We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the RIU Vallarta from June 19-23 and had the best vacation ever. We enjoyed every minute of it. No complaints!!!

As soon as we got there, we were complimented with a free drink as they got our room ready. We had a jr suite on the 7th floor and were amazed when we opened our balcony door to the sights and sounds of the ocean and hotel grounds. We were on the end by the adult pool and had a beautiful view of everything. The grounds are kept immaculate as there is always someone cleaning anytime of the day. The staff really makes you feel welcome and the bartender you saw the night before might just be the on-site security guard the next day. They just switch jobs I think. All the food was amazing and I definitely recommend the lamb chops at Sir George. No good dessert, but what do you expect, you're in Mexico!!! Overall, an amazing vacation!!!!

Note: People will complain about anything and everything if it's not exactly right. A word of advice for anyone not sure about this resort...........stay here, trust me, you will not regret it. You are on vacation...........lay back with a bahama mama and enjoy yourself!!!!

Have Claudio at the "La Boheme" bar make you a bahama mama.....best drink in Mexico!!! Miami Vice and dirty monkey are also very tasty drinks.

  • Liked — Everything, no compaints!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved everything!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ILOVETHERIUVALLARTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    1,781
    828
    381
    237
See reviews for
1,490
2,284
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Overall this was a beautiful and awesome hotel!! The hotel staff was great and very friendly.....they were constantly cleaning - - everything was spotless!! The pool was beautiful and drinks were great!!! I will say that the food was not great but not bad either - I didn't go there for the food!! Don't listen to the people that say that this isn't a nice place - - they totally do not know what they are talking about -- if they are that picky - stay home!! We had a great time and would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Pool and drinks
  • Disliked — Food - but friends loved it!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DStockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Nuevo Vallarta on the week of the 4th of July.
Our first hotel "Marival Grand Resorts" was a complete disappointment so we had to check out midweek and find a new place to stay.
While searching for our new hotel we found Riu Vallarta. I know the star rating on the top says 3 1/2 stars but this was a 5 star hotel. Just call the hotel.
This hotel was head and shoulders above the Marival hotel; however, the food was better at Marival. Riu Vallarta has only 1 restaurant that does not require reservations. All other restaurants’ require reservations be made between 7 am and 10 am. Sir George is supposed to be their best restaurant but it was not available as it only seats about 50 people and is the first to be fully booked. If you want to eat there get prepared to stand in line for reservations at 6:30 am. This is not fun if you are trying to sleep in and enjoy your vacation.
Also, BEWARE of the locals. July is a BIG holiday time for locals and so they stay at the near by all inclusive hotels with their large families. I do not have anything against the locals in Puerto and Nuevo Vallarta however.... MANY that I encountered bring 5 or 6 children and they yell while walking up and down the hallways. We were woken by locals walking up and down the hallway at 4:30 AM on our last night at the hotel. They were singing and yelling at each other as they made their way to their room.

I do recommend this hotel versus others that we saw. The rooms have A/C. Bar inside the room is full of low quality hard alcohol - Blue Ice Vodka and Red Ice Gin 9I'e never heard of these before). If you like Corona or Modelo then this is the place for you as it is sponsored by these two companies and the bars only serve these 2 beers. The hotel is only 7 months old so the place looks nice and is well kept.

We had a jr. suite (walking off the street we had to go in the hotel where we were told we could only reserve through the 1800 number, so we had to walk to the pay phone down the street to make a call) it was $1075 USD for 3 nights. I think that if you book online you get a better deal. HOWEVER - if you are a local you only need to pay 900 pesos a night which is $90 USD.

Also if you go to the shops in the hotel be prepared.... everything is rounded if you pay in dollars - they do not calculate the exact exchange rate. So instead of 10.80 pesos - for 1 USD they say 10 Pesos for 1 USD. This adds up so beware.

The overall food at Marival was much better than at the RUI Vallarta. The Rui did however have a better lunch buffet than Marival - but dinners were not very good.

Hope this review helps. Next time I will not be returning to Nuevo Vallarta. It was a rip off overall. Let me just mention that if you get sunburned and need to buy aloe vera gel bring it with you or buy it elsewhere... the store in the hotel charges 15 USD for something that is worth 3.50 or 4.50 USD in the states and even in Mexico. Also, beware that the staff in the store (not the Corona Store) is VERY RUDE!

Overall if you are deciding if you should stay at the RUI and are set to go to Puerto Vallarta / Nuevo Vallarta area - out of all the hotels that we saw - The RUI Vallarta was the best.

  • Liked — Jr. Suite has a good view of the ocean
  • Disliked — Hard Beds and Rude staff at the front desk
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed at the Riu Vallarta July 2 - 7th 2007. We choose the Riu Vallarta because we had previously stayed at the Riu in Cancun and LOVED IT! After only being there 12 hours (eating two meal and not even having a drink yet) my husband got extremely sick....vomiting, etc, , you name it...it was brutal. We are not sure what caused it (food, etc) but it was horrible. We ended up seeking help from the hotel doctor, Dr. Mario. He was extremely helpful and gave him antibotics and injections to get better. However, he only takes CASH. Being an all inclusive vacation, we had not taken a ton of cash with us, and the doctor was pricy, so we ended up having money wired through Western Union to us from family members back home. I would highly suggest taking lots of money in cash or travelers check as everything has to be paid up front. There are not ATMs close by, and the Western Union was a $36 dollar round trip cab ride.
Hopefully no one on your trip will get sick, but trust me, you will feel better having the cash available should you need to seek help.
Although the hotel was clean and beautiful with a nice staff, it was far away from things to do. In Cancun, you could walk a short distance and be at a flea market and a nice enclosed mall, but in PV, there was nothing to walk to.
We lost a majority of the trip to my husband being sick as he did not recover fully for at least three days -- so we didn't venture off the hotel property except to go pick up the money at Western Union so I can't comment on the shopping or excursions.
Lots of kids at the hotel as well - which we didn't find to be true in Cancun.
Lastly - we have used Funjet vacations twice to travel to Mexico and had good experiences each time. They are knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We had no problems with transportation to and from the airport and the representatives from Funjet were available in our hotel every day.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KSUtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairwaykb
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

After a poor start with an incorrect room allocation and a 2 hour wait - paid for a master suite and given a standard room - the holiday improved greatly! The hards beds and noise that other people have reported were not experienced at all by us! Our master suite lived up to expectations, with a huge bed, sofas, dressing room and bathroom with jaquzzi! We ate at all restaraunts, although having to get up at 7am to book was a bit of a pain! Main buffet restaraunt serves fantastic breakfast every morning and dinner which can get a bit repetitive after 2 weeks! Sir George is utterly fantastic, i dont know how other people can complain! We ate here twice! Also ate at Nirvana which was my least favourite and the steak house which was a lovely change on the beach! The pool is a little small and full of rowdy americans! The signs all say no floations but there are groups of teens lounging around on them right in the middle of the pool taking up so much space! The beach is lovely with lots of watersports avaiable! The ocean isnt very clear and blue but it is due to the volcanic sand! We did 3 of the vallarta adventures programmes, the dolphin trainer for a day which was fantatstic and well worth the money! We also did the city tour and the sierra madre expedition which i would also recommend to anyone!
All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend the hotel to people who do not critisice every little thing but who want a lovely resort with decent food, good facilities and brilliant staff! Feel free to contact me if you want any further advice! thanks.

  • Liked — The master suite we had!
  • Disliked — rowdy crowds of american teens in the pool
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fairwaykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Having read the reviews before we went to Riu Vallarta we decided to be open minded and see for ourselves.
After an 11 hour flight from the UK we were hoping on at least a decent hotel and upon seeing the Vallarta had our fears put to rest immediately.
Excellent reception area complimented by very efficient staff .
Shown to our room which was more than adequate for our fortnights stay.
Restaurants with plenty of choice,although very same.ish after a few days,and really helpful staff.
Barstaff couldnt do enough for you.
Pool area and beach setting way above average.
So would easily recommend this hotel to future travellers without hesitation.

One `must do` for anyone planning an excursion.....do the Guadalajara overnighter with Arthurs Tours.....amazing value for money and the guide,Freddy,is a diamond.

Overall would not think twice about going back here again.

No bad bed experiences.
No bad stomach experiences.
No bad noise experiences.
No rude staff experiences.

Only criticism was the lack of adult entertainment on the complex,although this didnt spoil our stay too much.

Hopefully this review will sway it for those people pondering a visit....you wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendliness of all staff and locals.
  • Disliked — Lack of adult entertainment.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mowythered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Vallarta from 19th June to 4 July.

Whilst we did enjoy our holiday and found the hotel to more than meet our needs there were a few little issues...

High's
Hotel is generally very clean and well kept
Food is of an excellent standard throughout even in the Buffet
Drinks are excellent and forthcoming - including International brands.
Mini Bar in the room was restocked on a regular basis
Rooms - Large and comfortable
Beach and Ocean

Low's
Swimming pool - Adults pool is very small and does become overcrowded.
Very loud drunk people in the adult pool.
Teenagers getting drunk and having to be taken to their rooms by the hotel staff in wheelchairs..... This also includes vomitting at the side of the pool.
Children everywhere! Including in the Adult Pool.
Rude Individuals being very abrasive with the bar staff - please and thank you go along way and are basic manners.

The hotel is great and the management can't be held responsible for the actions of it's guests however it would have much improved our stay if the hotel would limit the later sittings in the A'la Carte restaurants to adults only - we got up very early in order to make a reservation in the Sir George for 9pm and when we arrived in the restaurant I was disappointed to find that over 30% of the individuals in there were under the age of 10.

It would be lovely if the hotel could offer some segrigation for those wishing to enjoy their evening meals without babies and children screaming throughout.

I would suggest that the hotel is fantastic for families - children's entertainment all day with something going on all the time. If you are looking for a romantic adult getaway this really isn't the place to go.....

One recommendation - Go to a restaurant in Bucerias, I can't remember the name but I think that it's Christophs it is right on the beach near to the village square and it has a thatched roof - excellent Lobster and Shrimps.

  • Liked — The Food and Beverages - Also the Beach and Ocean
  • Disliked — Lots of Children running around!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Equifever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
7.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,757 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing