We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The location is great but it is nothing more than a less than average beach resort hotel. The public areas are pretty well maintained but it lacks any character, warmth or ambiance. It is just a concrete building. The pools have nice views onto the Sea of Cortez. The bar could not serve a mojito-unbelievable in Mexico- the wait staff was too busy watching TV to even bother to try. Mind you, there were only 4 of us there! Tico's for breakfast was really sad- a cavernous place, no ambiance, no napkins and a sad table with some spoons, a few styrofoam cups, milk and paper napkins. The coffee was mediocre and tepid. The a la carte breakfast was equally mediocre.
Our room was a very good size but it was obvious that housekeeping does a VERY shodd job cleaning. There was sand on the floor, hair and fluff under the table and vanity seat. The coffee table had a layer of dust that could have only accumulated over many weeks! The room itself was devoid of any warmth, character or comfort. The bathroom is a good size and was clean except for the fungus on the silicone of the window.
To date I have not stayed at a hotel that charges 10% gratuity on rooms. I am not sure who this goes to but if the hotel is charging this, they need to elevate the service and rooms.
Unimpressive hotel, one I will not return to nor recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JYPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    88
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
65
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have taken groups of plumbers to palmas for the last 22 years,have never had anything but a great time,fishing is good and the bartenders alwas have a cold one handy,even my old friend hector. Be back soon.

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We travelled from England and it took 3 flights to get there and frankly it was not worth it. It was December and the wind howled the entire time making it too cold to sunbathe and there was not much else to do unless you were an expert windsurfer or kitesurfer. We had come to fish for marlin but the sea was too rough and when we got out we could only fish for Seirra and Bonita. We booked through Angling Direct Holidays and it said in the brochure that the fishing was top class and the hotel was luxurious so we were very dissapointed as neither is true in my opinion. I thought the hotel had potential but it needed someone to go around and point out everything they didn't bother to sort out. We were very happy to come home.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw lacked an attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margherita2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This resort is very very pretty. Nice, clean rooms. The ocean is absolutely beautiful and very entertaining to wash the many kite boarders. This is located in a very small town about an hour north of the airport. We went over Christmas and their were very few people staying in the resort, but we still had a great time non the less. Good cocktails as well as food. Two restaurants: one for breakfast/lunch and the other lunch/dinner. We very much enjoyed our stay at the resort and there are a handful of restaurants in town if you want to venture out.I highly reccommend this hotel, but not a lot to keep you busy so plan on wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We're just getting ready to go back to Van Wormer Resort so I googled it to see what enhancements they made to the property since we were there 3 yrs ago. The ratings scared me for a second, just as fast I remembered my brother said it is highly thougt of in that area and my sister just told me... that's where I got the info on the enhancements... she visited (didn't stay there) and couldn't say enough great things about it. I'll give my feed back when I get back staying Feb 4-9, and I'll share pics or our experience there. We wanted to get out of Cabo and we loved VWs. We made such good friends there, and we can't wait to see if some of the same staff are still there. We're thinking... if they are, you better come because this place is gonna 'rock baby'. Suggestons: Los Barriles nearby, or drive West over the mountains to the Pacific and Hotel California. (Note: I had to pick a date below. we actually went Feb 2009.

Room Tip: Let the kids have some freedom don't put them next door. It's safer than home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The hotel was nice, beautiful pool, beach views, etc. Internet only available in restaurant and common areas. We loved the fancy restaurant, great guacamole and margaritas! The other restaurant had good breakfast options that weren't too pricey. The rooms were okay - beds not so great, but updated bathrooms and clean. The pool was too cold to swim in (January) but we went in the hot tub which was nice. I thought it was a bit overpriced for what you got, but it was one of the nicest hotels in the area so I would probably choose it again. (Oh, the fishing was a total rip off - we got not a single bite, they should have told us only fools try and fish there in January...all we got was a long boat ride. Make sure you go only during peak fishing season. Otherwise save the money and do something else.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time. From the room to the food to the fresh Civichi when we shared our catch of the day. What a wonderful time we had!

Room Tip: They wouldn't let me choose an alternate date. We were there at an earlier date. I would return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theh2oman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barriles
8.2 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rancho Leonero Resort
Rancho Leonero Resort
#72 of 115 in Los Cabos
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmas de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas de Cortez

Property: Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Address: Los Barriles, Los Barriles, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palmas de Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Palmas de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Palmas De Cortez
Palmas De Cortez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing