We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vallarta Get Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Gardner, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vallarta Get Away”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The rooms were clean, of adequate size and provided excellent ocean views. We opted for the Jr. Suite with ocean view. The food at the buffet was very good and offered something for everyone, even picky eaters. The hotel was clean and very open and airy in the lobby. There were a couple of things that were not so great 1) The beds are very hard but you can request memory foam mattress topper upon checking in and it will ease it a little. 2) The adult pool could be a little cleaner. I know there was tons of traffic during our stay, but it was very cloudy at times. Overall this is a decent hotel with a helpful and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: I say go for the ocen view junior suite, they are at the front and a little noisy at night during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victorpeck1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,725
    807
    376
    231
See reviews for
1,443
2,205
74
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

went to the riu for the second time. loved it even more. The service was awesome the food was great and the service was awesome as well. Hooked up with a few different bunch of people and had the most amazing time. The staff was wonderful and entertainment staff was great. Always keeping you busy and laughing. Would I go back in a heartbeat> The only down fall of this resort is I like to work out and I would like to see the gym get more and better equipment> anyone that says this resort is not great. Need to spend more money somewhere else. Great deal at a great price. THANKS AGAIN RIU VALLARTA FOR A GREAT AWESOME TIME. I WOULD RETURN.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and provided excellent ocean views. The food at the buffet was phenomenal. The hotel was also very elegant. Beds are very hard but you can request memory foam mattress topper upon checking in. The adult pool could be cleaner as it is very cloudy at times. We also found that children, including infants were allowed in the adult pool area even though a children's pool was a few yards away. Overall not a bad hotel. My complaints are minor nuisances and we would stay again. Staff is very friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobrien1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Chose this resort based on the Riu we stayed at in Mazatlan and were not disappointed! Were there from Apr 28-May 5 with Sunwing/Signature vacations from Calgary.
Had read reviews that said the beds were incredibly hard (they weren't as bad as people made them out to be) and that the noise from the courtyard was unbearable (I'd take live music every night until 11 pm over hearing crickets in the resort right after dinner).
Food was fresh at every meal and super tasty (including at the 3 a la carte restaurants). Late breakfast was pretty busy and had some lineups at the buffet (10-11am) so I would recommend going earlier or just waiting until the lunch snack buffet opened.
Drink service on the beach is a major perk as is the liquor and fridges in the rooms.The spanish coffee they serve in the courtyard is also worth tasting!
Pluses: never had to fight for a chair at the ocean or pool, tasty food, very few beach vendors, awesome party vibe at night & great bartenders - definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is beautiful!! Very elegant....palace-like! If you are looking for Mexican charm in your hotel this is not the one to pick, but if you are looking for grand then this is a great choice!!
I would not give this hotel 5 stars... but 4 for sure!

We took a cab (white one) from the airport to the hotel which cost $30US. It is about a 40 minute drive. On the return trip we opted for the VIP late check out through Sunwing for $10US/person-what a rip off!! We were supposed to leave at 9:00am (instead of 7:30am) but did not leave till after 9:30!! and we were jam packed into vans!! It was chaos!! We got to the airport with enough time to check-in, go through security and barely get our dutyfree before boarding!! Would not waste the money on that again!!

Front desk service was AMAZING!!! We were checked-in in moments!! And although our room was not ready yet, we were given a time to check back at the desk & it was ready as promised! The hotel all around was always clean, lobby is incredible and grounds were immaculately kept!! I would like to point out that there are alot of stairs in this resort! So you will get your exercise!! However there are elevators.

Don't forget that in staying at Vallarta you have access to Jalisco too!! Jalisco is about a ten minute walk away. This resort has more of the Mexican charm. We really liked it there! Played tennis 4 times during our week. Had bevies there too! Please note that you can NOT book Jalisco's Al A Cartes.... you can only have lunch there. Jalisco's Disco was super fun!! great location off the Plaza (not in the basement!!). Easy to walk out and sit outside for a smoke and still enjoy the music! After seeing both Discos we always walked to Jalisco's. I will note that we felt completely safe on our late night walk back to Vallarta-we took the road not the beach).

I read lots of negative reviews on the beds... they were fine! They are like any other beds I have slept in while staying in Mexico. Room was spectacular!! Very clean, great view, quiet. Maid service was great.... room cleaned promptly and always lots of fresh towels. Mini bar stocked daily and the guys actually asked us the first day what we wanted in it!
Tip....you can get bottled water at the front desk anytime-it was the only place I found bottled other than our room.

Bar service was great!! Although at times there could have been more people mixing drinks... those guys and girls work their butts off!! To Canadian travelers... there is Canadian Mist & Jimmy Beam for rye/bourbon. Overall great selection of hard liquor! We spent alot of time at the Lobby bar and the bar by the theatre (not the Plaza bar....it was always very full in the evenings).

The Theatre area is fabulous!! Lots of bistro-style seating! So nice to have a table to sit at instead of rows of chairs. The Theatre opens to outside so you can sit inside or out!

I highly recommend sticking around after the shows (sorry...can't tell you what the shows were like as we were always eating dinner during them!). After the show is a live band in the plaza and everybody dances!!! This was our FAVORITE time!! and it was such an unexpected bonus!! They only play for about an hour so don't miss it!!!

Disco was crappy. It is in the basement and had a funky smell ;( We went to Jalisco!!

Buffet was amazing! Fresh and always stocked. Hardly any lines for food. Large variety!

Al A Carte restaurants.... so-so. tip... you can book for that night & the next night!!!If you want an early reservation get there early!! We had no trouble getting 8:30/9:00 pm times.
Steakhouse was great the first time we went...overlooks the ocean from the second floor. Steak was well seasoned, cooked right and tasty! Service was great! Second time we went we were on the main floor and the wind screens were pulled down so we had no view. Also they had run out of some stuff so were substituting...disappointing.
Asian restaurant was tasty....but it is a glorified buffet.
The Gourmet restaurant was stuffy and there was nothing spectacular about the food.
Sports Bar late night snacks are not good!! Microwavable hot dogs and hamburgers and nachos with a gross cheese sauce!! Also... there is no music in the Sports Bar at any time and you are not allowed to bring your own.

Pool was fun! Great in-pool seating areas! If you want an actual chair...get there early!! Beach was beautiful!! and yes... you do have to rent umbrellas (no palapas), but there are lots of palm trees to offer shade!! Beach is huge with tons of chairs!! We did not find that there were alot of children at the resort and there is a pool designated only for adults.

We decided to head to Puerto Vallarta one night. Checked out the Marina where the yachts are docked!! It was great!! There was a market set up of all sorts of goodies and lots of places for food and bevies! We headed into Old Vallarta for dinner at Blue Shrimp which was delicious with a beautiful view!! I will say that this cab was expensive!! About $30US one way and 45 minutes long!!

We walked to Bucerias along the beach one day which took about an hour. Was a very nice beach walk!! Did a bit of shopping! We happened upon a restaurant at the end of the restaurant strip called Breakers...what a great find!! Breakers is owned by a guy from Winnipeg (which is where we are from) and subscribes to Shaw direct....so they aired the Jets games!!! Woot!! We stopped there for drinks on the beach and went back one evening for dinner and to watch the game!! Also... the owner's mom makes perogies for the restaurant!!!
The food was tasty and reasonably priced! We finished off dinner with a complimentary Tequila shot with our server! The cab to Bucerias was about $8US...cheap!!!

Overall we were very happy with Riu Vallarta and Riu Jalisco and had a fabulous, beautiful, romantic vacation!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite (cost of $60/person) and I highly recommend this! Our room was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen_jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were hesitant to try a square deal, only to be pleasantly surprised by this fine resort. We flew straight flight from Ohare to Puerto Vallarta. We've stayed at many other resorts, Mexico and other countries, RIU's and others, and this was by far the best experience ever. The staff from top to bottom bent over backwards to please. The negative reviews I read prior to my stay were completely unjust. We were overrun with Mexican tourism at it's peak during our stay, but yet never had bad service, bad food, or problems finding beach or pool chairs or towels. The separate adult pool and childrens pool were awesome and never an issue either. The service at all the bars and restaurants was remarkable. We found beach and pool chairs all times of the day. We actually preferred the main buffet restaurant over the others because there was always an ample variety to pick from and we always found something we enjoyed, but the others were good too. They weren't strict on a dress code for any of the places, though we dressed up for all of them. The beaches and views were great. We used all sorts of watersports equipment every day and never had to wait, and it was included in the stay. Every day starts out calm, beautiful and sunny, changing to breezy in the afternoon. The rooms were phenomenal with exceptional effort by the cleaning staff. If I had to be picky, the minor flaws would be the beds are somewhat uncomfortable, but they do have full queen beds rather than two twins put together. And from what others told me, they would have offered a pillowtop if we'd just asked. The TV is older and poor reception on many of the channels, expecially the english channels, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. Finally, it was noisy at times from other guests and some late shows, so plan to stay up later every night. Out of their control, is the TimeShare salesman you deal with everywhere and anywhere off the resort. From the minute you get off the plane, or walk the beach from the resort, or go downtown, you'll cross their path. Just save yourself the time, and be prepared that no matter how the conversation starts, it ends with a Time Share if you're not on the resort. The AC in the rooms worked better than any other tropical resort I've stayed. Safes were provided free in the room. There was WiFi, but you needed to purchase it and I believe it ran around $20 for the week. I even had the misfortune of a medical emergency, and was pleasantly surprised by the exceptional care I received from an onsite Doctor visit, and later care at an excellent hospital in Puerto Vallarta. I would put it up against any care I've recieved thus far in the US. We took cabs several times to the different cities, and never had issues. We definitely plan to go again, and take family with.

Room Tip: ask for a pillow top immediately, and choose the 5 apple square deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As someone who works in the hospitality industry, I know how subjective reviews are!! People will complain about room sizes as if every room of the hotel/resort is the same as theirs. There are many different room types- one cannot possibly judge a property by the one room they stayed in! Some people are also pickier than others and have impossible expectations for the quality of their stay. There are some people who will remain extremely difficult to please. Perception is reality, so it's important to evaluate not just the review but the reviewer.

All that being said, I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this property. I came with three girl friends, and none of us had cash to burn so one of our priorities was the value of our trip. We grabbed an $800 all inclusive stay through Sunwing. We were met by a bus after we landed and offered beers for the 20-30 minute ride to the resort. We were greeted with smiles and check-in was easy and professionally done. We even found a complimentary bottle of tequila waiting for us in the room. Our resort-appointed trip organizer gave us a quick run down of some of our excursion options and gave us an opportunity to select our choices.

Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable with two king beds and a balcony. Obviously the first thing we did was throw on bikinis and head for the beach! We found mostly locals there and a lot of families with small children. The beach is wide and wasn't crowded while we were there- though that will depend on what time of year you go. Drinks are more than accessible enough. I can't comment on the quality of them beyond the first couple, but those were very good! We enjoyed dancing in the disco at night, and visiting in the sports bar just past the lobby. Every night featured different entertainment- most of which I found either funny or flat out impressive. One night there was a mini musical which showcased some serious dancing skill. There were a few nice restaurants on the property for us to try out. They all required reservations and we found the food to be delicious. I remember especially loving a fish option from one of these restaurants.

Above anything else I'd like to comment on the outstanding service. Every time we encountered a staff member was a positive experience. Special commendation to the events coordinators. I wish I could remember their names because they were so good to us. They put forth special effort to make sure we had a fun time and would even flag us down and call us by nicknames when they saw us.

Don't expect bar attendants to notice you every time- this is Mexico- sometimes you need to get a little pushy and make yourself known. However, tip well and they will keep an eye out for you. If you go around May, ask about baby sea turtles hatching. If it's the right time, you can walk down the beach about 20 minutes and see it. As with many places, if you are a woman it's wise not to walk around by yourself at night. During the day you will be fine, but we did experience a man trying to follow us around. We reported him to the front desk and it was followed up with immediately. Overall we felt secure on the property but chose not to leave it at night, as there can be no guarantees made at that point.

Staff were lovely, friendly, and helpful, the food was great, rooms were comfortable, the lobby was gorgeous, the grounds were immaculately kept. I would happily return to Riu Vallarta.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,640 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,401 reviews
2.7 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing