We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Thon Tha Village
from $340.00
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields mr thien recommend this place dong van motorbike tour waterfall culture homestay english mountains hiking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 60 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Paradise of the life.
Ha Giang is the last place opening for tourism in Vietnam, therefore everything here from people to culture is still preserved as its origin. It's not touristic, peaceful and ideal land for adventurers from all over the world. Come here to enjoy local life and let be yourself to come back home.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank trangthithumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Volunteering in Ha Giang, I've had the chance to visit Thon Tha a few times at different times of the day and everytime I grew to love it more. Morning is busy with farming chores, afternoon people are hidding from the heat, dusk they're out and about,and the night is just magical.

Put on your nicest smile and you'll be greeted warmly! People there do want tourism to develop in their community but in a way that will not harm their unique culture and when you go, you will want to preserve it too.

Research on their website what activity you want to do because their English skills are still limited and if you just go, you might not know there's a handicraft shop or herbal bath doctor, etc. 4 nights of the week they gather in the community center for English lessons, you can go and help them learn :)

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

For anyone planning a trip to northern Vietnam, this village is a must do! The home stay programme allows visitors to stay with them and experience their culture and daily way of life. By staying here, you'd also be supporting an excellent cause, this home stay programme means they can stay in their village and preserve their culture, otherwise they may have to move to the city for work and this beautiful village would be lost forever!
The people in the village are some of the most welcoming and friendly people I've ever met, and despite the fact that there was sometimes a bit of a language barrier with some of the villagers, they still managed to show me their traditional crafts and way of life and we had a lot of fun. The home stay is basic but very comfortable and the food is delicious! I would definitely recommend this homestay to anyone who wants to get away from the tourist trail and experience rural life in vietnam.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

The nicest people I've met so far during my time in Vietnam! The older people hand me in tears laughing despite the language barrier and it was an honour to be welcomed in to the family like I was.

The food wasn't bad either!

If you're up for an adventure, away from the usual tourist traps then this is for you!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Tommiidluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

It has been the highlight of my trip to Vietnam. The people of Thon Tha village are so warm, welcoming and willing to share their culture. The homestays are suprisingly comfortable with all the basics you need to relax and enjoy the serene atmostphere. And the hosts are exceptionally helpful and attentive. It really is a beautiful, calm place and it will be the first place i return to in Vietnam!!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews