We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed the week of Dec 28/2012 to Jan 4/2013. Hotel was very clean, room was also very clean and the cleaning staff was great. The grounds were very well kept, except for the sketchy electrical cords duct taped to the sidewalks and just taped to each-other.

We were quite disappointed with the quality of the food, buffets were always running out of food and when there was food, it was cold.

New years eve dinner was a joke, the only restaurant open was the main Buffet. It was poorly organized and it was a buffet AGAIN.

We did make dinner reservations on three other nights thinking it would be better food/service. Nope, Buffet at the Asian restaurant, poor service, and same food was available at the main Buffett restaurant.

Steak house 2 other nights. The meal was actually served at the table. Not bad food there I guess.

When we went for breakfast the tables were all dirty, stained cloths, had to clean off our own table and find our own pot of coffee. Chipped dishes were pretty much the norm.

The beach was always filthy, never raked. When using the beach loungers we never got a good one. It would be Broken, dry rotted, sagged out, or any combination of those.

The servers working the pool areas and the beach were pretty good considering they appeared to be under staffed. They were the only people I tipped.

The pool bar always had a huge line, due to pool and beach servers use this bar as well.

You may read this and think, "Here's another person who just always complains and can't be satisfied"

Well this was my fourth trip south and this is the only place that has disappointed me and my wife. Two of our last trips were also during very busy times with the hotels at capacity.

I will never stay at a Riu again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proudly_Manitoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    1,819
    848
    389
    246
See reviews for
1,537
2,320
76
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Travelled at peak time and too much. Food was mediocre at best. The steak restaurant was good, and the news years eve meal was really good. The certainly went all out for this event. Recommend the dolphin adventure.
The beds are incredibly poor. Ask for a foam bed topper while checking in, you will be glad you did. If you bring kids, the swim up bar is not available to them. Our daughter liked this at previous hotels, so this was disappointing for her.
The pool staff was very good, the room was clean, shower was hot with good pressure. If you pay around 1000-1200 all in for a week, it would be a reasonable price. Anything more, and you could do better somewhere else, keep looking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank makSpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

All in all this hotel met all of our needs. We were two couples traveling together. The service was excellent. The drinks were watered down. If you are a beer drinker they have Tecate's and soft drinks in the refrigerator. The rooms are loud so bring a noise machine to sleep. The beds are hard- I asked for a mattress topper and never received one. The coffee at the bar in the lobby was excellent. The buffet food is average- you get sick of it after 6 days. You have a fridge in your room so bring your leftovers and heat them up in the snack bar. The 24 hour food in the sports bar is gross- use the microwave for your leftovers only. The entertainment is mediocre-the RIU in Cabo had better entertainment. The Steakhouse is the best restaurant food wise but service is long. Sir George has fast service and the food is good as well. We did not try the Asian food since we heard it was not that great. If you want to avoid theft, do not have your room cleaned. I didn't allow anyone to clean my room, and I had my drinks and towels stocked when I was in the room. If you tip the staff, you will always be waited on at the beach, bar, and restaurants. They work hard and I know a dollar or two will not break your budget when traveling. People stake out the chairs at the beach and put towels out so you have to get up early and reserve. There is a shaded area and open area near the beach. Waiters are down there taking drink orders. At night and early in the morning you can hear everything in the halls- EVERYTHING. Alot of locals come and stay at the resort, it makes for a fun evening. They dance, talk, and are all very nice. Everyone is entitled to a vacation in my opinion and the RIU caters to everyone. We paid 3K for a 6 day trip from December 31st-January 5th. It was not worth it at all- I would return to ANOTHER hotel. However, we made the best of it and the service was great. The noise, food quality, and beds need improvement.

Room Tip: If you stay by the courtyard it can be loud at night, if you stay on the edges- echoes are bad as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purochihuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation alone together there Dec. 14th-20th. It was a very pretty resort and great how they separated the kids and families from the adults. The food was ok. It got to be pretty repetitive. We rented a jeep wrangler (I wouldn't get anything less for taking on their roads) for 3 days in the lobby. Got to see the city and experience the culture a little more when we were out. I highly recommend the town of Bucerias to visit and do dinner on the beach. Overall, I would do it all again. Very satisfied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Vallarta the week of Dec 14th. Was a little unsure after reading the reviews but we had an excellent vacation. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The room (junior suite #5019) was perfect. The drinks, food and especially the staff were great. Early morning lattes at the sports bar were really good and a great way to start the day. Didn't use the pool but it looked really nice. The beach was great and always could get a lounge chair. Was a little disappointed to see people not tipping - they work so hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank temvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall loved the resort no major issues. Beds are kind of hard but you can get a mattress topper to go on the bed. The adults only pool was really nice!! When kids would try and come in the pool they were kicked out and the pool service was great!! The food was good nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: the lower floors can get pretty noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tearss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My huspand and I stayed 12/11-12/18. This was our third trip to Mexico within the last year. The food was average for an AI. Sir George was the best restaraunt by far. Drinks were good and bar service was prompt and friendly at all times. The beach was fantastic. The water was calm and you could walk out quite far. In the mornings you could spot sting rays among the waves. More than once we saw dolphins playing in the ocean....sooo exciting! If you turn right from the resort and walk along the beach there are several little places that offer an hour massage for $20...well worth it! MOST of the staff are very accomodating and work very hard-- always with a smile. Be sure to take full advantage of the safe in your room as this hotel has a reputation for theft. The second day we were there we literally caught the maintenance man in our room taking the housekeepers tip!! We complained to the lady at the front desk (it was made pretty clear that this was not their first complaint about this employee) and a manager called him into his office immediately. Other than this isolated incident we had no issues with security. PV felt safe to us, we even took advantage of the public transportation which cost $1-$2 per person as opposed to a $20 cab ride.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing one of the outer sides...the rooms facing the inside were very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyC_4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
7.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,852 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,767 reviews
8.6 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#18 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing