We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casino was fun!”

Grand Odyssey Casino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casino was fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to the Odyssey October 2013. Not many people but we had a good time. We didn't feel like there was too much security or that we were being watched but you do go through a metal detector when you enter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are machines with English and Spanish. There is a separate closed area for smokers. We were told that it is open from 10am to 5am. It wasn't Vegas but it was a new and different experience and we would go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    49
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Gambling visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was "Ok"...Way too much security. Felt like I was being watched all the time there. MMusic ended around 11pm....way too early. Left after 1 hour. Not worth a second visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fina1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casino was fun !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The casino was interesting. It is a smaller casino, but sufficient for the crowd that was present. The only challenging aspect is that the games are all displaying credit sin pesos, so once you have master converting your american money to pesos for purchases, the covnersiona nd credit denominations in the casino are very confusing. So best thing is to just kinda do the best you can, get help on the conversaions as you play and ask a lot of question ing on how your plscing bets. We gambled for a bit on the slot machines and had a fun time..but were not totally certain about the bets we were placing or the winnings we were achieving. It's a good thing we weren't playing for any large amounts of money. At the end of things we broke even and left with a fun experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tdr611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still needs some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I visited the Grand Odyssey Casino on August 21, 2013. The taxi drivers knew where it was, but none of them knew anything about it. I was curious.

It is small-ish, like the size of a large restaurant. The entrance has a metal detector but inside is classy and safe looking. It was mostly empty, but with extremely friendly employees. Notably, they serve no alcohol "yet." We ordered two lemonades (and paid $3 each for them).

In order to gamble you must load money on to a card at the cashier's cage. This process is pretty quick. It was inconvenient however, when I lost all the chips I had and couldn't simply hand more pesos to the dealer.

The games:

Slots - Tons of them, Las Vegas-style.

Craps - Live craps with dice and dealers, though not particularly well-trained dealers. Minimum pass line bet is 25 pesos. 6 and 8 are 30 pesos minimum. It took FIVE throws to get both dice to stay on the table. Someone was pretty aggressive with the padding material.

Roulette - Live roulette, pretty standard. I didn't play but I assume the minimum bet was about 25 pesos.

Blackjack - 50 peso minimum bet, 1500 maximum. The dealers were competent. Dealer hits on soft 17, which kind of sucks, though it IS dealt out of an old-style six deck shoe. No automatic shufflers mean you sit and wait while he does the whole pyramid reshuffle thing. The dealer also doesn't check to see if he has blackjack before you play your hand. If you double down and then the dealer ends up with blackjack, you only lose one bet.

Poker - I was promised (by the internet) that they had PokerPro electronic holdem to play against other players. I was also promised by the same source that live hold'em had just started a few weeks ago. There was no poker at all. No area for it, no non-functional table, no board with games, nothing. Do not go to Odyssey if you desire to play poker.

Overall, pretty okay. It was pretty empty, which will likely change when alcohol shows up. I wish there was poker.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Odyssey Casino also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Grand Odyssey Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing