We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here July 2-9 2014 with my two teen girls and 9 year old son. As mentioned many times before this hotel is cleaned 24/7. The food at the buffets was beyond our expectations. From all the fresh juices in the morning to the chocolate fondue and marshmallows at the end of the day.
Plenty of entertainment and games around the pool. I thought it was a good sign the hotel manager was to be seen around the lobby in the evenings...accessible management means someone cares. Cappachinos in the sports bar when I woke at 6:00 am or earlier. Jumping waves in the ocean on a safe feeling beach was great. Cruised though the next door Riu once but felt we made the right choice. I asked for extra pillows and we were given 8 more, so lounging around in the hottest part of the day was no propblem on the firm beds. I do wish there had been a better play area/activitiesfor my 9 year old. The kids club is geared to the wee ones. The target shooting for 12 and older....other than that I would highly recommend this hotel to families. It's grand, without beefing snooty.

Room Tip: We were given a room with a beautiful view of the Sierra Madre mountains. Quiet at night. Apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    1,481
    677
    341
    210
See reviews for
1,208
1,880
59
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We travelled to the Riu Vallarta for two weeks from the 3rd July 2014, from Manchester Airport.

We got a really good deal, and because of this we didn't expect total luxury. Whilst I would never describe the Riu Vallarta as 5* standard, we felt that we received a great service from the staff and we were consistently impressed by the quality and range of food and drinks.

The cocktail menu is extensive, and they have almost any spirit you could possibly ask for. Some evenings there is a cocktail stand in the main foyer where the 'cocktail of the day' is prepared for any passing guests. They also have a nightclub open until 2am which is great fun and actually pretty good for a hotel nightspot (which in my experience are usually poorly-attended makeshift dancefloors that finish early).

The food is great quality - a real highlight of the hotel. The buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of foods and we were never disappointed by the quality. The A La Carte restaurants are aright if you want a change of scenery (and some table service) but the food is not really any better and the choice is very limited.

The birds are really not a problem at all, we saw one or two over the course of two weeks and they didn't really cause any trouble. Previous reviews place far, far too much emphasis on this.

Bar staff are usually very helpful and attentive (with a few exceptions) and they come round by the pool and the beach to offer you drinks which they will deliver shortly after. You get great service regardless but it is helpful to tip just a little to recognise their hard work.

The hotel is a little dated, especially the rooms, and could benefit from some modernisation. Having said that, the grounds are very well maintained and all communal areas are exceptionally clean. The bedrooms are cleaned well but the bathrooms could do with being replaced as they are quite old and don't feel very fresh.

The area is charming, and the beach is lovely but the hotel is a little too far away from the main town of Puerto Vallarta. We went out there on two occasions to nightclubs with the entertainment staff (who are great) and you should know that it's a fairly long taxi (but still relatively cheap) journey there and back. You couldn't just stroll into a little town as the nearest village is about an hours walk away along the beach and there isn't much to do there.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for its great food and good service, but if you're looking for something really, really fancy look elsewhere. It's a good option if you're looking for a bit of a bargain but still want to feel spoiled and enjoy the sun in a traditionally Mexican culture.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5038 - junior suite with sea view. I would recommend this (the higher the floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Derek_Couper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed a week in January and did not regret any minute that chose a RIU Vallarta.
Amazing food - the best buffet ever seen. Quality, presentation, taste.....
Entertainment team - no doubt one of the best we saw so far.
Staff - very attentive, helpful, responsive.
Beach - clean, long, easy to walk miles and miles.
Drinks and bars - you have to find a YOUR BARTENDER. Than no worries about "watering" and "international drinks".
We liked every minute we stayed there.
Next trip to Mexico - another RIU definitely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VATAR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean, excellent facilities, very good food, friendly and efficient staff, wonderful pool area, and private beach. Good entertainment crew, but the hotel is big enough if you don't want to take part.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were good, ours was at the side which meant a partial sea view, but it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallyanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife, two children (11 and 10 years old) and I stayed at RIU Vallarta July 12-17. This was our second stay at a RIU property, but our first at this resort. The property is meticulously maintained. The staff is extremely hard-working and friendly. The food is plentiful, with many options. Although we enjoyed the Asian, French and Steak House specialty restaurants, Mexican food night at the buffet was our favorite. The entertainment staff is fantastic. We enjoyed the Michael Jackson and Grease shows. We also enjoyed the addition of specialty drinks in the lobby each evening, including Spanish coffee and a variety of infused tequilas; including mango, cherry, guava, mint, orange, etc. Arguably, an additional bar tender could be added at each bar, however, the bartenders do a great job to accommodate everyone. I recommend RIU Vallarta to families, couples, or anyone looking for a solid all inclusive in the Nuevo Vallarta area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice vacation. Stayed with friends and had a really great time. The staff was very friendly except for one of the managers (Fernando) who was horrible. Aside from that we couldn't have asked for more. The locals at the hotel were very fun. And being able to go to the Riu Jalisco, which is next door made the party so much better. Usually forgetting stuff on beach or bar in Mexico is as good as gone, but after losing my cellphone I came to ask the front desk and they actually had it, which was surprising. The food was unparalleled by any vacation that I have been on. Only downside is the included water sports, they try to get $10 from you in order to take anything out in the water (a lesson before they let you take it out). Definitely recommend hotel to anyone. If looking for a party Riu Jalisco is he place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike_naks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Riu Vallarta from june 28- july13 and had a great 2 weeks. As already stated by other reviews the check in was quick and easy with our luggage being taken to the room. The hotel is decorated in an art deco style and is exceptionally clean.The food was good with plenty of choice for anyone. There are several bars to choose from, to sample the tequila or cocktails. The lobby bar great, shout out to Victor,Roy and Carlos( baby shrek) as they called him, as they were really funny and efficient.We mainly stayed on the beach during the day as the pool was really busy and noisy. We went on two excursions, rhythm of the nights and bronze dolphin, be aware that if you have any walking problems the rhythm of the nights has a small uphill walk to the venue once you get off the boat although it is worth it as the show is really good but the meal afterwards was not great. The dolphin trip was really good as it was something my girlfriend had always wanted to do, she can't swim which was o.k as the water only comes up to chest level, bring some extra money with you as they sell photos etc at the end ( not cheap).Take a taxi to puerto vallarta old town for restaurants, bars and a huge flea market for souvenirs. I have to say we found the American guests very rude to the staff, no please , no thankyou, manners do not cost anything. Overall we had a really good time and will return.

Room Tip: Bring your own travel kettle if you like a cuppa, only coffee machine supplied
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#7 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing