We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
42
39
14
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
39
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice terracesceiling fanlocal guideday trekherbal batheco resorthot wateracross the riverethnic minoritiesoff the beaten trackred daobefore dinnernorthern vietnamfriendly localssmall townair conditioningtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2018

The thing we liked best about Pan Hou Village was the food at lunch and dinner, which was fresh and tasty - as well as plentiful (much more than we could eat). Breakfast was another matter; they offered eggs, eggs, and more eggs (omelet, scrambled, fried or poached - none of which were especially tasty for some reason. Because we saw staff eating soup for breakfast we asked for that one day, but it was also pretty flavorless.

Our room was rustic but tasteful in a minimalist sort of way, and the gardens were pretty. The big issue was that the room was very cold when we arrived on December 25. They brought us a portable heater, but it didn't really take the chill off until sometime in the middle of the night. We went to the bar before dinner in hopes of warming up by the fire, but it was a small fire in a large brazier and most of the heat went up the chimney rather than into the room - ditto in the dining room, even though we moved our table as close to the fire as possible.

We booked a hike to the rice terraces and were told that it wouldn't really rain and that we wouldn't be walking through mud - wrong on both counts. We came back wet and cold and splattered with mud (with one slip and fall in the mud) - and also found that the dirt paths at Pan Hou Village had all turned to mud. We booked hot baths to warm up, but had to trudge back through the mud to our cold room and never really warmed up again.

Staff was nice and friendly, but no one spoke English especially well. They tried to be helpful, but seemed to be missing training and direction that a good manager would provide. For example, because it was cold, they were all wearing their personal parkas and so it was difficult to tell who was staff and who was a guest.

I suspect that this would be a nicer place to stay in better weather. As it was, we didn't think it was worth the 7-hour drive from Hanoi (14-hours round trip).

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WandereringWayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

I fairly like this lodge, this lodge gives me a friendly environment vibe with greenery beautiful garden.
However it feels unsafe when the night came. No security, no 24 hours reception, no light outside after 9pm, no free drinkable water in the room. I recommend you buy water at the bar before 9pm or bring along water with you.
Also not a good location if you would like to visit Dong Van the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hanh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiến P, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Pan Hou Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Ms Hanh

Thank you for your comment on our Tripadvisor page that gives us the opportunity to clarify the quality of our service.

You are 6 girls booked 2 double rooms, and you were late check - in after 22h00.
Because you didn't book dinner at our restaurant so after we finished serving others guests, we closed the restaurant and bar.

On the way you come, receptionist keep in touch with you to help you how to get Panhou (in case the tourist no show because it is not easy to get Panhou)

If we dont have staff stayed at reception, who open the bar to take water, soft drink, ice for your party at the room

We always have staff stayed at bungalow in this side of bridge as security

We regret that you were not satisfied with staying at Panhou Village and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017

Wow, Panhou was definitely well worth the long bus ride from Hanoi. It’s situated in an especially beautiful and remote part of Vietnam and definitely fits the description of what you would expect from an Ecolodge. SImply put, it is outh there, and well away from the beaten path.

We loved our stay here. The abundant natural beauty and tranquility was a nice contrast the pulsing chaos of Hanoi. The food is delicious, and the menu varies daily..

The traditional stilt house that we stayed in was very comfortable and we enjoyed the view that looked out across a gorgeous garden. We recommend the bath and massage combo, both are reasonably priced.

We also took the day long trek to visit a Red Daos village in the surrounding mountains. We really enjoyed it. The trek was challenging, but not overly so. It was a really nice cultural exchange. Lei, our tour guide took us to his uncles home where he and his wife prepared a traditional meal. It was quite delicious.

Would highly recommend staying at the Panhou. I would also say that the day hiking trip seems like more than enough, especially since you will probably want to spend the majority of your time at Panhou relaxing and enjoying the natural beauty.

The entire experience was one of, if not the highlight of our trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoshandTaylorWilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

I really liked the setting of the lodge under the trees and surrounded by the river and waterlily ponds. The room was spacious, clean and I slept very well even though there was no air con (and the humidity was extremely high). I also really enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the fast internet (only available at the bar).
The best about the hotel is the location as it is surrounded by lots of beautiful rice terraces. So this is one of the key places to stay in Northern Vietnam for anyone with an interest in photography.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d7ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

The ground is very beautiful and well taken care of. There was a waterlily pond right outside our room, with water running all the time (very relaxing sound but it’s hard to tell whether it was raining!). Room is spacious and clean; there are screens on windows and doors which do a good job at stopping bugs from getting into our room. There is no a/c (!) which we knew in advance. However, what took us by surprise was how humid it was; by the time we checked out, all of our stuff (including things in the suitcases, papers and documents) and even the bedding was either wet or damp. The ceiling fan kept the room very cool but it pulled in more humidity from outside into the room. We were also rained on during the trek which didn’t help. You can imagine how damp and smelly we were when we left! Also, given that we paid $100/night, Pan Hou was quite expensive for that area but in the name of eco-friendliness, room came with almost nothing for comfort of guests, besides 2 small pieces of soap. I would have liked some environmentally friendly shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc. There was also no phone in the room to call reception; you’d have to walk down the stair made of rocks to get from the main resort area to reception in the dark. Food was reasonably good and wifi is only in the bar area, both of which were fine with us.

Would I stay in Pan Hou again? Probably, given how much we enjoyed the trek organised by them (Le - the Red Dao guide - was great! He was very attentive to our requests/questions and we learned a lot from conversations with him. However, as we speak Vietnamese, I can’t comment much about his English. Pan Hou does arrange for English-speaking guide for additional fee if you request.). I don’t like hiring some random guides on the street as you never know about quality, so would go with Pan Hou again. Just probably don’t rinse any clothing and try not to get rained on while there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seonmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews