We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wife and i spent a week in seagarden , ocean breeze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Save
You added Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wife and i spent a week in seagarden , ocean breeze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

the staff at the sea garden were excelent . we enjoyed our stay at the hotel for a week in april. the pool was nice the swim up bar was great , the beach was awesome and we got to check out any of the other hotels along the strip in nuevo vallarta as long as we had the green wrist band on . you get access to the spa's and restaurants at the other resorts there .. it was our first trip to mexico and we would definitly love to go back there again some time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    99
    48
    23
    22
See reviews for
243
118
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent the week of 4/7 to 4/14 at the Mayan Sea Garden. We toured the Mayan complex and have stayed at the Mayan in Playa. Frankly I prefer the Sea Garden. Being less upscale it feels more relaxed and fun. We had the 7th floor room to the left of the S in the Sea Garden sign. We had minor issues (broken remote & leaky coffee pot) which were fixed promptly. On the first day I got to know the pool bartender, Hermillo. He took care of our family the rest of the week. Great salesman. By day 3 he had my 4 year old ordering lemonade in Spanish.
Other reviewers have given good feedback on the Sea Garden so I'll try to give some other tips. We spent one day shopping in Bucerias and found prices to be lower than in PV. Unfortunately our red wristbands peg us as Sea Garden folks so the shopkeepers can tell we're tourists with a couple bucks to spend. I had a rental car which worked out well as I always found an open spot on the street close to the entrance. Bottom line, we enjoyed the Sea Garden and PV in general. It's not as crazy as the Yucatan and doesn't feel as seedy as Acapulco. We'll likely be back.

Room Tip: The walls are thin so bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great 7 days at the Mayan Sea Garden. Love the smaller hotel, the smaller pool area, closeness to the beach and the bus system. The food was always excellent and the staff were very willing to help. We found the time share "sellers" weren't as pushy as they have been in the past. Perhaps because it was at the end of high season and they were just tired of pushing their product! As it is, we just say "no, gracias" and walk away ... Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: When we checked in, we asked for an ocean facing room and they didn't have any, BUT when we said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LoewenSurrey_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We exchanged our week in RCI to stay in this hotel which is a less expensive division of the Grupo Mayan Resorts. The pool was very nice and the wait staff was great. The buffet was nice, and the chef was great to provide me with a special salad( without mushrooms as I'm allergic). The room we stayed in had a badly broken lamp with a short in it in the bedroom and we found a previous guest's panties in the night stand. The bed was hard and the blankets were threadbare and needed to be replaced. We had only 2 washcloths and requested 2 additional and from then on only received 1 per day. You could walk to the other Mayan resorts on the property for meals, but were asked where you were going if you stopped to catch your breath at any of the "higher ranked" ones as you have a colored band which determines where you "belong" . We have stayed at the Grand Mayan in Cancun and visited the Grand Luxe in Cabo, and were interested in checking out the Grand Luxe, Grand Mayan, Grand Bliss and Mayan Palace for a future visit, but their staffs weren't very friendly even though we were there to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. They have a shutte that runs from the Grand Mayan to the Grand Bliss, Grand Luxe and Mayan Palace. We really enjoyed the Punta Arena, Tramonto and Cafe Del Lago restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room at the back of the complex facing away from the ocean with a view of the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DesignerDebbieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear DesignerDebbieA :

We truly appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay at the Sea Garden. We really thank you for your kind comments about our staff’s service and food options.Our culinary experts always look to please our guests with their creations.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at and making your next stay memorable.

With all good wishes,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

we just got back from ocean breeze... were there march 23 to march 30.. it was amazing.. food was great and everything you could imagine to eat. we were all inclusive.. we loved the smallness of the resort, not too many people at all.. lots of time share holders there though.. that is one thing that was nothing to do with the resort but in PV the time share sharks are terrible. back to the resort.. it was amazing heated pool, great drinks( migal was an amazing server) pool side.. never went thirsty,... Mario our morning waiter in the rumba room was as well amazing.. staff was awsome .. the hotel was clean all the time.. we took bus into PV once that was good as well, bus is right out side resort and drops you off right out side resort. we went for a supper off the resort to eddies.. that is amazing as well.. have to try eddies, we would for sure go back. night life was not very lively but we were okay with that as the two of us were there to relax , oh have to mention the entertaiment staff was great to jessy, tony, oscar, havier they were great...

Room Tip: we never had ocean view, but traverllers we met they had ocean view they said it was a must, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CanadaDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Judson, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had dinner at the Sea Garden Buffet. It is very clean, airy with an ocean view, almost ocean front. The buffet has a different theme 7 days a week and starts at 6 p.m. $220 Pesos per person, drinks not included. You can charge your bill to your room because it is one, albeit the lowest, of the hotels which include the Grand Luxxe. Way back when, Sea Garden was your entry level hotel to the hotel chain. (Today it is the Grand Mayan.) Anyway, to get there either pay $35 Pesos for a cab, but you can walk. Take the shuttle to the Grand Mayan and walk toward the Sun Market and then around the arms of a gate. Keep walking until you arrive at the front of Sea Garden Hotel. If you are not a guest at one of the hotels in the hotels' chain, you cannot eat there. Food, Margaritas and Service was very good.

Room Tip: It is perfectly safe to walk to and from Sea Garden and Luxxe hotels, even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Ann R :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your buffet dinner experience at the Sea Garden. We really thank you for your kind comments about the staff and facilities.

We are happy to learn your meals wereenjoyable.Wewill gladly share your comment with our culinary experts, as this will be useful for them to continue pleasing our guests with their creative theme nights.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and 2 teenage sons just recently returned home after one week at Sea Garden (also called Ocean Breeze). It was wonderful. I was really leery because it was half the price of most other all-inclusive resorts in the area. It is a small resort, with a large heated pool. You don't get any extras here, no spa, no gym or tennis courts but if you are just looking to relax by the pool or beach this is a great place. Majority of people were retired, a few families with small kids but no loud spring breakers. Not a place for partying, just relaxing. Small buffet restaurant but food was decent quality and dinner was different every night. Because it's both all-inclusive and european plan offered, you have to sign for everything. Not too much of a hassle though, the waiters during the day record your drinks on a tab and you only need to sign once at the end of the day. It is a newer resort and well maintained. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Windfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#7 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#5 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing