We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Riu Vallarta was a very nice place, staff always cleaning. The grounds were so beautiful. Our room always cleaned when we came back in the afternoon. We spent a lot of time on the beach, beautiful scenery. Toni our bartender was awesome, we never went without a drink..plenty of drinks. Not only was Toni punctual with drinks he was very friendly and funny, we had a blast with him, thanks Toni. The nightly entertainment was always good,Jorje our bartender at the Plaza bar was great, he made amazing shots and the cutest smile, thanks Jorje. We had a great time. The overall experience was very good. Thanks to all of the staff for great service. Gary and Karen Willms Peoria, Ill

Room Tip: Junior suites.. nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,072 - 3,078 of 5,335 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent a wek at the Riu Vallarta and was thrilled with the resort. Great food, views, amenities and service. Beach, pool area and dining facilities were all meticulously clean and neat. Upgraded to a junior suite and requested (and got) a room on an upper floor on the end of the legs of the U-shaped resort. This meant a full panaoramic ocean view and was far enough away from the noise of the nightly entertainment that took place in the couryard. Booked through Sunwing and they took very good care of us. Second stay at a Riu and will definitely stay at Riu properties in the future. Only one complaint and that is universal (in my experience) of all Mexico: Hard beds!

Room Tip: Ask for end of tip of the U-shape...junior suite, offers full panoramic ocean view and is quiet. Ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I changed to this resort at last minute because the original one booked was totally non-smoking. Its a nice resort but beginning to show a little wear and tear. I'm sure it's due too the volume of people going through weekly. Service was great, specialty restaurants were great. Buffet was good but food spicey! Edgar was the bomb at the swim-up bar! Always makes the best drinks! Thus resort has a show every night. Couple of the nights were ok but the Michael Jackson tribute was awesome! The beds were very hard! Had to ask for foam pad. Thats one reason for average. Peddlers on beach were relentless! But the markets in the towns were worse. Ruined trip to Buchries. You cant look due to the fact they are in your face the entire time. So I didnt get my plates! The activities group was fantastic! All the crazy Canadians were a blast! Gets busy on weekend because more locals vacation. Overall enjoyed stay the couple things that were bad just a few. See the whales they r fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank black26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The beach goes on forever which we all preferred compared to hotels we stayed at downtown Porto Vallarta. The rooms are great and everything maintained top notch. The staff were always friendly and helpful. There is a grocery store nearby but not much other shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Sunwing/Signature provided excellent transportation to/from resort easiest check in ever! Room was top floor facing the courtyard/ocean. Awesome views, room nice & airy with coffee maker & fridge that was constantly stocked. While the views were amazing the noise at night not so much..
Our first night was horrible due to noisy drunk guest in the courtyard at 3AM, this thankfully did not happen each night, but safe to say bring earplugs to block out the night time noise. We had a Jr. suite which is nice a large with a great balcony and the beds were fine, we had toppers on our mattresses and had great sleeps :) The fan looked like it could fall off, so we never used it, and the a/c worked fine.
The food overall was good, the only real drawback was lunch...however they have plenty of fresh salads and fruits, but the hotdogs and hamburgers get a little stale after awhile. The night time buffet was good plenty of options, they always have a carving station with fresh meat that changed nightly...pork, roast beef, roasted chicken etc. very good! While all the food stations had ready made options for quick picking you could also order fresh to ensure hot and fresh food! Same with the breakfast options, you can always ask for made to order options which the cooks do with a smile.
We tried all 3 al carte dining options which again were nice. The Gourmet offers a nice selection in a small relaxing space. I think we all know that Mexico is not renowned for their beef, so don't be overly disappointed when a thin piece of meat is served, again options like the pork ribs for the Steak House would be an excellent recommendation! Nirvana the Asian restaurant is buffet style so you can really choose what you want and do try the Fried Ice Cream!
Overall service from the staff was EXCELLENT! The animation staff work tirelessly from sun up to well after sun down! The bar staff again work incredible hard, I found the drink options varied and the strength strong! Some tourist think that because it is an All Inclusive they have to drink their quota each and everyday....just a tip, you don't and it is annoying to others when you do...moderation folks.
The beach and pool areas are well maintained and have good bar service as well.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend the Riu Vallarta! :)

Room Tip: Courtyard views offer the most amazing views, but will be noisy, bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seasonedtraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We took our two daughters (in their 20's) for the week of Christmas 2014! The hotel was great! The staff work so hard to keep you happy and entertained! The housekeepers did a great job in our rooms. Walking down the beach, relaxing at the resort and going on a few outings into town or zip lining kept us busy! The daily entertainment was great! We felt safe in and around the resort. It is a bit of a drive to go into Puerto Vallarta but we took a cab one day and a bus another. We are considering going back yearly! Massages at the spa were excellent! The food was so good! Especially Christmas Eve! We did not eat at Riu Jalisco because we were happy with the food where we were! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have some view of the ocean and because the rooms are down the hall from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were just here the first week in January and had a wonderful time. The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to make sure the customers have a good time. Our room (partial ocean view) was always spotlessly clean and the mini fridge was restocked.
The buffett was good-they always had a special meal and then the rest was pretty much the same everyday. There are 3 reservation restaurants and we went to 2 of them. The Asian buffett was wonderful! It is pretty small so the service was quick and the food was refilled quickly. We also went to the steakhouse which is much bigger. Again the food was good but it's really big so the service was slower-it took almost 90 minutes to get our main course. The only thing I didn't like was that the breakfast buffett didn't open until 7 and we had to leave earlier than that for some excursions-the only food available then was at the 24 snack bar and it was not the greatest.
There are plenty of lounge chairs. It was amusing to watch people go out before dawn to stake out "their" chairs when there were always chairs available throughout the day. It's also nice that the kids pool is separate from the adults pool.
On the Riu's website they advertise that you can use the amentities at their other two resorts and their map makes it look like they are right next door-that is not the case, it is quite a walk.
Overall, I loved this place and would go back anytime.

Room Tip: If at all possible, get an outside room, either facing the ocean or the mountains. The inside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mn_usa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#19 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $163 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing