We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with internet fees and the valet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed with internet fees and the valet”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Sea Garden isn't a terrible property, (Great ocean views / proximity) but I do have a few issues that I find kind of annoying... The biggest issue is that they charge almost $100 a week for internet, per device!! I personally find this really brutal in this day and age when internet is free everywhere but the comfort of your own hotel room... And then, after i pay this ridiculous price for the internet, it runs so slow we can hardly return any emails or finish any work we need to do and when I call the front desk, they don't care at all (you can call my manager tomorrow...). I'm really disappointed, I don't mind paying a marginal fee for a high quality service, but paying a Westin price for a super 8 quality service is very painful... Also, and I hate to be a nag, but they really need to work on their valet service! I had to call an average of 4 times before they answer the phone, and then they tell you it takes 15 minutes to get your car, but we've had to wait an average of 30 minutes every time we ask for our car. Then one day while I wasn't around, the valet parked our car exposed to the rain and just watched my wife and sister lift a heavy stoller into the trunk, while they were holding and baby and other bags? I just think a 'mayan' resort could do better than this...? I don't planning on spending a upgrading our timeshares at the mayan resort...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear B P :
We would like to express our sincere appreciation for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay at Sea Garden. It is always nice to hear from our guests that they like the views from their rooms.

Nevertheless, it is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us continue providing outstanding facilities and services.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Sea GardenNuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    139
    54
    25
    24
See reviews for
304
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week-long vacation at the Sea Garden in Nuevo Vallarta. First, the bed was so uncomfortable we found ourselves sleeping in the living room on the couch or trying to move the pillows from the couch to the bed to add just a little comfort. We actually started taking Tylenol before bed so we would be able to wake up in the morning without an aching back. It seems that the management at the Mayan Group has shifted all of their attentions to their other properties and let this one just wither away. I wonder what all of you RCI owners are getting for your maintanence fees?
Day management did not speak English so we were not able to communicate our bed dissatifaction with them and we tried on two different occasions. We finally checked out and paid to stay at a different hotel - we are RCI members but it was definitely a good move.

Dirty pool - no jacuzzi - run down rooms - did not even attempt to upgrade us to an ocean view - satellite down due to rain for two days - had to pay for WiFi - very far away from the main town of Puerto Vallarta

I will definitely not return to this hotel for a vacation again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvlnFools90731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear TrvlnFools90731:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences at Sea Garden for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay.

Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Sea Garden Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a week in the Sea Garden/Ocean Breeze, also known as the Mayan Sea Garden. There are two separate entries for this hotel on the TripAdvisor list for Nuevo Vallarta hotels, therefore I am resubmitting my review to cover both. The rooms were spotless, with housecleaning staff making what seemed like several visits per day. Daily tips (20 pesos) bring them out in force. The front desk staff, bellhops and waiters were always friendly and the hotel had a more mature ambience without the younger, partying louts you often find at some other spots. The hotel may not be as lavish as the Mayan Palace and the newer Grand Lux and Grand Bliss down the road but in the oceanview rooms you're closer to the beach and can enjoy the sound of waves crashing ashore. The restaurant and snack bar food was decent but we preferred sampling the local restaurants within walking distance -- try Eddie's, Pour Que Nos, La Coin and Prime 159. The only event was a sudden chemical smell appearing in the bathroom of our suite as we were preparing to check out, prompting us to flee the room immediately. Staff eventually dealt with it but the source appeared to be the tub's drain. We did notice a worker on the floor below wheeling his cart in the vicinity and wonder if it was connected. Maggie, who acts like a concierge while doing the old time-share sign-up, is a delight, providing plenty of information about the area, what to do and where to go. But if you feel the least bit vulnerable, don't agree to the time-share presentation even with the offer of discounts to attractions and hotel charges. It lasts close to five hours and the sales people have trouble taking no for an answer. All in all a very nice hotel, lovely pool and foliage, and diligent staff keeping everything clean. I'd stay there again but would skip the time-share presentation.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview room to hear the sound of waves lapping ashore while sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank surreyrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After one day we ended up leaving. We had traded a week for a week here and was so disappointed. Very very old, the hardest beds I've even slept on (and they gave us two full size beds), small rooms, no balcony, very loud, and the worst margarita I've ever had in my life.

We ended up checking out the next day and went to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TrishnRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear TrishnRic :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden.

For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back and make your next stay memorable.

With all good wishes,

Sea Garden Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This resort shows its age. There are no balconies, so enjoying time outside your room must be done in public spaces. Our biggest complaint was the incredibly loud air conditioner turbines that provided cooling to the enitre building. We were put in a room near one of them and it was so loud (even with the windows closed) that you could not hear the TV without turning it way up. It sounded like a freight train going by. We requested a room change and was given one that only reduced the noise some.

At least half the 1 bedroom units do not have an ocean view. The units all cost the same, so be sure to request and ocean view if you prefer that. The housekeeping staff are basically good. However, I don't think our room was swept once during our stay. There was a bug that lay on the floor for at least 4 days after which I finally disposed of it. The floors felt sandy to my bare feet most of the week. Otherwise the cleaning was fine. The young woman who came and turned down our bed at night was the happiest person I have ever met. She made us smile every evening.

Had a problem with our in room safe. It wouldn't lock. We had to wait around for a full morning to have them get a new door and install it only to have that one not work either. After all that they decided to replace the safe which took about 20 minutes. Why didn't they do that in the first place and deal with the broken one on their time. They wouldn't work on it unless we were in the room. They let the maids enter our room without us there, so couldn't figure out why they wouldn't let the maintenance guy be there alone.

Food was good in the restaurant and they were very accomodating with any special requests. Pool are and beach are nice. Might want to bring bug repellent for the sand fleas.

The desk staff was friendly and helpful. However, we were surprised that we were charged for the bottled water in our room. Would have been nice if they had put a note on it saying that it would be 400 pesos if we used it. You can get bottled water in almost any nearby store for half that price!

Would I go back? Maybe, but only if I could pick my room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucky1Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Lucky1Ca :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at Sea Garden. We are delighted to find out that most of our staff was welcoming and pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day.

We are also happy to learn that your meals were enjoyable. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations.

Moreover, rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate area since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First the bathroom sink fell on my foot on the second day we were there. It took them over 3 hrs to move us to a different room, first they wanted us to wait till the morning until they could get some "glue" to fix it. In the second room, on the 4th day when we came back to the hotel that night the whole bathroom floor was flooded. same thing it took them until the next morning to have anyone come and look at the problem. safety was not their concern. finally the next morning after 12pm the problem was fixed and the water was finally cleaned up... but a whole day of outings was wasted. Not to mention that all our dirty clothes were wet and the hotel washer and dryer costs $16 with a $10 for deposit. still nothing was done to try to compensate us, even though plenty of complaints were made to the manager and supervisors. Because most of their guests are nationals costumer service is not their concern. I have picture for the sink, i will post later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Martha U :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta.

We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness as well as implementing regular maintenance measures which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. However, we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. For that reason, all pertaining areas will receive your feedback and we will continue working hard to achieve excellence.

If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, we are certain your current opinion of our services will change.

With all good wishes,

Sea Garden Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

a very nice spot for relaxing swiming pool beach area and restaurant are near by elevators,beware your budget evrething will be charged, water bottles,open parking, even collect calls or 800 calls.
personal is aware to be nice with you but it is not enough, front desk normally works with only one person,even that, staff is excellent bartenders in swiming pool really pamper you as well as all the rest of staff bell boys, everybody is paying attention for your comfort and they enjoy their work,they are really professional

Room Tip: be aware to select what you want sea view or golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pedro1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.1 mi away
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
#16 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing