We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
$186
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$672
$554
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$426
$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$341
$275
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$238
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$353
$114
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$240
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,702)
Filter reviews
5,702 results
Traveler rating
2,011
2,018
972
422
279
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
2,018
972
422
279
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir georgesports baradult pooldon rafaelflamingo restaurantplaza bargourmet restaurantjunior suitethomson repsasian buffetmattress toppergreat holidaymain buffetevery other dayfamily poolentertainment teamspecialty restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
3,595 - 3,600 of 5,702 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

ABOUT THE TRIP: This trip began with the illusion of two sweet days with all inclusive relax and as we came from two wonderful days at The Westin Marina Vallarta we expected the same at Riu. But what happen was far from that. At the arrival day my husband got terribly sick but not for anything, but for something bad he ate in one of their restaurants. The next couple of days were not better, in fact we had to spend in a private hospital and medicines. Help from the hotel?? Their help is limited to call you their doctor whom charge you $150USD to go to your room because any other doctor is allowed to visit you at the hotel.

ABOUT THE ROOMS: When we get into our first room #8002 what we expected was much more than that. The rooms are like a 2 1/2 max 3 stars hotel. In fact we immediately had to change our room because this one had very insanitary stains in the bed cover-sheet. (Don't expect for soft bedding). We were moved to the #8019 which was pretty much the same but without the stains. Let me describe you the room (don't go with the photos on the web) their version of a king size bed is two double beds together, very uncomfortable and hard as rock, the pillows are like the $3 usd you can see in the supermarket, very thin. The tv's are big black box, yes the same you don't see on sale anywere now, well yes, they bought them all and better take your own amenities because those are not good at all.

ROOM LOCATION: When we checked in i was happy because as you, i did my research here too and as many people says the higher the better, well i was happy we got very up, well at this high you don't here the noise from the show downstairs, but that's because the sound is replaced for the show at the Riu Jalisco. Very noisy! you can even hear all what they are saying and singing.

OVERALL: We got a bad experience because of them, with this i mean, what they give us we bad, got sick, had expenses because of it, had a bad time and ANYONE CARES! they don't feel any responsability for getting someone sick with their food, nor them nor hotwire nor anyone.

I know some people have a good experience visiting this hotel, but alot of people don't.
What i'm warning you is that you could be one of those.

Room Tip: Any room is safe of noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!! You have been warned.

This place looks gorgeous on the web, but you cannot judge a book by its cover.

They have a 'stage show' every single night, 7 nights a week, from 8:00 until 11:00, with a very very loud amplifier. 3 solid hours of loud music and constant screaming on the microphone..

You will even hear this crap above your own tv in your own room. Even though you do not attend the show, it is so loud , you will hear every single word, every single night, in your room, ABOVE your tv. This noise goes on during the days also.

When You call to complain, the desk attendant will say "The show ends at 11:00". I do not care when the show ends. Since I chose not to attend the show, Why do I have to hear it?

If you want a peaceful vacation FIND ANOTHER HOTEL!!!!

One more thing. They have plastic or something on their bed, below the sheets. Every time you turn over, the plastic squeaks horribly, and it will wake up your spouse. Guaranteed. It is ridiculously loudl

DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU WANT TO REST. Go to another resort. Please.

This is my opinion.

Room Tip: Too much noise for resting or sleeping . The place is very pretty but the experience is not.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

just got back from riu vallarta on flamingo beach peurto vallarta, it is a beautiful resort great service in every respect well kept grounds good food good rooms mine was 6018 good view of ocean great weather all the time and a short trip to airport good spa

Room Tip: get an ocean view room worth the little extra it cost
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajtravelsmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here during spring break, so it was very busy. When we arrived they did not have our room ready for us, and we did not have a key for the safe until the next morning. That is our main complaint regarding the service. Otherwise, the hotel was very clean, but the beach is not. They do provide ash trays for smokers, but it is not enforced. So, if you smoke, please use an ash tray.

The food was 'okay', with the buffet being the best. The reservation system to reserve for the other 3 restaurants is awful. Basically, we had to wake up 1 hour before they took reservations to stand in line. Then, when we got to finally register we could not get our first choice. I am not a fan of having to wake up to an alarm on my holidays. As such, after we ate at the 3 restaurants, we never reserved again and just ate at the buffet.

Location is very good, and the hotel is close to many things to do. We really enjoyed the San Sabastian tour, and the Sayolita tour. However, in hindsight, we could have done the Sayolita tour on our own.

There is alot of night life, almost too much, and we were glad our room was away from the late night bar so we could sleep. The bar is outside, in the middle of the hotel property, so try to get a room facing the water or on the outside edge of the hotel.

My hubby really enjoyed the daily activities, including the wind surfing.

I am not sure if this place is 5 star, however, the service, loud crowd, and food was worse than the 4 star place we stayed on the east side of Mexico. Yet, that place was much smaller (200 rooms compared to 500). But, since it is the cheapest 5 star we could find, maybe we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is full ocean view or ask for a room in which the rooms are not facing the outside bar.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Riu Vallarta was a beautiful hotel ~ I would definitely return ~ the hotel is clean ~ the staff are amazing / helpful / friendly/ the rooms were very nice (mattress a little hard but that was ok for the back) The food was AMAZING ~ the drinks in the pool area differed from day to day ( usually the last drink to go was the strongest ) lol... last one to go ~ wish there was more than one pool ~ only complaint ~

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews