We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
21
54
29
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
54
29
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river breakfast and dinner dong van the air conditioning room for improvement north vietnam soup private room mountains comfort parklike tour motorbike vibe greenery cherry loop
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 125 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Located in the outskirts of town (5Km), the entrance draws you into the parklike grounds, where fruit trees (pomelo, longan) and greenery abounds. The resort has a peaceful vibe with mountains and river views.

The eco-feel however is marred by the gigantic fakes - trees /flowers, wooden garden seats and bamboo swing. That said, it does have a wide range of flowers and blooms. I also spotted some very healthy chilies! There is a lake with ducks, with ostriches in a pen nearby.

Arriving just before sundown, we managed a walk around the sprawling grounds, following the circuitous garden paths leading to the rooms, swimming pool and deck (under construction) by the river. Perfect for lounging to catch the sunset.

This resort comes with rooms (standard, deluxe, bungalow) spread out throughout its generous size, offering views of the garden or river. Our room 405 is a short walk from reception and also near the restaurant. Our standard twin room is basic with a peculiarity. The mismatched bed had a double bed platform and a single bed mattress on top.

The bathroom while functional, looks dated. There is no shower screen, so extra care required to ensure the toilet seat stays dry. Toiletries provided are of low quality and insufficient. Best to have your own shampoo and bath gel. The water heater worked well enough.

Bottled water was provided, alongside a fridge, TV and tea / coffee. We managed to find an English speaking channel unlike in Hanoi, where practically all channels are dubbed. The WiFi worked well in the room and common areas.

Breakfast was a choice of pho (local noodle soup) or American breakfast. We were enthusiastically greeted by a local who had worked in KL for ten years. He happily chatted with us in Malay, so communication was a breeze.

We stayed here again on our way out from Dong Van and were given the same room for easy reference. On our return visit, we had a steamboat dinner (for a change) in a private room with Karaoke facilities. Serving portions were very generous and we were well looked after by the staff.

In conclusion, this resort is best described as ‘interesting’. While it has many things going for it, there is also room for improvement. The staff are its most priced assets, with their friendliness and excellent service. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: For river views, splurge on the Bungalows
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingSoloNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

No drinking water supplied, no amenities in room. Tv does not work. No teaspoons! This place charges the same as Sapa Vista Resort and it is no where near acceptable for that price. 1 star if that. Bathroom horrible. All shelves falling off walls.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

This property is a delight! I was on a custom tour of HaGiang province and was scheduled to have a homestay “for the experience.” Luckily my well-experienced guide offered me the alternative of a stay at this resort. Being a hot day, he had me at “its air-conditioned.”

The property is lovely with nice plantings, There is a bit of a faded zoo and an amusement park for children which operates during the day. At the time I visited (March, 2017) they are building a new restaurant as well as eight new rooms along the river. So there is a bit of construction noise and equipment about.

I had room 306 which is large, modern in design, with a king size platform bed, good size bathroom with jacuzzi tub, flat-screen TV with 58 cable stations and a balcony with table and chairs overlooking a forest-like area. The room has excellent air conditioning, which I appreciated. The building is a duplex and I suspect that room 305 has the same configuration. There are only two rooms of this standard.

I returned to the hotel a few days later when it was fully booked. I was given room 407, a standard triple. It was basic, but fine for one night. It is located across from the restaurant so there is a teeny bit of noise. It has three beds and overlooks a small stream.

There are also ten stand-alone bungalows on the property which are medium size and have a balcony overlooking the river. These are categorized as Deluxe Bungalow. Since a group had just vacated them, I had a chance to look inside and noticed that some had better natural light than others. I thought Bungalows105 and 104 had more natural light.

The restaurant has a good menu and food is reasonable. Breakfast is included and there are several nice choices.

There is excellent wi-fi throughout, even in the gardens. Carry a flashlight after dark as the paths are not well-lit

There is a spa on the property with 45 min. massages for 180,000 dong ($8. USD). Ambiance is non-existent and the rooms are basic. But close your eyes and pretend you are at Elizabeth Arden and revel in the good value. Treatment room #01 has air-conditioning.

If I were to stay here again - these would be my choices in priority order:
Deluxe Rooms 305 or 306
Deluxe bungalow (first choice #105)
Standard rooms ( #401-408)

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Either the Deluxe Room or Deluxe bungalow categories are good. If you are on a budget, the standard rooms are OK.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EstherP1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

First of all, I want to state that this area is fantastic. The mountain scenery is almost surreal in its beauty. If you drive motorbikes, a circuit from Ha Giang to Dong Van and Meo Vac is an experience not to be missed. Even just cruising around Ha Giang and the villages nearby is dreamlike. Ha Giang is a bigger city than you might think, you can get almost anything you need here, no reason to pack as though you're on a wilderness safari. Most of the hotels in town are fairly basic and faceless but Truong Xuan resort is an exception. It's a few kilometers outside of the city so you'd need a bike or taxi to get there unless you don't mind long walks. When you arrive, you'll notice a kiddie park next to the hotel. It fires up on weekends and a lot of noisy Vietnamese families occupy this spot so weekdays are better. The grounds are parklike, lots of trees and shrubbery but they also have put a ton of plastic flowers and trees all along the walkways. There is a stagnant series of waterways, the kayak rental is probably not good. It's a big wedding site so there are also picturesque (and corny) seating areas. They keep exotic birds in somewhat dreary chain-link enclosures, a peacock den, pheasants, chickens and 8 full-size ostriches which are very friendly. The river view rooms are best but currently the construction that hotel is undergoing make these a bad option. We splashed out on the most expensive room-still only $30 US-available and we were glad that we did. It was clean and very big, had a comfy bed and a nice balcony overlooking a small cental forest. The restaurant is okay, breakfast is good but there are better choices for dinner in town. They have a spa with a two-person hot tub that is worth the $4 price tag, massages were decent but not exceptional and it's got a bit of a 'karaoke' (read: hookerish) vibe. Mountains surround this hotel, everywhere you look the view is wonderful. For my money, there is no comparison between this place and the city rooms. The staff is somewhat diffident, no english spoken but Thien at the desk is very fluent and helpful in all travel needs. I like the voodoo feel and kitsch aspects of this resort. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #305 has less of a bungalow-type feel but we preferred it to the other rooms we saw.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattandlindamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

The resort is very beautiful, quiet large place, nice staff, breakfast include, reasonable price. this is an excellent place to start or to end a 2 or 3 days tour in Dong Van area. we contacted the manager, Mr. Duc Thien, and he arranged for our family a car and driver for our 3 days tour in this unspoiled, authentic area. We arranged all by mails and phone from Hanoi, and all was perfect, include bus tickets from and to Hanoi. you can find the mail in the resot's web site. We highly recommend to arrange the tour with him, and to stay the last night in this resort!

Room Tip: ask for a boongalow by the river...
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews