We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,924)
Filter reviews
5,924 results
Traveler rating
2,106
2,086
1,002
436
294
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,106
2,086
1,002
436
294
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir georgesports baradult pooldon rafaelflamingo restaurantplaza bargourmet restaurantjunior suitethomson repsasian buffetmattress toppergreat holidaymain buffetevery other dayfamily poolpalm treesentertainment team
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 5,924 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted in reception with tequila and soft drinks, quickly checked in and the bags brought to the room, we were on the 8th floor with a fantastic view of the ocean, the main walkway through the hotel grounds and views over the fountains and pools, the room was a good size with firm beds, we asked for mattress toppers and they arrived and were fitted whilst we were by the pool, the mini bar was stocked daily with beers and soft drinks, we also had a selection of spirits in an optics cabinet.
The food was plentiful and readily available all day, we had no complaints and enjoyed the tasty variety, the staff are all helpful and jolly with exception of one of the bar staff in the swim up pool, I heard several people complain about him and we also experienced his arrogant and rude manner, but he was the exception to the rule, all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our trip, the rooms and hotel was very clean the staff very helpful and the food and service excellent, as a side note there are several restaurants on site, all excellent and only one where trousers and shirt are expected.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
6  Thank sim0n387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful and the wait staff was amazing. It’s a little ways from the airport, but totally worth the cab ride. It has been my favorite vacation so far! Most definitely take the Vallarta Adventures trip to Las Caletas, we went for the day, the food was delicious, and the beach and jungle were beautiful. I imagine the Rhythm of the Nights tour would be amazing as well.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
6  Thank F8130HFvanessab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

This is a long overdue review of our spring break vacation. Having visited Cancun and other Caribbean islands before, we picked Vallarta as our spring break location this year to experience the Mexico history and culture. Riu Vallarta had decent reviews and photos of hotel look good, so it becomes our hotel choice.

Here are the pros of the hotel:
.All the workers seem to be pleasant and welcoming
.The ground and pool is clean all day long. The pool does have the issue of people putting towels on chair before sunrise and get crowded in the afternoon
.The food at the main buffet is decent. I also like to eat buffet lunch at Flamingo next to beach. We tried the restaurants, but the quality of food is not better than the buffet and lacks variety. This seems to be a common issue with most of the all inclusive resorts we stayed.
.The lobby has nice Mexican decoration

The main issue I experienced is related to the room. It definitely needs remodelling soon. Bed mattress is hard. We are at 7th floor and sometimes the shower and toilet do not have enough water pressure. Our room safe has a few buttons not working. There is no fan in the bathroom and room moisture is high most of time. The room still use traditional metal key, which is very rare in such resort. At check in, I was given only one key for the entire family of four. I was told I will be given another key if I come back half an hour later, however there is no key every time I ask front desk. After trying at least four times, I gave up.

We took two boat/show tours with Vallarta Adventures, expensive but fun. The only thing I don’t like in Vallarta is the only place that tourists have to go to the tour sites by taxi themselves after paying the high fees. Also took a local tour booked from beach vendors for downtown, tequila farm and waterfall, which give us the opportunity to visit the inland area.

All in all, Vallarta is a nice area with friendly people and historic old town. If we come back later, we might pick another resort unless Riu remodel the hotel rooms

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
9  Thank Xu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Xu,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Firstly, it is important to underline that at RIU, we work hard to satisfy the needs of our guests; making our customers happy and comfortable in our hotels is our mission. Please be assured that we never stop renovating our hotels so we can offer you the most up-to-date facilities and that your impressions will be shared with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

To end on a positive note, as a service-oriented hotel chain which is proud of its highly trained employees, we deeply appreciate your kind words about our staff and many thanks for especially highlighting the décor of our lobby.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

After reading some negative reviews before we came we were a little apprehensive, however as soon as we arrived we realised that we had no reason to be apprehensive.

We swiftly cleared immigration at the airport before getting in our private transfer. We arrived at the hotel at about 2pm and were checked in quickly and efficiently by the friendly hotel staff. Our room was ready for us on arrival and so we went up with our bags quickly following on behind.

We had a junior suite on the sixth floor, overlooking the childrens’ pool and the sea. The room was very spacious and thoroughly cleaned every day. The mini bar was also topped up regularly. The air conditioning was amazing and probably the most effective that we have ever encountered. I know some people have mentioned that you are given a key and not a card. This isn’t a problem, it’s just a normal sized key, and you have the added advantage of being able to leave the air conditioning on when you’re not in your room.

The wifi worked well -I’m currently sat on the beach writing this review using the hotel’s Wifi.

All of the staff go above and beyond to ensure that their guests are happy. We requested extra pillows and a mattress topper and these were quickly delivered to our room. The front desk then phoned to ensure that we had received them and to check that everything was okay.

All of the staff work so hard. The cleaners are constantly cleaning; the groundsmen and gardeners are constantly keeping the grounds immaculate and the waiting staff and bar staff work tirelessly to keep guests happy. The bar staff frequently go around the pool and beach to ask if you want drinks.

Part way into our stay, we found something of value in the safe, that a previous guest had left behind, so we gave this to guest relations. Hopefully the guest will be reunited with their lost property soon as the hotel were going to contact them. As a thank you,the hotel sent up a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate dipped strawberries. There was no need but it was greatly appreciated.

The food and drinks were plentiful and varied -something for everyone. I was pleased to see that they are working on reducing plastic by not giving straws with drinks. It would be great if they could replace the plastic coffee stirs with wooden ones though.

The TUI reps: Kia, Carrick and Jayde are friendly and knowledgable. If you want to go and explore on your own they will tell you where to get a taxi to and how much it will cost. I also like how they have a swap box that you can look on if you have forgotten anything.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
14  Thank Beckyq1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Pros -
Excellent food
Great weather
Very warm sea
Lots of wildlife
Good entertainment
Nice rooms
Nice staff
Can use neighbour hotel

Cons -
Pools too warm and crowded
Noisy on a night if rooms face inwards
Cloudy sea
Small hotel grounds
Limited animation activities

Overall not too shabby

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
8  Thank Ethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Ethan,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your candid comment placed online via TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit.

While we are very pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our gastronomic offers, entertainment, our customer service and rooms, we are deeply saddened to hear that other aspects of your holiday fell below your expectations but please be assured, that your valued feedback will serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain and improve the standards that you have experienced during your recent stay at our hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at one of our worldwide RIU hotels in the near future with the aim of delivering the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews