We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Thon Tha Village
from $340.00
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields mr thien recommend this place dong van motorbike tour waterfall culture homestay english mountains hiking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 60 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

If your looking for a perfect example of the beauty and peace that Vietnam has to offer Thon Tha is the place for you. Having first arrived into Ha Giang city, Thon Tha was exactly what we were looking for. A farming village with an unbelievably scenic backdrop and very friendly local villagers who go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Definitely go and stay...

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank robbiemc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

I founded Thon Tha village since 2005 and realized that would be the perfect village to accommodate.
This is one of the most beautiful traditional village of Vietnam with all the houses are built on bamboo and wood in traditional style "nha san" stilt house. There's not yet any building accept the village culture house (!!!).

In the village now there are several families that offer homestay services. You can stay in the family of Mr. Quyen, Mr. Cay...

One you stay here you can hike around the village, enjoy agricultural farm activities with local farmers...or if you have 1-2 days adding to a trekking to Dao villages will be very good choice.

Thon Tha is just 5km from the town onward to Thanh Thuy border crossing to China. You can take a motorbike - taxi from the town to get here

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank mototoursasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Thon Tha village is a must see and do when travelling to the north of Vietnam. From the first day i arrived in the village, I fell in love. I even changed my travel plans to stay longer in the village. The people are extremely nice and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They really do include you in their daily life and create a very memorable experience. Every single meal I had there was delicious. The local guides bring you to places that are rarely seen by tourists and they will tailor their tours to your interests. I took motorbike tours into the frontier area, trekking tours into the mountains and spent many days immersed in the many local village markets. It really was the best trip I have ever taken. Thank you to all the villagers!!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Peggy-MO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Paradise of the life.
Ha Giang is the last place opening for tourism in Vietnam, therefore everything here from people to culture is still preserved as its origin. It's not touristic, peaceful and ideal land for adventurers from all over the world. Come here to enjoy local life and let be yourself to come back home.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank trangthithumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Volunteering in Ha Giang, I've had the chance to visit Thon Tha a few times at different times of the day and everytime I grew to love it more. Morning is busy with farming chores, afternoon people are hidding from the heat, dusk they're out and about,and the night is just magical.

Put on your nicest smile and you'll be greeted warmly! People there do want tourism to develop in their community but in a way that will not harm their unique culture and when you go, you will want to preserve it too.

Research on their website what activity you want to do because their English skills are still limited and if you just go, you might not know there's a handicraft shop or herbal bath doctor, etc. 4 nights of the week they gather in the community center for English lessons, you can go and help them learn :)

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews