We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love this hotel. It is expensive and there are some extra fees when you leave, but it is worth it. The lazy river is my favorite attraction. I could easily stay there all day long. The wave pool is cool, but the water is not warm. However, it creates an amazing beach experience for children. The beds and lounge chairs the are located all along the pools are super comfy. The snack bars and restaurants are inexpensive compared to other hotels. There is a free club for children where they can engage in fun activities and crafts. The pool activities are also entertaining. The rooms are very clean and with lots of space. There is a big bath tub in the room and its own small pool where children can without worrying. The hotel has an overall elegant vibe. Musicians play in the lobby bar at night, and you can enjoy the music without having to purchase drinks. Did I mention that you can access all the mayan palace hotels? Well, yes you can! You can simply take the golf cart shuttle at the main entrance and they will give you a ride,or you can walk by the beach. The employees are nice and respectful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,902 - 1,908 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent the week of New Years at the Grand Mayan for 2012-2013, overall the facilities are great as are the staff and amenities. However, I would avoid the holiday season as they seemed extremely under staffed. Sometimes the wait for our meals at the resort restaurants was way too long and the reason tendered every time was that they did not have enough help. Really? It's the Holiday...hello! Reservations did not help either and usually there was still a long wait even with reservations. The location is good and the pool area is very nice. Just avoid the holidays, that's my advice!

Room Tip: Oceanside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tjbbackdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently spent our second visit at this resort in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. It was a complete success.

The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and completely equipped. We found the state of presentation consistent throughout the entire resort, always very clean and crisply decorated.

The water park in the Grand Mayan is a great place to spend the day. Two wave pools (always cold), a lazy river (always pleasant) and a variety of pools for kids and adults. Some warm, some cool, and some cold. Great choice.

The chairs and sun beds are normally quickly reserved by towels and belongings, so if you are looking for a choice spot, you need to take a walk and reserve your place by around 8:15 in the morning.

The food on the resort is of good quality and there is a nice variety available without having to go too far. It is a little on the pricey side, but it is a resort so...

The only downside is in the Check in / Check out process. Both are bizarre, seem to be terribly inefficient and take an awfully long time. For whatever reason, high, beach view rooms never seem to be available when you check in at the reception desk. Strangely, when you get your wrist bands from the Timeshare people, and agree to take part in the presentation, you magically get switched to a high floor, beach view room.

The timeshare presentations take a minimum of 3-4 hours, you do get a breakfast, and the sales people are the stereotypical pressure sales people. This resort is known for the sales folks being a little on the aggressive side too. They have now started offering a 2000 peso room credit and 10% off any restaurant/bar bills for folks who take the presentation also, so if you have 3/4 hours to spend at one of those events, it can be worthwhile.

Room Tip: Insist on a high, beach facing room at the front desk, or agree to take the timeshare presentation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomcoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am an owner at the Grand Mayan. For the last 5 visits, I have been unable to get an ocean- front room. I was just there for the first two weeks of December 2012...after Thanksgiving and before Christmas, which should theoretically be a good time to get an ocean-front room.

However, it appears that ocean-front rooms are given to the owners of the new buildings under construction. The rooms that these owners have purchased are not ready, so these owners are assigned rooms in the Grand Mayan, and because these owners have paid more for their timeshares than the people in the Grand Mayan, they get priority on the ocean front rooms.

I spoke to a man who had purchased a timeshare in the Bliss. Then the resort decided not to build the Bliss, so he is now being put up in the Grand Mayan until such time that he is convinced to upgrade to the Grand Bliss or he wears down the Grand Mayan and gets them to refund his money.

I used to love going to the Mayan. Now, it makes my stomach hurt, but we are stuck, and have to make the best of the situation.

Room Tip: You will have zero input. Don't even try....unless you WANT a "golf club" view (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caseycodymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear caseycodymom :
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. All our staff has a strict regimen of training and supervision in order to provide the highest level of service our guests expect from us. For that reason, rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate area since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

With all good wishes
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just spent a week in a suite that sleeps 8. The accommodations are clean and really spacious for a family of 5. The staff in the resort are super friendly and very helpful. We did not do the timeshare presentation, I made it clear we were not interested, that was a good move from what I have heard.
The resort was really full and it did become difficult to find seats at the pool or the beach. There is lots for kids to do and it is really geared towards a fun family experience.
On the negative side on the night of our arrival they misplaced our luggage till 2am, not so fun to travel all day, get in at 11pm and not have your luggage till 2am. The resort did sent 5 chocolates with an apology note, not nearly enough considering the inconvenience. The room was also very noisy if you face away from the beach, there is a really noisy piece of equipment on. The adjacent property that switches on and off 24/7. We were in the 3rd building, which is the closest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from our third stay at the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta. We loved the past stays but the changes enacted this time may have pushed us over the edge. They no longer allow car traffic at the lobbies of the buildings but have a people depot where one exits the taxi or rental car and proceeds over the river and through the "Sanitario" to the golf cart shuttle, where you will be taken on the route to your building. You go through this every time you leave or return to the resort. The area has many wonderful restaurants which we like to visit so we quickly grew tired of the new way of doing things. After speaking with several others throughout the week, we found we weren't alone. A common reply was, "We hate it!" This used to be a fun place but the prices have soared in the restaurants ($60.00 for three breakfast buffets) and not enough room at the pool for everyone. The resort employees were great-it wasn't their fault-they were very friendly and helpful. We blame the parent company Vidanta for not asking/listening to the customers.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms will be warmer on the terrace in the afternoon. All rooms have poor sound deadenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RitaMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been to this resort 3 times over many years. An amazing resort for ages 9 months - 66 years old. They have been expanding the land and building building building. I love seeing whats coming next.

The bad:
1) Transportation system needs to be completely revamped. You can't be dropped off at your building entrance, you have to be dropped off at a single location which is a 10 minute walk or wait for the shuttle, which half the people dont. When i was there I heard they get a 100 complaints a day.
2) WIFI is $900 pesos for a week, for just one device, and it is TERRIBLE. How many people travel with ipads, iphones, blackberry's or android devices that want internet... EVERYONE.
3) Food on most of the resort is really sub-par or just so-so. DO NOT EAT AT HAVANA MOON. If you just walk off the premises for 10 minutes or take a 4 minute cab ride, there are some amazing restaurants to try, you can see some of my other reviews for that. I will give the go ahead for there breakfast buffet which has everything and there custom burger place which was like a 7.5 out of 10 for trying, if your sick of Mexican food by the end of the week that is.

Other than this, it has everything you could ask for. Amazing resort and pool area, Amazing beach with beach volleyball and huts. New Rockclimbing wall and a kids jumpy thing. A Mayan pyramid slide, lazy river, wave pool, kids club and kids pool. By the way, the Grand Luxxe part of the resort is really high end and really well done coming from someone who works in NYC Development. Now can you afford it :)

Room Tip: In anyone one of the resorts buildings, try to get a building closest to the Santarium or whatever i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing