We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Thon Tha Village
from $340.00
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews responsible tourism rice fields mr thien hard working people rice wine recommend this place dong van motorbike tour stilts waterfall preserve culture homestay adventure english mountains hiking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2016 via mobile

Thon Tha village truly is an amazing place in north Vietnam. It is of a very traditional style, and provides any traveller with a welcome escape to a quiet, peaceful countryside location. The people here are friendly, giving, and really amazing hosts in every way. I highly recommend Thon Tha village as a destination for anybody who finds them self in Vietnam, or the surrounding countries. The company we used for our adventure here is called YESD Social Enterprise (find them at yesd.org ). Trang, our tour guide, provided us with a wonderful experience, and is very well connected with the locals. I highly recommend using this tour company.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Simply - holidays of a lifetime.
A week in Thon Tha and Ha Giang area was something absolutely exceptional.
We mean landscapes but also - in fact mostly - the people who we met.

Mr. Thien, his wife and their son.... so nice, so kind and so friendly hosts! Couple of days in Thon Tha, together with Mr. Thien family was really a great time. Least but not least... the food there... absolutely the best we had during our entire trip in the northern Vietnam. Our greatest words of great respect and appreciation to Mr. Thien and his Family (wife and their great kid :-)

Than Mr. Tuan, our driver, guide, host, good spirit... well, he really made our trip! The loop from Ha Giang, thru Dong Van to Meo Vac and back with him... absolutely great! So helpful, so friendly, just a great guy. Although his English is very limited, he was trying very hard, learning fast and after 3-4 days we had really a very nice conversations together.
We tried to learn Vetnamese, he tried (much better than we did!) to learn English + some body language = just a lot of fun and wonderful experience. "Thank you, Mr. Tuan, you made our trip!".

We travelled around the world a bit, but to be honest, thanks to all these great people, Ha Giang province is one of these places we are missing already and - seriously - we think we would like to visit again.

Agnieszka and Robert

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015

Thon Tha is one of the most special places I have ever visited. It provides peace and tranquility as well as an endless list of original activities that really help you understand the local way of life.
We stayed with Mr Quyen and family at his homestay on and off for a month. By the time we left we really were friends. The English in the village is basic, they're learning at the moment, but their hospitality more than makes up for any barriers. The food cooked by the family was outstanding and it was always great fun to eat with them... never a dull moment!
The treks into the mountains behind the village were outstanding. Mr Limh the local guide, takes you on a great route winding through the jungle and rice fields. You eat lunch with the Dao people in Lung Vai.
We also did a motorbike trip to Dong Van with Mr Quyen which is one of the most amazing journeys ever. Again he was a perfect host and made the trip a lot of fun.
There are so many more villages along the valley to visit, one with a waterfall and the Chinese border is just 20km away... an interesting visit.
Basically whatever you want your stay to be the villagers will help you make it happen, with a big smile on their face.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

From the second I arrived, Mr Cay and his family were so welcoming. I experienced a real Vietnamese family meal, where we just sat for hours talking. They always had a smile on their face. 'One more' drink means 10 more but it was amazing. Their enthusiasm and happiness is inspiring to be around. I hope to come back for a few more nights. Thanks you all so much!

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Sinéad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Spent 9 nights with the Tien Family in their Home. I had such a wonderful time getting to know the people in the village and getting to see a part of their local customs. I helped teach English in town. Went trekking through other villages nearby. Learned how to harvest rice and cook Vietnamese food. They are so welcoming and inviting to other travelers. I recommend this place so highly. It's been the best part of my trip to Vietnam.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank WannaBeATravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews