We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

pretty nice hotel,staff was freindly and very helpful they catered to all my needs didnt eat at hotel none but the pinacolas where awesome gave the hotel 3 out of five cuz know hotel is perfect and theres always room for inprovement,dive shop was very helpful and did everything they could to meet my needs,will diffently go again soon

Room Tip: pool beach veiw pretty nice
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebass0449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCapeEddie, Manager at Hotel Palmas de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thanks you for the kind words. Each year we try to improve the quality of the resorts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

thanks,

Hotel Palmas De Cortez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palmas de Cortez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 235 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

The purpose of my stay at Palmas de Cortez was for a fishing tournament and this hotel was perfect for that. We stayed in the Cabana rooms which had 4 beds in each room, a tv, wet bar, and refrigerator. From here it was not a far walk to the lobby's free WIFI or to the pool and beach.

The resort has nice boats with great captains and deck hands. In the three days of fishing, my boat caught 20 bill fish. Two years ago, I did the same trip and we caught 18 bill fish. These captains know the right spots and the deck hands do a great job of helping pick out the right gear to use if you bring it or they have their own for you to use also.

After a long day of fishing, the pool with the swim up bar was the best part of the day. You could grab a drink from the bar and just hang out in the pool with your friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plotline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCapeEddie, Manager at Hotel Palmas de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We always enjoy hosting fishing tournaments especially when the fishing is as good as it has been these last few weeks. Look forward to having you back next year.

Thank you,

Hotel Palmas De Cortez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at nicer places but not for the money. The food was fantastic. Lots of new dishes I've never had before. The best calamari ever! Nice clean rooms, pool and grounds. Visited the last week of April and just the start of the fishing season so the resort was very quiet with few visitors. Most of the staff was very pleasant and suffered through our poor Spanish. My impression is this is a sleepy little town and not the place for girls gone wild type of crowd.Very relaxing.
The only downside were two of the waiters, Gabriel and Negro at lunch and dinner. These two were more interested in talking on their phones around the corner and making snide remarks about my command of the Spanish language than waiting on guest. Complained to the desk clerk hope they are gone by our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were here in November of 2012. The hotel is beautiful and the suite was perfect for our family. We've done the exciting Cabo San Lucas trips and are at a point in our lives where we enjoy a more "laid back" atmosphere. The fishing was what the men in our party enjoyed, the women enjoyed the beach, pool and walks thru the sleepy village. The food at the hotel was excellent and portions were enough to bring some home for later. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsColb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a few days in the small town of Los Barriles. We had a pool side room and it was excellent. The hotel wasn't very busy and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Rooms aren't fancy. Just whats needed and clean. Anything fancy wouldn't fit the area. A basic bed which could use a mattress upgrade but that the only thing bad I can say. Small hotel in a small town thats a great place to get away and relax if you don't need much. We will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place met our needs precisely. Four guys fishing. Everything you need on site. Excellent service. Immediate access to fishing. Excellent dining options. Family friendly. We stayed in a one room cabana with 4 beds and a restroom. Small refrigerator. Easy walking distance to other places to eat and the market to purchase incidentals. There were several families there, but don't go here expecting a luxury resort. It is nice, clean, and services the fisherman well. The villas and condos would probably meet the needs of non fisherman better. We had a great time and will go again. Los Barriles is an "old Mexico" town. Nothing like a developed city like Cabo San Lucas. This was great for us, but may not be what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApachePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved Los Barriles !!! This was a quiet little town with warm friendly people. We stayed at Hotel Palmas de Cortez and had a wonderful time there. The views of the sea were beautiful everyday. We enjoyed the different pool areas and the large hot tub. We stayed there Feb. 2013 and it was very quiet, so at times we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We stayed in a Siesta Suite and it was lovely. The town is very charming and small and you can walk everywhere. The preferred method of transportaion is ATVs which you can rent right at the front desk. The restaurant is a great place to eat especially at lunch. Sitting outside on the patio is a treat. We watched dolphins and even saw sting rays jumping out of the water one day! We also ate at many local restaurants and fequented the grocery store for snacks and things. Los Barriles is inexpensive and worth the tri up from Cabo. We traveled around Baja Sur for 2 weeks and this was by far my favorite place during our vacation. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barriles
8.2 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
137 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmas de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas de Cortez

Address: Los Barriles, Los Barriles, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Price Range: $142 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palmas de Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palmas de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Palmas De Cortez
Palmas De Cortez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing