We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dinner ever in Nuevo Vallarta”

Punta Arena Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Punta Arena Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 138 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best dinner ever in Nuevo Vallarta”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What can I say? Everything was perfect at Punta Arena. Our last night at the grand luxxe was so memorable. The food was wonderful, I can highly recommend the crispy shimp appetizer, which my husband ordered and I are half. It came with a delicious rice spaghetti with the tastiest sauce ever. The service was great. Our waiters, Christian, Gilberto and Ramon were attentive without being annoying. The whole experience was the best that the grand luxxe has to offer. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    8
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great sunsets, great food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is another great restaurant in the Mayan property in Nuevo Vallarta, I personally think it is the best. Seafood and steaks are the specialties and it is outside right on the beach where you can look out over the water to see the sunset. For starters, the appetizers include many seafood selections, great salads and soups especially the seafood stew. They always have great beef selections, the red wine reduction for the steaks is excellent. There is always fish and other seafoods with a special catch of the day. My wife especially enjoys the Spanish coffee prepared at your table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with great view”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The view of the Bay and sunset is only matched by the staff. Excellent service. The Manager, Jaime, could work anywhere! He treats Punta Arena as his own and customers like family. On the Mayan resort so access is limited or it would be better known. The best place to eat in the resort! We go several times each vacation and are never disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in this resort”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time eating here in the last six months. The food has been outstanding both times. The fish is always super fresh. The service is impeccable without being obtrusive. As time share owners here, it's a pleasure to know that we always have a great place to eat

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wineeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
2 reviews
“Jaime Joel was fabulous”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just wanted to post a comment that we received the best service ever by Jamie Joel and his staff at the Punta Arena in Nuevo Vallarta at the Grupo Mayan Resort. The first evening the service was slow but to no fault of his and he more than made up for it on our second visit to his restaurant. He even came over to check on our service at the Burger Custom Made Restaurant on another evening. We were most impressed that he remembered what we drank and what we had previously ordered and made our granddaughters feel very special by serving them first and dividing their meal perfectly. Thank you again Jaime for making our family week vacation so special. Havier also gave us excellent service by the pool.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Arena Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Punta Arena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing