We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of San Giacomo Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Giacomo Horses
Ranked #1 of 3 Arluno B&B and Inns
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family and I stayed in this very nice, spacious, spotless location. It was neat to arrive and see a young lady horseback riding down the tree lined lane. We had a full kitchen which was lovelya s we were able to go to a local grocery store to get some food to prepare before relaxing for the evening. We had two lovely bedrooms with crisp, fresh linens and lots of storage space. Our hostess was very friendly and polite. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast in the bright and cheerful breakfast room. My husband enjoyed walking around the property to check out the horses. It was very quiet and peaceful here.....and so nice to have lots of space after a busy trip ont he road. A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
26
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow. I still miss this lovely agriturismo and the lovely Patrizia and Frederica where we spent 4 nights.

The rooms are spotless as is the property. The bathrooms modern. Air conditioning works. Property is beautiful and serene. The best part for me was hearing the horses whinny. Gently. Lovingly. Our room faced the horses and it was as if they were watching over us at night. I learned that these lovely animals can recognize me even as I pet them. How amazing. The cats and dog were sweet and playful as well, and my children enjoyed them as they did the basketball hoop.

Patrizia speaks perfect English and was able to recommend restaurants and things to do on a rainy day. She took care of us wonderfully.

Arluno was great. No tourists. Best gellatto in two locations where it was just us and the locals. Nothing to tour but a great place to get the feel for real Italy. We were able to take day trips to Milan, Parma and Lake Maggiore from this base.

I highly recommend a stay here whether you are looking for a romantic stay or a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kianinike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved the seclusion and peace here, and the horsey surrounds during our two night stay. Our room was spacious and cool with a lovely big bathroom and large, walk-in shower. The staff were charming, friendly and helpful. There is a frequent train service to Milan from nearby Vittuone, but it was just our luck that there was a strike the day we wanted to go there, so we had to drive. I've seen a comment in another review stating that the breakfast is 'basic', but it was a perfectly normal breakfast for Italy and we enjoyed fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants and toast, tea(s) and coffee, with cereals available also. Recommended for anybody who likes to be in the country while only a short distance from the amenities of a town. Some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is a quiet place, great after a long trip or a visit to the nearby towns, even Milan, which is not too far away from Arluno. Of course you will need a car to move, the agriturismo is located before entering Arluno in a rural area, actually before arriving I recommend you to call them for directions or if you have a GPS write on the address "Cascina sangiacomo" (as a street name).
It is really worth, the atmosphere, thanks to Isabella, the owner and to Patrizia, they were always very helpful,polite,kind. They really make you feel welcome. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast lounge is cozy. You will have wi-fi connection, which is important. We had 2 beautiful and enjoyable days, thanks to them again for the great and friendly service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here while visiting the area. The purpose of our visit was to visit the nearby towns of Messero and Magenta to see the tombs and places associated with St. Gianna, and for this, the location of the farm was perfect. You should know that the place is a little secluded, and does not really make a good base if the purpose of your visit is to visit Milan, as it is away from main public transportation into the city. You basically need a car to get here. Patricia, the innkeeper, is friendly and speaks English well, and she helped to make our stay a relaxing one.

GETTING HERE: Located about a 5-minute drive from the A4 highway, the property is relatively easy to reach by car, yet feels worlds away once you get there. Our GPS had some trouble finding the address, so use these GPS coordinates to reach the front gate: N 45.51944, E 08.92743.

THE GROUNDS: The grounds of the farm are absolutely stunning, and the photos and website actually do not do the place justice. There are many, many horses on the property (we lost count at about 2 dozen), and the paddacks and facilites are all well taken care of. The property is gated (you're given a card for entry upon check-in), and is a beautiful and peaceful respite in the countryside. Oddly enough, although you are staying on a farm, there is no hint of animal odors, which was a pleasant surprise.

THE ROOM: The room that we stayed in (Bagheera) was a beautiful, updated rustic modern room, with all of the amenities. It was large and clean, with one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in (it was, in fact, tough to wake up!). The bathroom was beautiful and modern, and included toiletries such as shampoo, conditioner, soap and a hair dryer. The free wi-fi worked perfectly in the room (but, strangely, not in the breakfast room). The only thing that appeared to be missing was an in-room safe, although we didn't have any issues or didn't think that one would be needed. The air conditioning worked great, which, we found out, was important, since you wouldn't want to open the windows because of all the bugs around (this is a farm, after all).

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was good and basic. It was timed according to your schedule, which was a great personal touch. There was toast with an assortment of jams, pastries, yogurt, fruits and cereals.

TO GET TO MILAN: We did venture into Milan one afternoon, and found the best way to get into the central district was to drive to the Pero Metro stop (about 20 minutes away), and park for free in the residential area. Since it was a Sunday, this was not an issue, but may be during the week when commuters are getting into the city. The subway takes you directly into central Milan in about 20 minutes for a cost of 2 or 3 Euro each way.

Although we really enjoyed our stay here, a couple of things would have made our stay that much better. Since the farm is fairly remote and there is not much to do there, it would be wonderful if there were bicycles available for guests to use during their visit to explore the surrounding area. Also, we found it a little strange that we were surrounded by horses, yet were not able to ride them. If the owners could figure some way to incorporate horseback riding into the amenities, this would have been icing on the cake!

We cannot wait to return to this special place the next time we have the opportunity to be in the area. Thank you, Patricia, for helping to make our stay a good one!

Room Tip: We chose the most economical room, and found it to meet our needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent 2 very nice days when visited Milan last autumn. It is a family run place and the owner was very kind and helpful.
The rooms were clean and nice and all together the place had a very nice atmosphere.
The breakfast was a bit basic and has some room for improvement.
I really recommend this place is your are looking for a peaceful accommodation to stay.

Room Tip: If you need a double room instead of a twin let them know in advance. The beds are convertible into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyzmo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Isabella is truly a great host. She made the most wonderful cake for breakfast and spent time to get to know us. She recommended a local restraunt which we went back to for the three nights we were there. We totally recommend this accommodation. It is close to Milan but far enough away to miss the traffic and noise. If you love horses then this is definately the place to be. There is also good internet coverage which was very valuable for us. Shopping in Milan was also fabulous.
Jacqui & Ken, New Zealand

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelsRest_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arluno
7.0 mi away
Hotel Mulino Grande
Hotel Mulino Grande
#1 of 3 in Cusago
188 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Madonnina
Agriturismo Cascina Madonnina
#1 of 2 in Pregnana Milanese
199 reviews
6.6 mi away
Agriturismo L'Aia
Agriturismo L'Aia
#1 of 1 in Cassinetta di Lugagnano
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Scanna
5.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Forestina
Agriturismo La Forestina
#1 of 2 in Cisliano
34 reviews
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Galizia
Agriturismo La Galizia
#1 of 2 in Cuggiono
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giacomo Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giacomo Horses

Property: San Giacomo Horses
Address: Cascina San Giacomo, 20010 Arluno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > Arluno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arluno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of Milan, 20 minute drive from Malpensa Airport and a stone's throw from the Milan-Rho-Pero Fair Centre.San Giacomo Horses, Farm and B & B welcomes its guests in comfortable apartments with a living room, kitchen and private bathroom, or cozy rooms with private bathroom, as well as satellite TV and high-speed free Wi-Fi. The abundant breakfasts are based on natural products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your San Giacomo Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing