We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some changes, some good, some not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Some changes, some good, some not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our second trip as a family to this property and my second review. We went in April 2010 and just returned from our second visit. Our kids are now 11 and 12 and still had a lot of fun in the pools, water slide and lazy river. GM definitely gets it right with the water fun. The only thing is that they seriously need to address the mosquito issue. By the second day my kids were covered in welt sized bites, like nothing I had ever seen. We eventually went to the hotel doctor who misdiagnosed it as a plankton allergy. We talked to a few people working there who said Mosquitos were indeed an issue - I'll say! Anyway, the restaurants are all good, Albeit really pricey, and I don't slum it ever, I 'm used to "resort pricing" but their prices are no joke. We did go off property, walked 10 minutes to Nuevo Vallerta to Prime and had an excellent dinner.
I've mentioned some good, heres the bad - the golf. The course is nice, that's not the problem. They have restructured some things, including the practice areas which are ridiculously far, too far to be of any use, and that's with a cart. Also, we paid for two juniors, they knew that but when we showed up they tried to stick us with an additional $100 in cart and caddy fees, never mentioned when we signed and paid the day before. Felt like a bait and switch of sorts, the consierge straightened it out but not before some hassles.
And now for the ugly...the time share sharks. Ugh. We went through the horror of the presentation last time. Felt like we barely got out with our lives, just insane. we did not buy and were promised they'd never bug us again. Well, we show up this time and get pressed to go to the presentation, they swear it's different, that they heard the complaints and promise it's only 90 min. We said no thanks (about 6 times) and finally we went to our room. They proceeded to call and pressure us four more times during our visit. They are very lucky they got my husband on the phone, he's a lot nicer than I am in this situation. It's just appalling how rude and relentless they are.
So, due to the golf and the time share and the Mosquitos , I think we will be going elsewhere for our next Mexican vacation.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    799
    358
    158
    147
See reviews for
1,528
774
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was incredivle, and the trips to surrounding towns for shopping were great. We even went zip-lining. The seafood was great, and the restaurants in the town of Puerto Vallarta were very reasonable. We got soon really good deals on jewelery

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Went with friends who have a membership ,and anticipated being harassed to sit through a presentation. This did not happen ,with only a quick question asking if we were members and if we were interested ?
We had a parking lot/ golf course view which was somewhat disappointing, however rooms/ apartment were perfect for our needs. Room staff were very attentive.
Huge resort with numerous pools. quite a walk to the beach but I love waking so is not an issue for me.
loved the lazy river and pools. Staff were good
This was our first week of 2, the2 nd being an all inclusive. Liked the fact that we were not tied down to the resort for meals. We did the prime rib dinner at the resort and it was wonderful ,with the staff going above and beyond! Thank you!
Will definitely go back to Puerto Vallarta,!

Room Tip: Ocean view a must with all the the construction and ugly parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artrepeneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently came back from Grand Mayan and although the grounds are beautiful and the service is generally very good there is few things that makes you wonder if it really should qualify for the 5 stars...

Starting from the check-in when they claim that there are not ocean view units left and a minute later the other person offers you the ocean view that is ready to move in right away but you have to agree to attend their time share presentation (which we absolutely refused).
The other side (golf course view) is OK, but a lot worse than it used to be due to the construction of the new buildings that completely block the bay view. It is not exposed to the sun as much as the ocean side but you can not escape the constant noise from shuttles, people coming to work, construction, repairs etc.
Food and drinks... Yes, service and presentation are very good, but to pay $9 per watered drink in plastic glass is a bit too much.
Each room has a jacuzzi but they only provide an oil and salt sample on the first day and you need to buy your own to enjoy it after that.
Did I mention Internet? One week is $95 US!
The worst thing they introduced recently is the arrangements for entry/exit of the place by taxi. The taxis are not longer allowed to the entrance of your building. You need to take the shuttle to Sanctuario and walk all the way to the entry point. The checkout is painful, it took us 40 minutes to find our luggage as in Grand Mayan they said they already sent to the exit (which they didn't).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Etrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castro valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have a vacation ownership and go to the properties in this chain almost annually. The Nuevo Vallarta property is definitely one of our favorites. The grounds are beautiful (although were under construction at our last visit which was somewhat troublesome), the food is great and the amenities - spa, gym, activities on property were wonderful. To save on money we typically make a trip to Walmart to stock the kitchen and then splurge on the buffet breakfast at the resort. Be sure to check the daily specials for happy hour, meal deals, spa offerings, etc. We have 2 children, a teen and a preteen and they also love this resort and our vacations. Very safe and friendly staff too. Usual hard sell at the timeshare presentation but just be prepared to spend 3 hours and then move on.

Room Tip: of course, ask for an ocean view room on the highest room available. The sunsets are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I just got back with our 2 children (ages 2 and 9) and had the best family vacation at this property. The Grand Mayan was a wonderful destination for both us and our kids. Pools were great and gave us hours of fun. Staff was polite, accommodations were nice and grounds were beautiful. We read alot of the reviews on this property before selecting and i have to say the comments regarding the "time share push" made me a little hesitant to select. We had some "time share push" during the check in process, but were able to keep at a minimum. I would still reccomend this property to anyone asking and I hope our family has an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinsonk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We're here as I write this. Accommodations are luxurious, but at a cost to the guests. Over an hour to get throughout check in process, and that was with NO line. Paper trail is at an extreme level here with even a laundry card refill taking a half hour. As mentioned, every thing is an add on expense - we are RCI exchange and are even being charged 100 peso per hour to use one of the "always empty" tennis courts, laundry 100 pesos per load (about $8.50). They do not permit you to invite guests. We met another nice couple at a restaurant but they can't come to visit us here.

Plastic bracelet system is a good and bad thing. They put one on each guest at arrival and explain that you can NOT remove it for the whole week. Uniformed security is at each exit and entry, and beach and pool areas constantly checking to ensure you have your bracelet. The strap doubles as your room key(must be an RF chip inside or other tech), which has its benefits, but it is Branded with hotel name and logo in large font, so you are a walking advertisement for them, and identified and "targeted as wealthy" when outside the resort. And forget trying to look elegant at dinner with that 1" wide plastic pool strap around your wrist.

Grand Bliss warning - our reservation was at Gr Mayan - we were convinced to switch to Gr Bliss. Turns out that There are no amenities at Bliss building and Bliss pool is a very long walk..so far, in fact, that we forgot sunscreen and no one wanted to venture back to get it. Walking paths are NOT intuitive, have no, or too little, signage they are virtually like a corn maze with 12' high foliage and lots of dead ends. Non-Mayan members (like us RCI are put in lowest view accommodations. Our view was ok, of the thatched roof of the adjacent building, but that building, called the Sanctario, is a nightly lounge/bar with techno beat music playing until about 1am (they say they reduce noise at 10 pm, and midnight, but we checked the clock at just before 1am and still going). Staff is very nice, but we were told that the resort only pays them $10 per day, so they need to make additional wages with gratuities and by selling tickets to the parties and buffets (so they are soliciting you poolside while you are trying to relax).

Time share presentation warning- brutal 90 mins became 4 hours, and we are somewhat experienced at saying no. They have new stipulations that if you try to forgo their multiple phases of "check-out process" to get your gifts (read-each phase is a new "sale closer" rep who spends an additional hour pushing a lower priced deal) then you get no gifts. We were brought to a table to FINALLY "sign out" and it was 2.5 hours from there. By then, they tell you that you are "free to leave" but you forfeit your "gifts". I think most of the companies are moving to this format so they don't have to honor the gifts. BEWARE of VALLARTA GARDENS - who refused to give us gifts after presentation and we believe didn't pay our invitation rep either. There is little or no legal representation for US visitors here- so you have basically just donated your time.

Room Tip: Bliss rooms facing away from ocean have loud music at least through midnight. Don't let them ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane-Doe-Traveller-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,027 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing