We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a 3.5 star,,pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey B.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For a 3.5 star,,pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back from Riu. Stayed from Dec 13-27. Booked an ocean view junior suite. Probably one of the nicest 31/2 star resorts I have stayed in. The food in buffet was decent. The Christmas
Eve dinner in the buffet was over the top. Lots of seafood, crab, jumbo shrimp, scallops, salmon plus Roasted piglet and turkey. Hector Ramer the chef gets a 5 star for his efforts. There were a few areas that improvement could be done,ie the Japanese restaurant I would say, don't waste your time going to. So that only leaves 2 other specialty restaurants which were pretty good. The beaches are beautiful and the entertainment at the shows were above average. The drinks were weak but I think that is common for Mexico all inclusives. Lots of kids there. 60% Canadians, 40% Mexican and 10% Americans Remember it is not a 5 star but you get a good deal for your money.
brian

Room Tip: Book a junior ocean view suite. It is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coopsloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,694
    781
    369
    228
See reviews for
1,404
2,170
73
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have previously been to this hotel twice once in Nov 2010 and again in April 2012. On both previous visits the hotel was not full and you could really tell, Food quality as well as cleanliness and service suffered, had to ask daily for 4 days for some maintenance issues in our room dealt with, waited in line for food everyday, ran out of staples like Maple Syrup, Ketchup, Bacon never saw them wipe a table if not for outstanding waiters like Ramon there would be serious food wars. Front line staff maids bartenders and waiters were awesome but poor management, specifically Salvador, he needs better customer service skills when we had to deal with a misplaced child and delayed flights. Iris our Sunwing Tour Representative was Useless out righted lied to us and then claimed a language misunderstanding.
Not worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Vallarta in 2012, three couples and myself. I had a single room with a partial ocean view. This is a lovely hotel with lots of great places to sit and visit indoors. The hotel is right on the beach and it is a very easy walk to the beach past the two pools. Lots of activity going on at the adult pool. There is lots of activities and the staff were great. I was a little concerned about staying alone but I had no problems. The food is great at the buffet and all of the a la cartes were excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sask_SunseekerRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is our 3rd time here and I cant say enough about this resort. The service was fantastic as usual.

Pedro(aka Stud muffin) at the swimout bar is as entertaining as usual. Choko with the entertainment team is a credit to this resorts service .Always remembering names as well as entertaining.
The food this was better than the last 2 times we were here.
Steak house was the best resturant this time around but the asian resturant is also a good pic.

Only complaint I can make is the morning coffee was not always hot .
Staying on the 9th floor is the best as you dont have any noise above you .

check out Bucerious just up the road . Short 8 dollar cab ride .

Yo Yo Mos sports bar there has the best pizza ever and check out FatBoys on the beach and say Hi to Dave who will seranade you with his guitar playing and singing.

At the end of ther day we will be returning to this resort again in the future

Room Tip: Request the 9th floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for two weeks and had a great time. Our rooms were on the ninth floor - overlooking the entertainment area and looking over the ocean. The rooms were nice and clean and well maintained. The entertainment staff were excellent! The staff all around the pool area were really good, the lifeguard made sure children were directed to the family pool, the waiters were great at bringing us drinks. When we did occasionally get up to the bar the bartenders were always very friendly. We went to each alaCarte three times and enjoyed each time. The food was always good and the staff very friendly. The buffets were good, a few times we had to wait a couple of minutes for replenishment - but it was because they were really busy and would get what you wanted as soon as they could. My only issue was a few times the tables in the main buffet weren't very clean - even though they had already been cleaned. Overall it was a great vacation - we were there earlier this year in March & we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is not the choice of hotel or area that we would normaly pick ourselves, but, we were traveling over Christmas with a couple of families and it was their choice. Upon check-in, our room and first dinner, I was very impressed, with everything, ~ staff, clean, great food, huge room, .... Christmas dinner (Dec. 24th) was AMAZING! .... But, by the 25th, because they were running short staff for the holidays, things started to go down hill (fast), in the cleanliness area ~ in the buffet and the pool especially.
My biggest gripe is that our flight wasn't leaving until 9 pm, and check out is 11 am ~ it was pouring rain, and the lobby was packed full of others waiting all day for their flights, and no where to go. ... we decided to sit in out room (all packed up, and ready to go) and watch TV, with the door open, until the maid needed to clean our room.... we didn't want to not give the maid time to clean the room for the next guest.... about 3 pm the Maid came in to clean, so we left and went to the lobby to hand in our keys. The check out person started to act all 'sketchy' and called over another staff, ... and another ....and another ... then, when we asked if there was a problem, they said we had to pay $70 US for 'a late check-out'. The staff WOULD NOT budge on this, and were actually quite Rude and intimidating about the situation. ~ I don't think that it was fair, as the room wasn't being held up by us at all! AND, when we checked in, 4 out of 5 of our rooms were not ready for Hours after the "3:00 Check-in", none of the people waiting were offered any $ or otherwise for their wait, so what does this $70 fund?? When I said that I wasn't very happy, the response was "I don't care ~ its our policy!" Really??? For this reason, and this reason alone, I will NEVER stay in this hotel, or any of the other Riu hotels, again. .... Not that they care .... It's Their policy!

Room Tip: ~ make sure you have done a 'complete' check-out and have the signed receipt from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyToTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

2 week stay Dec.9 to Dec.23. This was our 7th stay to the Riu Vallarta in 5 years time.
Reasons why we love it here, Not too big.,not too small,built close to the water, so very good views. Fantastic staff,GREAT Management,they all make you feel like "Family" when you return.
PROS: Too many to mention..Great Food..and drinks,and Entertainment. Close to Airport,only 20mins. by taxi. Local bus across the streat ,to get to Pt,Vallarta. The list goes on..
We had only one night and early morning of Rain..sun was out before noon,and day was hot. Pool is not heated, but warms by by noon.
We saw lots of Repeat guests, again this stay .Hi to everyone...and Happy SeasonsGreetings,from Canada. It was great to have fun with old friends., and new also. We met lots of wonderful new people.. Great to see that RIU Vallarta keep their wonderful staff, and add some nice new ones.
We booked direct with Riu ,you can join their club.. Riu Class.. and they will send a card from Spain to you.. Points do add up.
We are addicted to the Rius.. but have gone to lots of other resorts,around Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
This time we got to see Whales for 2 mornings ,just off shore, Hugh ones.Blowing WOW.

CONS: Bad behaved guests..that have no respect for others or the resort.
We were told, of some screeming IN the pools at 5AM..and lots of yelling in the halls late at night. Security takes care of them, as fast as they can. Take Ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
Doors do need rubber stops, as the doors DO Slam shut... we call the people who let go to the doors the Slammers.lol
Flashing smoke detector,over bed, Is like a airport strove light.took nights to get used to it. .LoL.
Adult Pool shower, One is too close to the DJ Animation crews Music set up, so can Not be used at times.
PLEASE Riu.. Make Signs Larger,and MORE of them ,at the Adult Pool.. ADULT ONLY...
One day guests from the USA.Mexico,Canada had a WAR. A man from Mexico demanded his kids be allowed in this Pool (with the Drunks and people who do not get out all day)..ugh. He yelled at people and told them , to go Back to Where they came from,and this was HIS Country,not theirs..and his kids could do what they wanted.. NOT nice RIU. It took two security guards (first one gave up ,because of the awful yelling) and Management to convince him, that children should NOT be in the ADULT Pool with the BAR.. it gets very rowdy and dirty by 4pm when people leave the beach,and do not shower off,and had too much to drink already.
Jalisco, has what they call their Main Pool, and kids are allowed there, so if you really WANT to have your tweens,kids,babies at a swim up BAR..you can walk over to the Jalisco.
If Riu change this rule at the Vallarta and allow kids in the Adult Pool, then we will not Return,as it is very Innappropriate . Guards do watch and ask them to leave, but are too SLOW to do so IMHO.

We noticed new Flat screen TV in room and new bedding and pillows,in room Coffee maker(did not use it) ,also we think new mattressess. If still too firm for you, just ask for the Foam Toppers, we had good comfort.
TIPS: Do not miss the Riu Dance shows.. Mexican night is the Best.Not to be Missed..
Room fridge,bar.. if not enough, water,pop,beer,Just pick up the phone and ask for more.
The Drinks,are NOT watered down.. ask for a DOUBLE if you think so.
Tip a Little, and you will see.. Lol.
Take a couple air fresheners, we do and never noticed any odors..
Our fan did not work, it was fixed a few days later,never needed it or used it.
We Never had any item go missing in our room. on any or our stays. No staff would risk their job to take anything. Use your SAFE,for valuables, that is what it is for....People get drunk, leave things behind,and other people could take them.
We did have one of our Beach Towels go POOF one day..lol.. staff helped us get another replacement.
Do get the Rib Eye steak at the Steak house.also the steak at Sir Georges is good. but the Brisket at the Buffet was Fantastic. and the BBQ Ribs the Best EVER.. Wow. you will Not go hungry with all the great food. Look out for the Ice Cream..adds pounds.. they even give it out around the KIDS pool, in mid afternoon to the kids.
Do NOT eat everything at the buffet everyday,, that is why people complain that it get boring..lol Go Look at the Carving Stations and see what is up, then choice one of at least two items.then a little of all the other good food if wanted. Turkey,Brisket,BBQ ribs , Salmon,chicken, roasts at the carving station. then at Other trays ,3 or 4 fish,beef,pork steaks and stews, Mexican station,qucamole and salsa,etc.etc. Wow. plus Salad section and dessert section.
The Main Buffet. opens most days at one p.m., if you do not want to fight the birds at the beach buffet..lol.
Who could complain about the RIU Vallarta, Not Us.....must be people who want a 5 or 6 star resort for the price of a motel 6.. You get what you pay for, and Vallarta gives that and More..

After all our stays ,I finally got a Chocolate Martini.. too DIE for.. try one and see.

THANKS again to all the Management, desk staff,servers,bartenders and all the other great Staff for making our Holiday stay another GREAT one.
Joyce and Victor.

Room Tip: For quiet room, do not get a Courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank JoLeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
0.0 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#11 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing