We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed her for six nights. The accommodations were decent. However, the beds were a little too hard....like concrete. The food was better than average! We have stayed at many all inclusive results in Mexico and this is one of the better places. The food choices were abundant. The daily activities were good and the night shows were great. Our boys loved the evening shows.

Finally, the staff were great. The service was good and we did not have to wait long for our drink orders.

Overall, this is a place we will consider staying when we return to PV.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    1,800
    840
    385
    244
See reviews for
1,510
2,308
76
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at this fantastic resort from 10th may-24th may. After reading some of the reviews previously left, I was a bit skeptical on what to expect, however it was the most amazing stay ever.
From when you leave the airport, transport is waiting for you outside with a greet from one of thomsons rep. Only 15-20 min transfer to hotel, easy check in to the beautiful resort.
It was my first stay in mexico, and everything exceeded the expectations. We stayed on the 6th floor, with great view. 4 restaurants on the resorts gives people plenty of choices, the staff are amazing, (and cannot do enough for you), the variety of activities held daily by the entertainment team thoroughly keeps you entertained all day, everyday. The hotel has a show daily at 9pm which varies on different themes, and they engage and involve the guests which make it so entertaining.
It is located about half an hour from downtown where i would recommend a visit, lots of shops and beautiful scenery. Also, very good night life there.

The only downside I would probably address is the soft drinks they serve at the bar and at the restuarants are very watered down, however.. there is a mini bar in the rooms which the bottled drinks (fizzy drinks and waters) are refilled every two days.

If coming to this resort I would recommend doing some of the excursions:
- swimming with the dolphins
- vallarta adventures; zip lining
- visit the yelapa beach
-jetskiing! (can do this on the beach of the hotel)

I cant emphasize how amazing this place is! And how much of a great holiday I had here, and will definately be returning back. I would greatly recommend if in doubt of staying here, just do it and dont get put off by some of the reviews!

Lastly special thanks to some of the staff that helped made my vacation more enjoyable: Alberto, Julian, Javier, Chucko, Alan (& the rest of the entertainment team) who works so hard and are so amazing at their jobs, also special thanks to Valentina - thomson rep, who was always around to give good advice on places to visit and things to do!

From Kristina - UK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kristina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days (May 16 2014)and would highly recommend this resort
Hotel property is smaller than some resorts which is a good thing - more chance of meeting new people and less walking if that bothers you. Grounds are kept beautifully, and look great. Food in the buffet provided was very good with a very good selection. We usually left wishing we had room to try something else but were just too full. Rooms are clean and modern. We did ask to be moved from an outside room facing the storage and parking to a 'courtside' room which they were able to do the very next day. Courside rooms allow you to sit on the balcony and see the ocean and the resort. A trip into Puerto Vallarta is approx $20 each way but is well worth it to have a nice late lunch early dinner on the beach or walk through the market.
Staff at the resort were very busy as the resort was full. The only complaint i heard was some people didn't like having to wait for a table in the buffet - but the resort was full and the wait was only until you caught the eye of the waiter and asked for a clean table. We spent the end of each evening (around 11:00pm) in lounge chairs on the beach watching the skies and listening to the waves roll in. The disco was small but well attended which made it more lively and fun. This is a great resort for any age group - my wife and I are 50+ but there were lots of twenty somethings having a great time.

Room Tip: Select an inside room facing the courtyard. They are less expensive that the ocean view yet still p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HamiltonONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
looe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Everything was excellent, staff, hotel,position, weather, service all excellent. I will quote one service which I received at this Riu which I have never had before and I have travelled to various countries and worked abroad before. I had prickly heat before I arrived at the Hotel and went to reception to find out where i could get some help , chemist? The reception looked up the remedy for prickly heat for me on Google and found a mexican equivalent remedy. Then they phoned the Chemist for me and arranged delivery of the ointment to the reception and I picked it up minutes later. What a service? Where else in the world would you get this service free and the ointment was even cheaper in Mexico than home in the UK. Thank you julian at reception for that service, we will be back .

Room Tip: Higher rooms as lifts are very good are better for sun and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful trip to Mexico. We stayed at the Riu Vallarta in early May. The hotel itself is so beautiful! The lobby and the grounds are exceptionally beautiful! The check in and out was a complete breeze. We entered our jr suite room and loved it right away, the views are incredible! The pool was really nice as was playing in the waves in the ocean. The food choices were very good as well. Will definitely return again next year! We can hardly wait!!!

Room Tip: I would choose a jr suite on one of the higher floors, the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 103Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Mexico and chose the RIU Vallarta on the grounds of Value for Money First choice were doing an AI special deal because this is the first time that Thomsons had flights that could reach the destination on a none stop basis, also the flights were on the New Dreamliner from Machester or Gatwick which was another attraction.

Hotel:- a Typical top Class RIU Hotel (4Star+) and if you have been to a RIU before then you will know what I mean. The Hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas.

Rooms:- were large and well equipped Air conditioned + Ceiling Fan with a full blown bar that was kept stocked every two days which was part of the AI. They had Optics-Brandy,Tequilla,Vodka,Gin and a fridge full of Mixers Cokes,Sprite,Soda Water,Tonics,Canada dry, Beers & Bottled Water. Beds were King Size Double and also had a Queen size single and totally adequate if 3 adults were sharing as we were. Maid service cleaned and changed towels daily and Sheets every two days and they made the obligatory animal out of towels to greet you every day. Views were extensive from the balcony because the Hotel is in a shape of a U and if you were even numbered then you can see the main concourse and entertainment area plus looking to the right the Pools & the sea as well.

Food & AI- This was an excellent AI venue and as I said before the room bar is one of the best I have had that was truly all inclusive (lot of other places had hidden charges) The main Restaurant is Buffet service for Breakfast lunch and Dinner . So nice to be able to get Breakfast at 10:30 in the morning rather than having to get up early to ensure that you could get it. The variety of food was plentiful and never really got to a point of Boredom Mind you we did use the Al-Acarte 3 Times, the Steakhouse 3 Times and the asian Restaurant once over the fortnight. Take my advice upon arrival before the reps meeting go to the service desk and book into the AL_Acarte table service it is tremendous and we managed to go through the whole menu whilst we were there (Fillet steak was a Dream). The steakhouse is also good and was table service (racks of Ribs,T-Bone steaks etc) and also your are not restricted to how many times you can use them. The asian is buffet style with Japanese,Thai & Chinese.

24 hours Inclusive is available and you need to go into Sports Bar if you want food after 11:00pm

Pools:- There are two main Pools one is totally Exclusive to the adults only and the Other was for families with Children which we really appreciated as we have done our time with children if you know what i mean!

Pool Towels are provided and can be changed daily at the pool side if you wish, The pools were spotlessly cleaned every morning. the Temperature of the Pools were amazing its the first time that I have walked into a pool and found them to be like a bath. The Adult pool has a Swim up Bar which was realy welcome as it was so hot we spent a lot of time in there drinks were plentiful and served appropriatly in Plastic - (TIP) take your own drinking Vessell like the Canadians / American do it saves a lot of time queuing for drinks. The Family Pool had Slides and everything for the children but was also adequate for the Parents to swim as well the drinks for this pool could be got from the Flamingo Restaurant which is virtually touching the Pool area.

The Waiters also come around the Beds taking orders which is brilliant but I will tell you this TIP the Waiter with 50 pesos (£2.50) and he will keep you topped up all day long, I gave one of the young men 100 pesos (£5.00) and he looked after me all holiday.

No need to rush for Beds and Brollies as there are adequate supplies everywhere around the Pools

Beach:- Good beach that is attached to the Hotel who provide well over 200 beds in amongst the Palm trees FOC you only pay for the Umbrellas from the Local trader stall if you wish but you will find that the Palm trees provide a satisfactory shade , (Warning) be aware of the breeze you get down there it hides the effect of the sun! the amount of people i saw coming up from the Beach looking like lobsters in a pot was amazing. The beach stretches along the entire Bay and is brilliant for walking along

ENTERTAINMENT:- The entertainment team worked tirelessly whilst we were there and the Daytime Entertainment around the Pool was super such was it that even I joined in and thats saying something. The evening entertainment in the Theatre was very good also plus after they finished there was a resident band which played out until 11:00pm

The Staff:- they were exceptional and treated everyone with respect and were so pleasant & cheerful it was wonderful - I now love the Mexican people.

WOULD WE GO BACK? Yes without a doubt!

TIP- Tip the Waiters & Waitresses when ever you can as they are so grateful and they look after you all holiday (i mean they really do look after you as well) I spent £25 on tips in the fortnight and was really well looked after.

TIP - if you are travelling on the Dreamliner don't buy extra space seating its a con as all of the seats excluding premium have excellent leg room and i am a pretty big fella and was comfortable.

TIP - Check when the Mexican Bank Holidays are and try and avoid clashing with them because they come to this Hotel in their droves over that weekend.

Room Tip: we were on the Sixth Floor Room 6022 - make sure you get Room on the 5,6,7 with Even Numbers invaria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank preaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After reading a lot of the reviews went to the riu with a bit of apprehension but as soon as we walked in the welcome and the entrance and foyer area are wonderful. Check in was quick and easy and staff were excellent we received a phone call in our room after 30 minutes asking us if everything was ok.(great service).
The food was excellent and the staff are what makes the holiday always helpful relaxed pleasant and approachable.
The rooms are clean and one suggestion leave the A/C on all day fantastic to come back from the beach/pool area to a cool room.
One of the problems we had was exchanging currency into local pestos as there is no exchange within the hotel therefore trips into town centre had to be made.
Taxis is good value but be aware any bigger parties over 4 you need a larger taxi and they change double the normal price.
Will return here as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors for beautiful views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilyisleofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
7.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,810 reviews
12.3 mi away
No photo provided
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing