We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rui Really Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rui Really Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hi,
Amazing how everyone has such different opinions about this hotel, and that's okay. I do realize that you get what you pay for and admittedly we got a great deal. Would I return and pay near double in the high season? Never. Here are the pros and cons.

What was great:

- Friendly, helpful, hardworking staff that earn on average the Mexican minimum wage of approx. $8 U.S. daily (work 6 days a week!). Please show your appreciation for their hard work and tip appropriately.

- Beach location was great and so was swimming

-Hotel decor and layout was pleasant, room was nice and much needed A/C worked well.


What wasn't so great:

-The food. Why do I say this when so many liked it? I happen to enjoy good, quality food. While the fresh fruit was a hit and so tasty, almost all other food (besides the self-serve beer on tap) was lacking. It was obvious that the buffet chefs had inferior quality of food to cook with. The food at Sir George arrived cold and tasteless. The coffee at breakfast tasted pretty awful - ask for a cappuchino from the server instead.

- Best food is a short cab ride/walk to Bucerias. Treat your taste buds, visit Restaurante Rosa Mexicano there, absolutely delicious, Mexican cuisine!!

What to bring:
- If you enjoy a decent coffee, bring your own instant from home. (Yes, perhaps an oxymoron, but the Starbucks instant isn't too bad and much better than the hotel's.)
-Insulated drink container to keep your alcoholic drink cold. (I stuck with the beer as the mixed drinks are uber-sweet and most use artificial syrups - eeck.)

I did enjoy myself, but would not return to this chain of hotels. RIU is cutting costs by providing low quality food and drink. This is not the fault of the staff, but the management.

The staff and my great company made the trip a good one, but not willing to be a future RIU guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TortillaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,728
    809
    376
    232
See reviews for
1,446
2,208
74
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spokane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Riu Vallarta was a great property to stay at. The food was great, the drinks were plentiful and the hotel entertainment staff made sure you were enjoying yourself during your stay. There were nightly shows and daily activities for all to enjoy.
Other points: The hotel was kept clean, the rooms were nice and it was terrific to have a stocked refrigerator and liquor dispenser in the room. You don't really need it as the drinks on the property were readily available, but it was a nice touch.
One down fall was the bed...it was hard! I don't want to complain too much on this, as the view from our room was fabulous.
it was also nice that we were able to visit the partner RIU property and eat and drink there as well, all under the all-inclusive package.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Junior Suite and had an excellent view of the property, pools and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speedwalkermach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Vallarta Oct 6-12. This hotel is beautiful and well cared for by the staff. Check in was a breeze and we were on the beach in minutes.The food was very good and there was a large selection each meal. The main buffet restaurant is busy for breakfast if you sleep in till 10am so if this is an issue you will need to go earlier. We ate at the gourmet and steakhouse restaurants and had a wonderful meal at each. The steakhouse you could see the sunset and the gourmet is a fancy room. Everything was great about the hotel but the main thing that made this over the top was the waiter/waitress and bar staff throughout the hotel. We had so many positive "customer service" experiences it would be hard to list them. They were so attentive and fun it really made our week special. We will be back for this reason alone.

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad room - it looks like all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went to RIU Vallarta last week. Had a wonderful time. Please do not let the negative reviews concern you. Just go and enjoy yourself and you will have a great time.

Some points

Restaurants - tried all of them and they were all great. Never went hungry.

Hotel - very clean and well kept

Staff - very helpful anytime and anywhere

Bar Staff - Teresa/Claudia/Richard/Pablo were great. Teresa works the main bar out side (between the buffet and entertainment area). She made her bar very fun. She has many games to trick you. She has a special drink for those who appears sleepy so beware.

Locals -never had a problems with any of them. After all, it is their country

Will go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sbwpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our trip started off with amazing service on Sunwing Vacations, the flight was amazing, the flight attendants were so awesome and then when we landed in PV everything went so smooth, then when we got to the hotel we were met by a very enthusiastic man named Jessie. The staff was so nice and the bar staff were so fun, the grounds were so clean and the food was excellent. The rooms were good (everything you needed was there). We did a day tour called the Outdoor Adventure through Vallarta Tours for $98.00 and it was the highlight of our trip...zodiac ride, 4 wheeling up a side of a mountain, then jumping on a donkey and then 9 zip lines through waterfalls...it was such a good time! The weather was great, the only thing was the beach had a red flag due to high waves. The week we went was Oct 5-12 and we are glad we went then cuz on the 12th of October (the day we were leaving) 2600 Mexicans were arriving to celebrate their Columbus holiday....our week was so quiet, no wait for drinks, the restaurants you could just walk in without even making a reservation. The Gourmet Restaurant was truly our fav!!!! Would go back again for sure!

Room Tip: Everything shuts down by 11 so anyroom is fine there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlsheilakels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Riu Vallarta in September. The resort was great, this is my fourth trip to an all inclusive in Mexico and the Riu was one of the best. The food was good, typical buffet food, but some good options, always had an area set up with Mexican food at dinner which is nice seeing that you are in mexico. Dinner at the buffet was quiet and no trouble getting to the food, breakfast was really busy if you waited until about 10 to go down, I would suggest getting up earlier to eat b-fast. We also ate at the Japanese restaurant one night, it is buffet as well, but the food was really good. The room was comfortable, a bed and then a sitting area with a couch, yes the bed was a bit hard, but I slept on it no problem. The drinks were good, quick service, drink service on the beach as well which is a nice treat. All of the staff there were lovely, very friendly and always smiling. They had a live band every night after the show that was really good, makes for a great atmosphere. The beach is nice, this was my first time on the west coast, the water isn't the nice turquiose like the East coast, but the sand was a lot softer and the water was a lot calmer, so I'd say I like both sides equally. The water was so warm I couldn't believe it, like a really warm bath. The pools were good, the adult pool with the swim up bar had a bit of a party/louder atmosphere, but everyone was polite and just having a good time. We did several excursions though Vallarta Adventures, the Sierra Madre tour and Rythyms of the night, both were a ton of fun. We also did zip lining through Canopy River which was really good as well. Taxi's are expensive, make sure you ask when you get in how much they are, the person we booked out tour with told us it was $14 to the Vallarta adenture office, we just kept handing the taxi drivers $14 plus a tip and but after a few trips there we found out it is only $10. I would also recommend changing your money into pesos before going, or take your Canadian to exchange down there, they don't accept US cash at the hotel and won't exchange it for you, even a lot of the vendors would not sell you stuff if you only had Canadian. There are a few banks a quick cab ride away at the Mega where you can exchange your money. We walked to Bucerias, it was about a half hour walk on the beach, if it is really hot out I would suggest taking a cab as it feels like a lonng walk on the beach. I would stay at the Riu Vallarta again, it was a great time!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water are a bit loud due to the shape of the resort I think? If you really wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrystalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Riu just keeps going downhill... The food was absolutely awful... and pretty much every day its the same.. the only thing that changes is dinner. Same nightly shows as the past years. I've been there when it's full and empty and the food is the same. The rooms are okay - bathrooms are nice, and water and alcohol in the mini bar. The bartenders were great, but reception and concierge services were unclear (telling you different things about dinners, etc) and not the friendliest. The gym is awful... recommend running outside, as all of their treadmills DONT work.

Room Tip: Definitely would want an ocean view room or minimum partial view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
7.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
9.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Property: Hotel Riu Vallarta
Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing