We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Thon Tha Village
from $340.00
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews responsible tourism rice fields mr thien hard working people rice wine recommend this place dong van motorbike tour stilts waterfall preserve culture homestay adventure english mountains hiking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 60 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

First we were afraid of going to Ha Giang because everywhere you read how complicated it is to get there and you have to know some Vietnamese which we didn't. But we went there anyway.

The start was definitely not easy when you only know English because we didn't know where to go. We didn't know about this place but we found it in the internet and since then we could enjoy Ha Giang so much.
A friend of the tour guide speaks English very well and offered to come to our place to help us getting to the village and explains what will expect us.
By scooter they picked up our luggage and brang us to the home stay where we met the lovely family and made ourselves comfortable in our home for the next three days.
We've been to Sapa before because everyone loves it so much and it's more common. If we'd have to decide between Sa Pa and Ha Giang, we'd choose Ha Giang.
The family and friends were really friendly. In the evening after delicious dinner they would sit down and learn English and try to talk to us as much as they can.
It felt like it's not about the money. It's about showing tourists the beautiful Vietnam and it's people and culture.
We could try to cut rice, carry the bundle of rice, walk on bamboo sticks, walk with buffaloes, everything they did they would let us try.
It was an unbelievable authentic experience.

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING

Now we're on the big sleeper bus which goes straight to Hanoi several times a day.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Lo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

If your looking for a perfect example of the beauty and peace that Vietnam has to offer Thon Tha is the place for you. Having first arrived into Ha Giang city, Thon Tha was exactly what we were looking for. A farming village with an unbelievably scenic backdrop and very friendly local villagers who go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Definitely go and stay...

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

I founded Thon Tha village since 2005 and realized that would be the perfect village to accommodate.
This is one of the most beautiful traditional village of Vietnam with all the houses are built on bamboo and wood in traditional style "nha san" stilt house. There's not yet any building accept the village culture house (!!!).

In the village now there are several families that offer homestay services. You can stay in the family of Mr. Quyen, Mr. Cay...

One you stay here you can hike around the village, enjoy agricultural farm activities with local farmers...or if you have 1-2 days adding to a trekking to Dao villages will be very good choice.

Thon Tha is just 5km from the town onward to Thanh Thuy border crossing to China. You can take a motorbike - taxi from the town to get here

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank MotoTours A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Thon Tha village is a must see and do when travelling to the north of Vietnam. From the first day i arrived in the village, I fell in love. I even changed my travel plans to stay longer in the village. The people are extremely nice and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They really do include you in their daily life and create a very memorable experience. Every single meal I had there was delicious. The local guides bring you to places that are rarely seen by tourists and they will tailor their tours to your interests. I took motorbike tours into the frontier area, trekking tours into the mountains and spent many days immersed in the many local village markets. It really was the best trip I have ever taken. Thank you to all the villagers!!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Peggy-MO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Paradise of the life.
Ha Giang is the last place opening for tourism in Vietnam, therefore everything here from people to culture is still preserved as its origin. It's not touristic, peaceful and ideal land for adventurers from all over the world. Come here to enjoy local life and let be yourself to come back home.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank trangthithumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews