We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town, Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Small town, Great Place!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a few days in the small town of Los Barriles. We had a pool side room and it was excellent. The hotel wasn't very busy and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Rooms aren't fancy. Just whats needed and clean. Anything fancy wouldn't fit the area. A basic bed which could use a mattress upgrade but that the only thing bad I can say. Small hotel in a small town thats a great place to get away and relax if you don't need much. We will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    87
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
65
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place met our needs precisely. Four guys fishing. Everything you need on site. Excellent service. Immediate access to fishing. Excellent dining options. Family friendly. We stayed in a one room cabana with 4 beds and a restroom. Small refrigerator. Easy walking distance to other places to eat and the market to purchase incidentals. There were several families there, but don't go here expecting a luxury resort. It is nice, clean, and services the fisherman well. The villas and condos would probably meet the needs of non fisherman better. We had a great time and will go again. Los Barriles is an "old Mexico" town. Nothing like a developed city like Cabo San Lucas. This was great for us, but may not be what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApachePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved Los Barriles !!! This was a quiet little town with warm friendly people. We stayed at Hotel Palmas de Cortez and had a wonderful time there. The views of the sea were beautiful everyday. We enjoyed the different pool areas and the large hot tub. We stayed there Feb. 2013 and it was very quiet, so at times we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We stayed in a Siesta Suite and it was lovely. The town is very charming and small and you can walk everywhere. The preferred method of transportaion is ATVs which you can rent right at the front desk. The restaurant is a great place to eat especially at lunch. Sitting outside on the patio is a treat. We watched dolphins and even saw sting rays jumping out of the water one day! We also ate at many local restaurants and fequented the grocery store for snacks and things. Los Barriles is inexpensive and worth the tri up from Cabo. We traveled around Baja Sur for 2 weeks and this was by far my favorite place during our vacation. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have traveled south from Washington and Idaho for many years but never to East Cape.
It is not a high end area but for a great old baja experience it rates well with great food, nice hospitality, slow pace and good feeling of safety with all that is going on south of the border.

We went for fishing and the experience was 1st class even though we we fishing during the slowest season, Our guide 'Jesus was fantastic on Rude baby 1 and the processing services at the smoke house were excellent also. good local shopping and very friendly locals.
We hope to be back soon

WBD

Room Tip: Beds are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIGHTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with about 20 other people in January and had a really nice time. The hotel is beautifully situated...right on the beach with lovely sunrises in the morning. Our room was right in front of the pool on the first floor which was really nice to walk out to during the day. This was definitely a slow time for them because it was very quiet there - I can imagine that it might get crazy during October. The water (both the pool and the ocean) is cold this time of year, so we didn't do much swimming...although the hot tub was very nice. We tried kayaking but it was too windy. We also tried snorkeling but it was also pretty choppy. Renting ATVs was a blast. It's definitely not a high end resort but we found it really relaxing and comfortable. We definitely would stay here again, but I'd like to go when the water is warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidtfamily1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm a year late writing this. I just added pics from last Feb, 2nd trip. We don't go for the fishing or wind surfing which is described as world class. We just missed the Resort hosting a 'sand sculpting contest. One of the pics shows a sand sculptures behind wife Rae. We saw the fishing and windsurfing but I think you have to go at the right time of year for fishing and laying in the sun and swimming. I believe Spring thru Summer is more 'World Class Tournament' fishing. December is not for sunning and swimming.

We go to stay at a great place and experience what it's like to live in Los Barriles. We take advantage of the beautiful amenities of the Resort, but we also eat all over town, meet locals and Americans who live there (at least in Winter) as homeowners.

We go over the mountain to Todos Santos, a really... really quaint town. It's where the Hotel California (Eagles) is located and it's a great surfing destination, although it's a 10 min or so drive to the Ocean.

Back in Los Barriles I kayaked about 6 hours, saw so many colorful fish and some so unique. I had favorites that looked like fresh water fish from the Great Lakes.

We rented ATVs by walking into town and rode North a long way to this really secluded beech. There is lots of coral for snorkeling and a shrine of the Blessed Mother built into the rock cliff. The cliffs shield you from the wind if needed.

Then we rode the ATVs to a hotel on a cliff and ate, drank and smoked cigars on a beautiful veranda overlooking the coastline looking south. That same day I took off from the secluded beech up an Arroyo to who knows where and got some great local pictures.

We love everything about the Palmas de Cortez and the staff. Do your diligence, come with the right expectation and your expectations will be exceeded. From pictures you can see how nice it is and from the reviews 'most guests' know where they are going. You can let the kids run loose here and if you want to know where they are, just ask the staff. If you want to eyeball the kids its 1-3 minutes to find them,

The resort is secure, walled and there is staff at the entrance so the kids are not gong to 'wonder' off the premises. Some folks tell the kids the beech is off limits. Palmas de Cortez has all the character, style and amenities of the mega resorts in Cabo but you can walk anywhere around the buildings at this Resort in minutes. Nice too you can walk anywhere in Los Barriles. Catholic Church is atop the bluff overlooking the Resort.

As for the uncomplimentary reviews, you have to use judgement and critical thinking. I have no experience fishing here but I have plenty of life experience that tells me there is more to 'everything'. The Resort may not have control over boat departure if guests are late and don't show up. If you want to rent your own boat, then you can leave when you want and come back when you want. Go with others unknown to you and one of you gets sick, your out there all day, 'sick'. I learned that in Acapulco.

You're going to have guests at this Resort on a budget, some only there to fish, rent their own boat and don't care what it costs. You won't find a Resort in this size and class of Palmas de Cortez that will have a higher rating.

Some reviews may be legitimately a bad experience, sometimes it's a personality 'we' (you and me) would not put up with. But the Resort has to be courteous and helpful to a fault. But I suppose there is a limit there to if someone endangers, creates unsafe conditions, threatens or drinks too much and police have to be called. Use your judgement reading the reviews that are over the top 'angry and vengeful'.

I added the Palmas de Cortez pics before the review. Asked for photos again now so I added other pics of our trip.

Come to Chicago this Summer!

Room Tip: We like the top floor of the hotel for the views. We're not in and out all day though. If we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Mouse in room at check-in. Scared him away out the door. Grubby room, dirty patio furniture, hair that was not ours in sink, leaf litter on patio. Bedding was musty - pillow smelled like sweaty old man and moldy pool water. Pile of mouse droppings behind bed. Door didn't easily pull closed. Thermostat had been replaced, hole in wall was left behind. Patio door had a really flimsy lock, opened to patio where everyone in the hotel could walk by and peer in the door at our things. Loud wedding party. Woke to huge Caterpillar Tractor pushing out the fishing dock at 6AM after a night of fitful sleep feeling uncomfortable and dirty. Pile of stubbed out cigarettes on our patio table, huge cockroach in the bathroom in AM - have photos it was crazy big. We asked to check out rather than repeat this sleepless, uncomfortable experience for a second night (final night of what should have been a relaxing vacation.) We asked for a refund of the second night, the front desk told us we had to ask the booking website. Booking website said that the hotel would have to determine if there was a refund. We went to the front desk, when we checked out we were given a folio that indicated a refund of the second night, which we felt was fair. Now two weeks later, no refund, booking website doesn't seem to know anything about it, and when they called the hotel the hotel indicated that they were charging us for the entire two days. Will wait a little longer to hear about the refund, next going to my card company to refuse payment. Sorry this review is choppy, I was trying to format it to fit into the limited space allowed on the booking website's comment form.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nrcvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barriles
8.2 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rancho Leonero Resort
Rancho Leonero Resort
#71 of 115 in Los Cabos
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmas de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas de Cortez

Property: Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Address: Los Barriles, Los Barriles, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palmas de Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Palmas de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Palmas De Cortez
Palmas De Cortez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing