We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday home set in superb location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Au bord de l'eau

The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
Swimming pool Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house
Swimming pool
Dining room
House from the river
Apperitif on the sand bank
Morning
River view from the garden
Pool side
Double bedroom with river view
Double bedroom with river view
Double bed
Twin/ Triple bedroom
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ousson-sur-Loire, Loiret, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gill B
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home set in superb location”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect holiday home for a family reunion of 8 adults. This house ticked all the boxes for us as a family. Light airy bedrooms and enough bathrooms for us all. We didn’t venture very far at all as there were pleasant walks along the river at the bottom of the garden and who would want to leave the lovely garden admiring the view and hearing nothing but the birds singing? The heated swimming pool was perfect and with the glorious hot sun was well used every day and even one evening!
We chose to eat in every evening as the nearby supermarket had everything we needed to cook 3 course meals. With 2 large fridges, a freezer and plenty of kitchen equipment the cooking and storing of food was no problem. We all agreed that no restaurant could beat pre-dinner drinks on the terrace followed by a communal meal sitting outside around the large wooden table admiring the views of the river and watching the sunset. Later in the evening we would move to either the lounge with its 3 sofas to chat and play games or go down to the basement room to play table tennis or use the large television for a game of singstar!!
Gerrard was always very helpful with his emails before the holiday and visited us during the week to check everything was to our satisfaction.
This was our second holiday to the house and we are already discussing our next visit!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and lovely home for family/friend gathering overlooking the Loire”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Au bord de l'eau in early June 2014 for a half term break. We were 4 adults and 6 kids (aged 6-12). We were delighted with Gerard's family holiday home and pleasantly surprised with how well equipped the house was.
There was plenty of space for us all and the kids loved the downstairs games room with table tennis, TV/DVD, bikes etc.
The outlook from the open french doors to the terrace, pool and then river is delightful and we enjoyed just relaxing with a glass of wine and taking in the view.
As listed in the facilities there is pretty much everything you will need as large group or family so need to worry about running out of fridge space or needing to do a wash etc.
Our highlight was probably taking a kayak tour from a few km upstream which the kids absolutely loved.
I think what sets Au bord de l'eau apart is the sense that you really are in someone's home but you feel very welcome and Gerard is as keen for you to have a good time as he would be for his own friends and family.
All in all a fantastic trip and one we will all treasure for many years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing by the pool with a cold beer enjoying the view
Liked least: Some of the terrace furniture could do with an upgrade
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire V
Podgorica, null, Montenegro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, kid-friendly, wonderful owner, great location! A+++++”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First off, the house itself is amazing. Situated over several floors, including a poll table area in the basement, it has many spacious bedrooms, a lovely sitting room. kitchen, and dining area - all decorated beautifully and well maintained. Everyone has a bathroom to themselves too. The house overlooks the Loire directly, and the views are to die for. A short but rather steep few steps gets you down to the riverside, where there is direct access to a little paved lane running along the water for miles. The pool is fantastic - heated, well-situated so you can see the river while you are swimming, and absolutely kid-safe, because it is enclosed by a wooden fence. There is a lovely outside eating area where adults can burn, er, I mean barbeque meats to their hearts content while the children play in the games room in the basement or in the pool (with adults keeping an eye out, of course). Plenty of books and movies in case you get bored too, of course. The laundry room has everything you need, and for enthusiastic cooks, I must mention that the kitchen is highly functional (which is NOT a given, believe me!). There is a side pantry with pots and pans of all sizes.

The house is ideally located next to a small village, where you can take your walks, but I recommend taking the car to a nearby supermarket, Auchan, in the next village over, to get your groceries. They do fabulous pastries and breads and meats, and whatever else you need, all fresh there in the nearby supermarket (Gerard will give you the details). There are many surrounding towns, villages, big cities that have things and sights of interest, and a whole range of activities that will satisfy both the adults and the kids in your group.

Out of all the places we have stayed in over the years (and there have been many) this ranks at the top. Gerard, the owner, is a lovely man and a big part of why the experience was so positive for us. He came over from Paris regularly to see how we were doing, and was helpful and responsive to all questions, comments, or concerns. He even took my husband out one night and got him drunk, which was fun (well, for my husband at least!). All in all, I thoroughly recommend this place, and we are seriously considering returning here year in year out, which would be a first for restless folks like us. Two very big thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the pool, the owner - in no particular order though!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R
Cramlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If its peaceful you want then you have it here.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is perfect for friends/family or a large family to meet up. The view across the river is spectacular and the sleepy village is so quiet you hardly saw anyone. The pool is a definite bonus and kids will love it with sun loungers round the decking for adults. There is a well equipped games room with TV and a cupboard full of DVD's to watch, table tennis and football tables, there are also bikes to ride. Wi fi in the house is spot on. A car is needed as there are no shops in the village but there is a supermarket about 3 miles away and plenty of shops in surrounding towns. There is canoeing in nearby Beaulieu Sur Loire for a nice quiet canoe down the river - recommended. A great holiday, with plenty to do in the house and also out if you don't mind driving there. If you enjoy walking, you could walk for miles. We drove to Paris in 2 hours and had a day there also. A great holiday for most of the family although teenagers may need a bit more to do. Also a sat nav is recommended. Not suitable for people with disabilities as outside area on a hill and lots of steps in garden to pool and river.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pool, wi fi and peace and quiet.
Liked least: French TV
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From 18 to 84 years, the house suited all in our party. Very sociable layout, comfy beds, peaceful, beautiful views, sleepy French village, beers at Hotel du Soleil (walking distance), fab meal at Le Clos Du Vigneron (local restaurant), supermarket 2km approx. down the road, chateaux close by, Sancerre wine tasting, beautiful little villages (very floral), day trip to Paris on the train ( 1 1/2 hour), fishing, lazing by the pool, cycling...oh and did I mention the views! Memories to cherish forever. J'espere que nous retournerions! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Too many steps for a toddler
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2013
Thank you for your review,as it happens we had planned to increase the dining area this winter which will double the space and create plenty of room for up to 12 people.The works will be finished by the end of March .
Your comment about having gates on the terrace was also very useful and these will be installed at the same time. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loches, France
Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilites that the house offered, swimming pool, peacefulness, bird life.
Liked least: Leaving when the holiday ended.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2013
So happy you had a great time,we are having works done to make the house even more comfortable by adding a sixth bedroom with en suite shower room and enlarging the dining area so that it can comfortably accommodate 12 guests. Images will be posted as soon as the works have finished which will be March 2013 at the latest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing