We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Mayan Feb 24-March 2nd. We had a fun and relaxing trip with our 5 and 7 year old kids. The staff from the "bell boys", housekeeping, restaurants, security and the entertainment crew were all very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the "studio" style room. We had a king size bed and a couch that had a mini trundle couch that pulled out. The kids were fine on the couch, but I have to agree- all the beds were very hard! There were NO upgrades, unless we wanted to change to The Bliss and we would only get a coffee maker and a mini fridge. No kitchen upgrades allowed, even if you agree to the timeshare presentation.

I had read a lot of complaints about the shuttle/taxi issues, but we honestly never found this to be a problem. Their shuttle service to the taxis or the other hotels (restaurants), luggage drop off/pick up, etc. was very efficient. There is quite a bit of construction going on, which can be noisy at times and a real downfall to some people. Honestly, it's growth and improvement - so enjoy the rest of the grounds.

All of the restaurants we tried (and we didn't go to all of them with small children, some were too formal for us) were excellent. The hamburger place was a little pricey, but WELL worth the Spicey Tuna! There were good options for the kids at Samba and the other restaurant by the pool. We bought both the "Beach Party" and the "Fiesta" dinners. The beach party was entertaining and the food was alright. The food for the Fiesta was excellent and good entertainment as well. There were 2 for 1 drinks (including smoothies for kids) between 12-2p and then a different "drink of the day" that was 2 for 1 as well. They will not let you take any "cooler" type bags to the pool area, although if you have a sports type bottle- they don't say anything.

There is a grocery store on the property and it is higher prices, but the convenience of getting one or two items was worth it. People complained about the $4 delivery fee, but you can carry it yourself. We went to Walmart (cab ride) at the beginning of the trip and bought a cooler. It worked out fine for the week. We ate out about once a day and had snacks, sandwiches, drinks in our room.

The kids pool/play area was great! A little cold, but the kids didn't seem to mind. The wave pools were fun, although the waves were pretty weak. The water slide was a blast, especially on the tubes. The lazy river was very relaxing and fun. The larger pool by the Samaba restaurant, that has a water feature, was really warm. It was great to go to after playing in the cooler pools or in the evening when the sun went down. The beach was disappointing - the ocean waves had dirt and sand rolling in and out. They do keep it clean, lounge chairs were always available, paragliding and other activities were available too.

They had great entertainment all day and into the evening. We were usually too wiped out by the evening (and with kids) to enjoy most of that. The Sanctuary was amazing in the evening and a "must see" at least once!

Out the back gate (by the parking garage) was a street you could walk down to the marina. There was a wifi cafe, restaurants and a oxxo convenience store. There were much cheaper prices on drinks and snacks down there. There's also a bus stop, which can take you right down to the board walk in Puerto Vallarta. This was very safe to do with kids (daytime hours) and they got a kick out of it. The flea market, restaurants and entertainment on the boardwalk were well worth the day trip.

Be careful of the timeshare sales attack when you are walking through the airport to the taxis! They attempt to "help" you with a ride and then want to sign you up for a presentation at their property. The first guy was nice, the second guy tried to keep our reservation information. The Grand Mayan can arrange for transportation, but unfortunately it didn't happen for us. We were on our own for a taxi - which was negotiable.

The timeshare presentation was typical. The "90" minutes (or 4 hours) doesn't start until after breakfast FYI. We already own a timeshare that is very flexible so we were not interested in another one. Although we said no more times than I can count, they continued to bring in another person and another person and another person. It was a bit much.

All in all, we would highly recommend the Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta - especially for families. You could stay all week and never even leave the resort! Beautiful, friendly and very safe.

Room Tip: Be thankful if you get a nice room. We requested one and were on the first floor facing the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SunnyVacaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 3,630 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love going to pv however when you head through the gates into the resort area you feel like you are isolated from the rest of the world. This is the ultimate place to relax. Sun, beach, ocean and family is the perfect mix for the Grand Mayan. We travel with children that love to play at the pool all day and adults that like to lay on the beach all day. The rooms are beautiful and we had the best view of the pool/ocean. 7th floor in the main building. I have been in many different rooms throughout the years and have not gotten ocean view every time BUT we are not in our room a lot of the time so it's really no big deal for us. In fact we have had a room a couple years ago above the entrance and we had tons of fun watching people coming and going. It's really what you make of it! I wasn't to sure about the wrist band for our room keys as I did not want a big ring around my wrist but they were so nice and put it on really loose that I could take it off in the sun. The new sanctuary is absolutely beautiful. Great music every night when we came back into the resort from eating at our favorite places in no and pv. Was a little nervous when we saw all the luggage sitting at the sanctuary and how they keep it organized but it seems they have a system that really works for them. They have new paths that take you to the resorts main entrances. We loved this but it seems like it would be a lot of walking for some older folks however they still have the golf carts to take people around the area if you don't feel like walking. Over all another great trip to Mexico and the Grand Mayan!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank shewee5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed at the Grand Mayan resort with my father-in-law and his wife, in February. We had a great time! We had an ocean facing room on the fourth floor of the third building. My father-in-law and his wife transferred over from the Bliss, where they own, to stay with us in the same building and they had a room on the fifth floor facing away from the ocean. Both rooms were very nice complete with a kitchen, dining room, walk in showers, spa tubs and small spa pool on the balcony that empties and refills every day.
When we first arrived from the airport we were taken to the taxi drop off point at the Santuario (Sanctuary). The staff there took our luggage, put id numbers on the bags and told us to call the bell hop when we were checked into our room and the luggage would be brought up. At the Santuario you then take a shuttle to your resort building to check into your room. It all worked very well, just remember to tip the people who are helping you with your luggage.
Our room wasn't ready yet so my father-in-law took us on a tour of the grounds. We looked at the Bliss resort and its pool area, then along the beach to the Grand Mayan pool area and the Grand Mayan buildings. This resort area is huge. You do end up walking a bit but the grounds are so beautiful and clean that you don't mind it one bit.

Our check in took a while to complete but we were also checking in on a Saturday which is prime time for departures and new arrivals. The person checking us in was also having issues with his computer which was not his fault.
We went to our room and called for our luggage which arrived super quick! The room was immaculate. No bugs, nothing hiding under the bed, coffee pot clean and shiny, no stray hairs left in the bathroom, no moldy smell! The beds are a bit firm, but they can't cater to everyone.
The sales people will call your room to try to get you to listen to their sales pitch but just tell them you aren't interested and don't go to the presentations.

We brought in groceries from the Walmart and Sam's Club in town and if we needed something we could always walk down to the Sun Market behind the third Grand Mayan building to get it. Some people on this site were complaining about a charge of four dollars for grocery delivery, if you don't want to be charged then go get your groceries yourself.

We had the breakfast buffet at the Samba restaurant a few mornings. It is about $19 (US) per person, about the price you pay for a brunch in the US, and well worth it. If you go early between 7am and 8am then it was a two for one deal. We would go later around 10:30 and consider it our breakfast/lunch meal. They have all the normal breakfast foods - omelettes, pancakes, waffles, cereal, homemade preserves (try the carrot marmalade, it's delicious), fresh fruit juice including a watermelon juice. They also have lunch items like Mexican lasagna, beef brisket, pork tenderloin, fish, cold cuts, just an unbelievable assortment of wonderful food.
We also had the cheeseburger at Samba which was to die for. It was not your normal cheeseburger, it was 8oz of ground sirloin steak! It came with fries and fresh fruit. We had it three times during our stay.
The pools and grounds are wonderful. There are plenty of chairs, lounges and palapas for everyone. Some of the pools have activities and can be a bit noisy but you can always find a quite spot for reading and lounging if you don't want to join in on the activities. The pools were a bit chilly but refreshing when you were tired of laying in the hot sun. The lazy river is fun as well as the wave pools and slide.
Pool drinks were around $8 US, unless you have the two for one at the two daily happy hours or have the drink of the month. The wait people will also bring your food pool side of you don't want to walk to the many close by restaurants/snack bars. *If you have an exceptional wait person, tip them with cash instead of just putting it on your room tab. They get to keep the cash all to themselves whereas the tips that are charged to your room are shared.

At night you can head to the Santuario for drinks and free entertainment. We saw a saxophonist, juggler on a ladder, pianist/singer, Motown singer and Mexican dancers. There was also a painter, sand artist, live statues and a guy dressed as Jack Sparrow.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheMadBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The grounds are amazing, the pools and lazy river are fabulous...everything is great EXCEPT for the sales people who will tell you ANYTHING to get you to buy. Don't believe anything unless its in writing! Also, the restaurants are decent but very expensive. Next time I'll buy breakfast and lunch items and just go to dinner.

Room Tip: Forget about getting a room with a good view unless you're an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 2scooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a 4 year leave, we returned with friends to the Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta. We love this area, but will not return to the Grand Mayan nor will advise any of our friends to return. Firstly the Grand Mayan has beautiful grounds and great pools. When we arrived we were put on the North Facing (not one ounce of sunshine throughout the day) room on the 4th floor that smelled of mould the entire 2 week stay. When complaining about the stink, let alone the unhealthiness of guests needing to breath the mould we were told that they would send someone up to spray the room with freshener. Definitely not the answer we were looking for. We were also promised that we would be moved on our second week of our stay to the sunny side of the condo thereby reducing the chances of any mould. That never happened and we were told that when owners booked their rooms, a computer decides which rooms are assigned and that there was nothing anyone could do about that. Needless to say we were not happy about the way we were treated and therefore we purchased at another beautiful facility and sold our Grand Mayan timeshare. It is a shame they treat their owners with such disregard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lynne991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Lynne991 :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us and we are delighted to know you liked our premises and pools.

For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta is always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate area since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

With all good wishes,

The Grand Mayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful resort. Excellent entertainment each evening. Nice pools, albeit somewhat noisy in the afternoon during the 'activities' time. Food was good although we found better and less expensive fare at restaurants outside of the resort.

As one reviewer said, the beds are extremely hard. Guess that's okay if you like hard beds. Logistics in terms of getting from the entrance to the room or around the resort was onerous. Found it quite amazing that most of the staff we encountered had very little or no ability to understand/speak English. Case in point, on two different occasions my travel companion asked the staff the location of the women's restroom. Neither understood her question or could direct her. Also we were charged to deliver our groceries from the bellmen's station to our rooms. This may have not been an issue if the location of the bellmen's station was at the entrance of the hotel. It was a was a fairly lengthy walk and a shuttle ride away. We were told this was a new policy/charge that was implemented the day before our arrival. We had to speak to three staff members, fill out an 'Incident Report' , and finally speak to a manager the day before our departure to have the charge removed. The charge was minimal but it was the principle of the fact that no one communicated this new policy to the guests. A number of guests complained.

Around 2 a.m. one evening, I woke up to hammering in a unit area near my room. When I called the front desk I was told a number of guests were complaining about the same noise . The staff member told me he would send someone to the area to tell the workers to stop. Thirty minutes later I called again because the hammering was ongoing. This time I was told 'they' had a work order and the only thing that could be done was to move me to another room. Unbelievable! Of course I declined that gracious offer and tried my best to get back to sleep. The next day I spoke to the manager who apologized profusely and gave us a later check out time.

Would I go back? Probably not unless they decide to devote more time and energy to upgrading the staff's communication and customer service skills.

My experience two years ago at the Mayan Palace in Acapulco was completely the opposite - - great resort with fabulous staff and accommodations.

Room Tip: Not sure. There's ongoing construction on one side in preparation for new properties which will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FifiRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear FifiRee:
We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. It is always pleasing to learn our guests’ enjoyed our pools and food options. We constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction.

Regrettably, it would appear that the accommodations and services did not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever; and in that way achieve a clearer communication with them as well.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Best regards,
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just visited this resort from 2/2 - 2/9. Family of 4 - 2 kids (5 and under), had an excellent time. The grounds are well maintained, the pool was fantastic, the beach was a joy to walk and play for the kids. If I had to say anything, it would be that kids pool was usually cold as it is connected to the wave pools. If they had just a kids pool w/o the connection, it would have stayed a lot warmer. Overall, excellent place to stay and I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
#2 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,632 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,335 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing