We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect setting and great food!”

Punta Arena Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 139 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picture perfect setting and great food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

But make sure you have some serious mosquito repellent, I think most of my bites from the trip came from that gorgeous sunset dinner. We had the catch of the day which was parrot fish and delish with a yummy triple chocolate desert! Very romantic!!! Tell the waiters to leave the lights off on your umbrella I think it would help with the mosquitoes...

Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    8
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quite the view”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a view for dinner this night and boy did we get it. Right on the ocean on Banderas Bay. Another great dinner at the Grand Mayan resort. Manuel was our server and he was great. The service was top of the line. The food was good as the view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travlinguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Gluten free and fish was not good”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Although the manager handled it well and comp'd our meal the food was not good. I love seafood and eat it a couple times a week. The red snapper was dry and over cooked. The wait staff also is ignorant to Gluten free and did not advise well or provide a reasonable substitution.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahamori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Punta Arena Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Guest :
We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at our Costa Arena Restaurant.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standards as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. Your observations are always welcomed. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our services

With all good wishes,


Costa Arena Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viimsi, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“David was the best server!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The view is amazing - sat front row to watch the sunset. The food was excellent, as always, but the best part was the service. David, our waiter and Manuel, the assistant, were a great team and we didn't lack a thing. At the end of our meal they let us stay at the table a bit longer so we could watch the sun set. A great experience and we would certainly do it again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wow! We must have hit this place on an off night. We had eaten at Tramonte, Gong and Havana Moon. Our experience with service and great food at these three led us to believe that Punta Arena would be off the charts. Sadly it wasn't. We dined there this past Wednesday, May 7. We had reservations at &:30 and arrived promptly. Despite the fact the restaurant was only about one third full, the hostess asked us to sit down for a few minutes so she could find a table. It was only a few minutes, so no problem. We were then seated, served water and bread and then sat for at least 5 minutes. The server came over, apologized and took our drink order. Ten minutes later another employee, ear piece in and a suit appeared. "are you ready to order?" Uh, no we still haven't received our drinks. "Oh, let me find them" Five minutes later our original server delivers the drinks and takes our order. Service continued in a very slow haphazard manner. Our server was either too busy or just too disorganized. WE even had to have one of the bussers track down the server for our bill.

Food was really good, but the service was a disaster. It ruined our night. I'd stay away and go to the other fine restaurants at the resort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Punta Arena Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Guest :
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your visit to Costa Arena.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you were expecting. We will of course investigate the situation further and take the necessary actions to ensure this never happens again.

Your comments and suggestions are always welcomed.

Sincerely,

Costa Arena Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Arena Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Punta Arena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing