We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silana: Top at the top”
Review of Hotel Gorropu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gorropu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urzulei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a great place and what an amazingly friendly staff at the hotel. I stayed here two nights and when I had booked the hotel over the internet, I had not realized how incredibly beautiful this hotel is located on the Passo di Silana. Add to this the friendly people who run the hotel and one con conclude: top on the top. One must realize, the hotel is very remote and one needs a car. My room (# 201) was spacious, very clean, had a large bed, simply decorated and had a spacious bathroom. From the room one has a magnificent view over the mountains. Silana offers free WIFI, but there is only a stable connection in the lounge. I enjoyed the dinner, especially the sucking pig (porceddu or porchetta) and the wines are excellent. I can recommend their Cannonau di Sardegna Josto Miglior. There are no other restaurants nearby, otherwise one has to go the village Urzulei 8 km away. As described in other reviews, Silana Hotel is an excellent starting point for hiking and the descent to Canyon Gorrupo starts at the hotel. All in all Hotel Silana offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Gola su Gorropu may not be as deep as the (US) Grand Canyon but the walk from Silana shares one key feature with a trek from the Grand Canyon's south rim: You do the knee-bashing descent before the muscle-challenging ascent leaving you (I mean us, but you may react the same way) with strange pains when you have finished. So you don't want to be driving to your accommodation - you want the accommodation right there ! And that's where Hotel Silana comes in handy.

Really friendly staff (even brought in our clothes that were drying outside to prevent it getting wet during a downpour while we were out walking). Very clean.

We found it wonderful to wake up in the middle of the mountains - great views - but it's quite isolated up at Silana. In particular, no restaurants nearby: The food at Silana is fine (we ate in three nights out of four) but quite simple (could say unadventurous) - gourmets might get frustrated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an amazing time at this hotel! The hotel itself is very nice: well-decorated with local art, very clean rooms, everything is new. Our room was sunny with great views (and we weren't even in one of the rooms facing the best views). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We also set up a tour of the Goruppu canyon (which is right across the street) through the hotel and the tour was great. The food is unbelievable. The breakfast buffet is huge and delicious and dinner was amazing every night. If you go, try the goat milk mousse for dessert if they have it. It is the most delicious thing I have ever eaten.
The only negative aspect is that the hotel is very isolated. We did not realize that based on the website and managed to get there without a car. We thought we could rent bikes but when we arrived we were told that all of the bikes were broken, and I wouldn't have wanted to bike on the dangerous mountain roads anyway. Thanks to the kindness of some other guests staying at the hotel we had one of the best days of our trip. They offered to take us with them on a day trip into the mountains and we had an amazing time, but without them we would have been bored at the hotel with no way to get around (The bus schedule is very sporadic). I would definitely recommend going here, but go with a car. The positive aspect of the isolation is that the natural beauty is fantastic and the hiking is awesome. Overall, we had an amazing stay at Hotel Silana!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lia_D100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were treated like king & queen. Everyone is so friendly and helpfull in this nice family hotel. All family members work in the hotel and make sure everyone gets a warm welcome and warm feeling about their stay. The room itself was very cosy, light and clean, and there were good curtains to darken it at night. The bathroom was clean and practical.
The view on the mountains is amazing! Ideal starting place for a few hiking trips and to go to lovely beaches, even in October it is still warm enough. And the homemade food is delicious too. And all this for a very acceptable price!
We will definitely come back here, for more than 2 nights!
Thanks to the family to make our stay so pleasant.
(just gave a 4 for sleep quality as I like very soft mattresses, unlike most people)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

if you are looking for a place surrounded by wonderfull view, nature and friendly people this is the place to be!
The hotel is placed is in a wonderful spot.  The hosts=family are all realy friendly and they help us with very good advices about where, what and how to visit the region. 
The room we had was just right and everything very clean. It is isolated from everything, exactly what we wished. It is romantic and adventurous the same time.  
I can't  say anything bad! We fell in love with this family and stayed to nights instead of one. The hosts - dear Martina, gian piero and simona are super lovely. If you miss anything there, just ask the hosts, I am sure they will do everything to make sure you are happy. Just ask them. The home made cheese and yogurt was so creamy what made us dreamy :). Also, after a rough trekking to amazing gorropo canyon, which located near the hotel, we enjoy typical Sardinian dinner which was delicious.  If you have the chance, don't leave the place before having this local dinner. Just amazing!
We're really looking forward to come back very soon...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olasid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

...Su Goruppo gorge is one of the most impressive and stunning natural beauties we have seen, on the island. There is no better treat than to have the perfect accommodation from which to explore this. Hotel Silana is superb - the people who work are super friendly - the rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, and as for the food - go check it out - the homemade Culurgiones is to die for!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Hotel Silana is the ideal base for exploration of the famous and vast Gorropu Gorge on the eastern side of Sardinia. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is beautifully laid out. Our room was very clean and tidy, and the views from the window were nothing short of spectacular. The food was all home-cooked and absolutely delicious. Can't wait to return to this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austairea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urzulei
9.1 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
976 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Marie Claire
Hotel Marie Claire
#1 of 2 in Lanusei
125 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Il Querceto
Hotel Il Querceto
#16 of 26 in Dorgali
248 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Ogliastra
Hotel Ogliastra
#2 of 2 in Lotzorai
46 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Bia Maore
Hotel Bia Maore
#1 of 1 in Baunei
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorropu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorropu

Address: Localita Ghenna Erre Fo SNC | Strada Statale - Orientale Sarda S.S. 125 Km 183, 08040 Urzulei, Sardinia, Italy (Formerly Hotel Silana)
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Urzulei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urzulei
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorropu 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gorropu Hotel, located in a rugged, wild, natural environment, is in perfect harmony with the surrounding landscape. Our philosophy unites the love and appreciation of the unspoiled area with the local cuisine, serving our guests elegant dishes, from traditional authentic recipes. Our clients are our guests and we endeavour to give them a unique experience, which means they will leave with fond memories of us, our Hotel, our cuisine and the surrounding areas which we hope will linger for a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gorropu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing