety.
Last but not least, Chris was an excellent host and guide, it was obvious that he cares for his horses and his customers.

Highly recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yashka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubicon Valley Horse Treks also viewed

Hawarden, Canterbury Region
Springfield, Canterbury Region
 
Springfield, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Rubicon Valley Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing