We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Resort Getaway”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta is part of resort compound where a network of pedestrian boarwalks & bridges and golf cart tram pathways guide you from resort to resort and their restaurants.
My family (2 adults and 2 children 6 and 9 years old) went here during June. June and July are very slow months here, so the resort was not crowded at all.
Positives:
-extremely immaculate rooms
-friendly staff
-good restaurants, gelato on site
-gourmet and family restaurants
-nice beach area--plenty of palapas and lounge chairs and food/drink service right to you
-double happy hours
-family friendly swim areas
-getting the itemized bill the night before so we could review all the charges (Beware that they may automatically charge you for the water bottle in your room.)

Negatives
-slow check in and check out
-no other non-resort restaurants in walking distance
-very slow heating stove burners

You will hear people complain about the time share "vultures." You do not have to speak with them. Once you get your wristband, you can just not go over to the other desk. Put the wristband on by yourselves.

If you do go over there, you can do what I did. They will ask for your room number and name--this is so they can call you and invite you to their breakfast when they will try and make their sales pitch. You can simply go over and say, "I don't want to go. No thank you." I told the woman I was not interested. She proceeded exactlly three more times to try and get me to change my mind. I looked her in the eyes and said calmly, "I am saying this in the most polite way as possible--I am not at all interested and I won't be interested anytime this week. Thank you for the invitation. The answer is 'no.'" After that, she stopped. I never got a phone call or anything. Done.

The pool area is fun and lively. There are lots of families, so one must not expect too much quiet. We had excellent meals at the Burger Custom Made at the Grand Luxxe (best view), Tramonto, and Gong. The Ola Mulata snack bar is just fine for day snacks.

Yes, the restaurants are expensive, but it is a resort. And frankly, if you went and stayed in SF or any other tourist hotspot, the prices would be comparable. The service is top notch, which I value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleLily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,589
    797
    358
    158
    146
See reviews for
1,517
773
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the GM in Nuevo Vallarta. We had been to the GM in Playa Del Carmen three years ago. RCI does not always let trade your timeshare within 5 years. Arrange with GM to be picked up at the airport by van for free. The ride back is not free - $160 pesos. It is very secure and we felt safe. We had a one bedroom condo. It has a full kitchen with a small refrigerator. Very clean rooms and you get your bed made and new towels everyday. They do not wash the dishes. You have to wash and put them away before you leave. Watch out for the beds - they are very hard! The workers there keep the place immaculate. There is a gym on the first floor next to the day spa. The gym usage is free. We stayed on the ninth floor and there was a guard on that floor making sure everything was safe. Get ready for bug bites. They spray for bugs, but you will get bitten anyway. Go check the daily activities everyday. They are posted next to the large swim up bar. The activities guys try to include you in: beach volleyball, water volleyball, water polo, aqua aerobics, black jack, Texas Hold'em,, Bingo, Mexican Bingo, dance lessons etc. There are 3 ping pong tables and a pool table. Ping pong is free, but the pool is not. Don't forget "Happy Hour" everyday from 11:00 - 1:00. Drinks are 2 for $95 pesos or about $8.00 for two. They also serve these on the beach. Restaurant is very expensive. We took a cab to Walmart upon arrival and purchased: cereal, milk, eggs, butter, bread, fruit, soda, water 10L bottle, juice, booze, cold cuts, cheese, paper towels, chips and salsa (no condiments in the room)etc. They took groceries to our room. They are reconstructing some of the areas, but the noise did not bother us. We got a $300 credit, but did not go to the timeshare talk. We avoided them all and pulled the plug on the phone because they will call you everyday at 8:30 a.m. There is pizza to order for $180 pesos for a large cheese. Go get tacos for $250 each at Tacos Break. Take tram #5 to the outside gate then cross the street to Tacos Break. You can order the tacos to go. They also have 2 for 1 beer. Both of these can be put on your room account. We also walked to Oxxo (7-11) outside the premises and walked to Eddie's place for dinner. They had free WiFi and food was good and more reasonable. They even had sidewalk entertainment! There is a store on the premises for emergencies, but their prices are higher and limited selection. The lazy river is awesome and they provide you with inner tubes. Reserve your chairs by 10:00 a.m. with your towels because all of the good ones are gone by 11:00. Take a small collapsible cooler for sneaking your own drinks. We took Captain Morgan in a 1Liter plastic water bottle in a ziplock bag in our checked luggage. We made drinks by the pool with coke in our thermal coffee mugs. Check out is at 10:00 a.m., but you can ask for 11:00 a.m. checkout and still enjoy the time by the pool till your plane leaves. We took the bus into town twice. You can catch the bus for 14 pesos outside of the complex. We got off at the Sheraton and took another bus into old PV. Going into PV it is better to get on the "Puerto Vallarta Direct" but when you come back, get on Nuevo Vallarta Riu bus. We took the tram to look at the Grand Luxxe. It is a very nice complex and we stayed there one day using their pool because it was much quieter. Don't forget to go to the Santuario (Sanctuary). They have a wonderful free variety show every night. You can even bring your tacos and eat there while you watch the show. We went two nights in a row. The first night they did not require us to buy a drink, but the next night the girl said we were required to buy at least one drink??? Wifi costs 950 pesos for the week and 170 pesos per day. We used the safe in the room for the entire week for $300 pesos. It was worth it for the peace of mind of not carrying around I-Pad, passports, money, etc. Bring games, cards, to play. Bring munchies, microwave popcorn, nuts. If you catch a cab inside, it is much more than if you take the tram and catch one outside the gate. You can even negotiate with the cab drivers. They pass by all day. Watch out for people that say, "Do you have your map?" "Have you activated your credit?" "Have you signed up for activities or excursions?" They are timeshare salespeople. Their 90 minutes presentation turn into high pressure sales for 4 hours. Not worth it. We go on vacation to enjoy ourselves not to buy.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best rooms. One side faces the beach and the other side faces constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Room13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was my first trip to Nuevo Vallarta and the Grand Mayan. I was a guest here as I met my brother here for a vacation. We had such a nice relaxing week! Check in is a little long, but it wasn't too bad. The entrance to the Grand Mayan is very unusual! We got there mid-afternoon and when you walk in where the huge statutes are it is very dark! Weird going from bright sun to almost total darkness, but it was neat! After we got our wristband keys, my brother did have to talk to the timeshare rep. for a short time. He wasn't interested in doing the presentation and it was fairly easy to be on our way. Pretty sure they called the room every day but we never answered the phone, so wasn't a problem. Loved the room. We had two bedrooms, two full bathrooms and a kitchen/living room area with balcony that had a small pool on it. I slept great every night. The family across the hall from us let their kids play in the halls and they were pretty loud at times during the morning, but that's not the hotel's fault. The grounds here are really pretty! The resort complex with the Grand Mayan, Mayan Palace, etc. is very spread out and we didn't utilize the golf carts except once to get around. It was so pretty walking we enjoyed it. The walk to the breakfast buffet (Cafe del Lago) from the Grand Mayan was a little far, but still not too bad, just don't be in a huge rush and allow plenty of time to walk over. There is construction over the resort complex but it really didn't affect us much other than seeing the bulldozers etc when we would walk very far from the Grand Mayan. The breakfast buffet was great! Great selection and everything was really good. We also loved Gong restaurant! The restaurant is very pretty at night and the food was excellent. It was probably my favorite. Also tried Havana Moon - which is awesome if you go at sunset. It is right on the beach and the sunset looked like a postcard with the beach and mountains in the distance. Definitely do this one night if you can. Samba was a good place to eat lunch close to the pool. Restaurants are a little expensive, but we thought the food was excellent at all of the restaurants we tried. We usually had breakfast in the room, lunch by the pool and then ate somewhere nice for dinner. Took a taxi to Puerto Vallarta one night and that was fun too. We went to the Beach Party and it was alot of fun. I would definitely recommend doing that if you can. The pools and the lazy river were really a plus. I usually go to adult only all inclusive resorts and not used to lazy rivers, water slide, etc., and it was pretty cool! My favorite part was the beach though. It is beautiful! Mountains on both sides and it is wide! I walked up and down it every day we were there and wish I was there right now. Down the beach they have some little shops set up and you can get souvenirs there if you like. The beach vendors are plentiful and annoying but not pushy. You just have to say no thank you a lot. The beach is very clean, as was the pool areas and walkways. The pool always had something going on. Around 2:00 they had music and pool zumba type dancing and games. I had a ball doing that stuff! You also could order food and drinks from the beach too, which was very convenient. Great nachos! I was really worried I would miss the white sand and blue water of the Cancun area, but I was pleasantly surprised as I loved the mountains and tan sand sprinkled with gold sparkles I found here! It was an awesome week and we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlondieblueKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Grand Mayan is a beautiful place, & we enjoyed a 1 Bedroom 8th floor oceanview room. Roomy living room with kitchen, (4 burner stove, refrigerator, microwave), TV, 2 couches, dining area. Dipping pool on the balcony overlooking the resort's water world & Bandaras Bay. The bedroom was large with a king size bed & widescreen TV, couch, etc. Loved the"Lazy River", but be careful ~~ wear sunscreen! The food was excellent, although pricey. Some items are large enough to share. I wish the resort would provide paper toweling in the kitchens, as you're only given 2 small kitchen towels, a sponge, & detergent. There are many things you need to wipe up, & don't want to use the bath towels, etc. But overall, it was a great, relaxing place with many side trips available through the concierge. Check out Vallarta Adventures. We are new owners at the Grand Mayan & love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful week vacation!!!! Just disconnect the phone!!! And no more time share sales calls!!!! Grand Mayan palace it's a beautiful place to vacation!!!!!!! I would stay next year!!! Wonderful accommodation!!!! Restaurant a little expensive but great great

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

From check-in to check-out, everything went great at the Grand Mayan. We traded in through RCI and enjoyed a 2 BR, 2 BA with living/dining room and kitchen. View was oceanfront on third floor and also had a cooling pool on the balcony. Taxi cabs are very affordable to local restaurants and Walmmart, $3.50 - $15.00 depending on distance. Longest trip we made was to Bucerias for lunch and shopping (lunch at Miguel Angels in Bucerias) was a great day. Miguel was there and bought our first round, he is a great guy We also saved a good deal of money on our excursions (Vallarta Adventures) booking through the Grand Mayan. Played several rounds of golf and Excursions. Our favorite were a day of beach (catamaran ride, snorkel, kayak, nature trail, with lunch and open bar included to Las Caletas and Rythym of the Nights). Words cannot explain Rythym of the Nights, it was a spectacular show. dress as cool as possible as it is hot but is worth it. Grand Mayan service is 100% spot on, from the wait staff to the landscaping included. Whatever we needed, everyone seemed ready to make it happen even if maybe not there job description. Pools, lazy river and mayan temple water slide. 2 Happy hours each day and not to forget Santuario...an entertainment venue like no other. We went to a presentation while there and it was performed professionally by David W. Restaurant prices are not cheap but then again, slow down and have a 2 hour dinner with a glass of wine or cerveza and soak up the ambiance...you won't be sorry you did it 2-3 nights. For the rest of the time, Walmart is a $15.00 cab ride, but take pesos. Sun Market grocery on sight although as others say, it is expensive but nice to have in a pinch. Beach is not crystal clear water but it is swimmable with nice sand. We also ate at Eddie's in the Marina...Great seafood at a great price.

Room Tip: There are elevators so ask for a high room, the view is spectacular. Oceanview if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The two bedroom unit, about 1600 square feet, I had on the 9th floor had a view of the ocean and the water park. The security here is very good. The on site convenience store is expensive but handy. A taxi takes about 30 minutes to downtown PVR, however more exciting is to get on the bus for about $1.50 one way. The daily maid service is excellent and thorough. The grounds are very clean and maintenance is ongoing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,019 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing